Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now



on 10 March 2004
Simply put, this is the best book on inking I've read. Don't waste your money on other books, buy Jansen's and Miller's and learn everything you need to know.
The book doesn't stop with instruction on techniques, tools, and materials, but gives you some great tips such as why you should keep your ink bottle in an ashtray!
Anyone who has ever laboured under the misapprehension that comic book inking is just 'going over a proper artists drawing with a pen' is finally shown the error of their ways as Jansen and Miller demonstrate what a fine art inking is when practiced correctly. Moreover, this is a DC guide to inking, not a guide to inking DC characters. Once you've read this and got some practice in, you'll be able to ink everything from cartoons to the most cutting-edge comic book characters.
Great text, great illustrations, what's stopping you?
Buy it now!
11 Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 May 2015
A rather wordy monolugue about the art of inking comics.

In my opinion there should be far more images in this book - it looks and comes across as too wordy for the subject matter.

The images that are included do all seem a little dated.

It does provide some useful information but its not really a how to guide.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2014
If you're looking for a history lesson on inking styles from the 50's to the 80's then this book is for you
if you are looking for tricks of the trade examples of refined modern inking styles then forget it.
I don't like this book, it failed the first rule of a how to guides, I wasn't inspired to go forth and ink, it made
me angry, buy Wizards how draw the best of basic training, there are lost of examples by a number of
inkers, showing you how to ink in different textures. I'm holding on to this book as a guide on how not to
write a guide.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2015
This is the best book I've read on inking. It is also very well written and to the point which is rare with this kind of book. Everything is explained clearly and simply. There's no waffle. Lots of examples of art work are given which demonstrate the principles laid out by the author. After a couple of days of digesting the material my artwork improved. That's what I wanted. Excellent! This book is helpful for those seeking to become illustrators of any kind, story board artists or those simply seeking to improve their drawing. This is money wells pent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2011
Whilst I wouldn't go as far as the other reviewer here who has given this book 1 star, I would say that I am disappointed in Klaus Janson's guide to comic book inking. For a start, although Mr Janson is an accomplished inker, his style is now somewhat old fashioned, and even for his time, he was somewhat unorthodox. This means that he doesn't have the house style of a Buscema or Neal Adams that would provide the best model for a beginner (I'm also amazed that DC have chosen him for their pencilling guide as well. Janson has virtually no reputation as a penciller). Also, this isn't a very good instruction book. It gives advice on the tips of the trade, and some of the `don'ts' to avoid when inking a page. But it doesn't give very detailed advice on feathering techniques or working out shadow or actually thinking about how to ink a page. What would have been really useful would be exercises in how to do inking, but this book does not have any.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2016
This book is a must for budding comic illustrators. It may seem long worded in part but it's necessary as a whole package to gleam the wealth of experience of Klaus Janson. To become an illustrator it's important to embrace the techniques or the past with it's firm place in todays market. Plenty of pictures to get your imagination started. Read and learn, you won'regret adding this tool to your craft.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2006
This book has all the tips for what materials to use, and the importance of inking. But it reads rather more like an argument for why inkers should get more respect. The pictures that accompanied it were all ancient panels from comics of the fifties and things.

I (and most likely everyone else who selected this) bought this book to learn about inking superhero comic books, and therefore I wanted to learn how to give the impression of depth and realism to muscletone and facial features. I didnt want to learn the thirty ways of making grass standout from brick or study the scratchy pen work of a black and white western. This book I'm afraid, didnt make any considerations for the fact that after inking will come colour. Klaus made mention of one panel where a turban looked like the rocks in the background behind it, and therefore it was not well inked, though he understood that colour after would make it standout and separate it from the rocks. But that was it - not for the rest of the 130 pages of rambling about the inker working to enhance and give clarity to the penciller, did Klaus even touch on how much detail should be given to musculature, or how to give the impression of creases compared to folds in clothing. I learnt more about figure inking in the ten page section in "Drawing Dynamic Comics" by Andy Smith than I did here. I'm just about to move onto the DC guide to Colouring (bought both to bring the total up to free delivery with the hopes of the inking book teaching me how to make my pencils look less flat for scanning to colour, and less like they're part of the background without having to spend £250 on a graphics tablet to ink after I've scanned the pencils in) and it had better not be 100 pages of how to colour with a brush - I dont know an aspiring artist out there who doesnt want to learn how to colour with a computer. You can erase a colour mistake then, but you screw up with a brush, and you're gonna have a page covered in white out.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2015
This book was bought was bought as a present and has come in very useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2013
I wanted a book that would show me how to create comic heros / draw modern characters. Thsi is not the book for you if that is also what you want. I returned it.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2014
superb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)