Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 19 September 2017
Not very convincing. GI Jane, who always wins ang gets outs of dire straits without a scratch. Soem stuff is pure James Bond. Nice descriptions of landscapes, people etc. Calling Namibia a democratic and lawa abiding country is rather exaggerated though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2017
Typical Tony Park
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2017
This is the first of his books I have read. I was very impressed how the story unfolded about an area I had recently visited.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 July 2013
This was a first class read by a great author. I have read all Tony Parks books and have enjoyed every one. He makes the story come to life in his fast paced thrillers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2013
Great setting, fast paced action and a good story what more can you ask for. Nice twist in the story, no spoilers here though, Give this one a go you will really enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 August 2011
The Delta is the 7th fiction novel by Tony Park. Once again set in Africa, the main character this time is a female mercenary, Sonja Kurtz. After an attempt to assassinate the President of Zimbabwe goes wrong, Sonja escapes to Botswana. There she intends to look up her first love, Stirling Smith, at the safari lodge he still manages. Against her better judgement, her boss, Martin Steele, involves her in a plot to help the Caprivi Liberation Army and to blow up the newly-constructed Okavango Dam which appears to be destroying the Okavango Delta. Throw into the mix American actor "Coyote" Sam Chapman and his World Wildlife film crew, and you have a great story.
I was interested to read and review this book for several reasons. I have read other books by Park, but the main characters have always been men, so I was interested to see how he dealt with a woman in that spot (very well!). I was also interested because it was set in Botswana. I am a very big fan of a particular series by a male author, also set in Botswana, where the main character is also a woman. Alexander McCall-Smith manages to portray Precious Ramotswe and Grace Makutsi so well in his No 1 Ladies Detective Agency series that readers could be forgiven for thinking the author was female. This book, however, is a world away from that series!
Park's dialogue is authentic, the descriptions are highly evocative, the plot has plenty of twists and turns, and the characters are quite believable, although many are not what they first seem. There are some delightful turns of phrase. Park even manages to have the reader sympathetic with a hired assassin! There is lots of action, quite a bit of violence and an exciting finish with a laugh-out-loud last line. Park's first-hand knowledge of Africa is evident in every line of text and his love of the African landscape and many of her people is very obvious. Unlike James Patterson's superficial offering, "Cross Country", Tony Park's books make you want to go to Africa to experience it for yourself. I am looking forward to his next work, African Dawn.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2017
Book was delivered as advertised and is in great condition. No problems at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2012
Having visited the Okavanga Delta I was interested to get the book. It was o.k. but the style of writing was a bit corny, the characters were a bit unreal, and did not live up to my expectations! Wouldn't really recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2015
awful ... can't believe how badly written this is ... all over the place, a rediculous 'heroine' .. and an even more recidulous story line. Must've been written when he was at school.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2011
I have always loved Tony Park's books, every one of them, but this one bordered on the ridiculous! It was such a disappointment, the characters were totally unbelievable, especially the main female lead. She must have had superhuman powers to have carried out the various contracts assigned to her. The end of the book, the scene on the beach and the yacht could just not have been possible....
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here