Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
113
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 April 2009
Firstly, this book is great for people who want to make certain Indian restaurant curries and accompanyments at home. It shows you the techniques and ingredients required to create job-lobs of base curry sauce such that you can prepare virtually any curry in the book in 20 minutes, just like they do in restaurants.

I anticipated that this book would be an improved version of The Curry Secret (its predecessor), with extra recipes and some nice photographs. The reality is slightly different: it does have lots of new recipes, some photographs (none of which are as nice as the cover photo sadly) but lacks some of the all-time favourite recipes from the first book. Chicken Korma, for example, is unbelievably missing from this book.

In addition, the new recipes are not quite what I expected. Not all the new, popular dishes you might be used to ordering in a restaurant are featured in the book and there's nowhere you can go online to ascertain whether the one you want is featured. There are, however, some very weird and wonderful recipes that I've never seen in a restaurant, such as the one involving Brussels Sprouts that another reviewer mentioned.

In summary: If you're going to buy one curry book, get the predecessor to this one. If you can, buy them both.
11 comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2009
I am a big fan of Kris Dhillon and the Curry Secret, rating the original book with a full five stars. However, I am really disappointed with this new version as I was expecting an update of the original, plus new additional "retaurant" style recipes which isn't the case here. What we have instead is a new book full of new recipes ("brilliant" you say) that sadly are not what I would call "authentic" restaurant dishes. For example, I have never ever in my life seen "Pork with Sprouts" (yes - brussell sprouts!) on an Indian restaurant menu! There's Beef Vindaloo, Bombay Beef, Pork Tikka and Yoghurt Curry to name but a few - the list goes on and on.

So, if like me you were expecting something close to the original, then don't go anywhere near this book. If you are up for a challenge and wish to create something a bit more weird and whacky then this is the book for you
66 comments| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
I love the recipes in this book but I would point out to potential purchasers that the basic sauce from which all the recipes come is contained in this book and her original book the Curry Secret. Out of the two books, I would strongly recommend this New Curry Secret over the original Curry Secret. There are pictures in this book (which we all love and are extremely helpful to get an idea of what the final dish should look like).There are no pictures in the Curry Secret. Although the recipes in the Curry Book are good, there are far more in this book which makes it the better purchase in my humble opinion. There are also dips etc in this book which are fabulous!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Not really been able to make a good curry from scratch before but this has solved that and I have made a few different curries which all came out excellent. The base curry sauce is great and making as a batch lets you quickly create different curries easily (and when you want using stored sauce). Would highly recommend.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
Impossible to suggest how good the recipes are as one persons love is another persons hate. However, if you are a curry lover and are willing to do what the book says, be prepared for good things! Also, If you are going to but this book, ensure you have the original curry secret by the same author as both compliment each other. - personally I prefer the original curry base sauce and at least 50-75ml of stage 1 sauce used in the meat preparation as it adds much depth of flavour to the meat.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2010
a revamped on the old version of this book although personally i'd say you only need either or, but not both like i have. so, both are equally fantastic and the 'green goo' as we call it in our house (the base onion gravy mix for any curry thereafter) is long time to make but hugely ideal when then all you do is pull out three cubes of it from the ice tray in the freezer and add to fresh ingredients etc. it gives the curries real depth and flavour and texture that is almost unidentifiable. it will truly wow your family and friends if you cook up from this. BUT.... it is time consuming. if you dont mind that (and i dont, as have radio on, glass wine etc while prepping day before so is actually rather enjoyable 'me time' in my kitchen) then it'll suit you. there's lots to be made up in advance so you will not have to faff on last minute and be tired out before you dine. really really super recipes! every one of them. i've made them all! several times over!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
Had this book around a year now, best buy all year, we eat at least one a week, they are all so different and have tried around half of the recipes, which cannot be said of other books in cookery book collection. Base sauce a bit of a faff at first, but boy is it worth it!! Have not eaten in a balti house since purchasing book, or ordered take away, they just don't compare, well done Kris for opening up a fantastic world of cuisine which up until now was perceived to be the cultural secret of a chosen few. Confident could cook one of these dishes for the best Indian cuisine chefs in the world. Once you have your store cupboard of spices kept in a cool dark cupboard (not in fancy jars on kitchen wall, looking very nice but going stale) you are away!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
A good recipe book for home-made curries. The recipes are all based on a pre-made curry base, which are added to the recipes, just like they do in most restaurants. If, like me, you don't like to rigidly follow recipes, there is nothing stopping you from adjusting, adding, or eliminating ingredients to make your own curry.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
Awesome flavours in all the recipes but take care with using the exact number of chillies stipulated unless you want a very very hot experience! I also reduce the salt in all dishes. You will never need another curry recipe book. Have bought several copies over the past few years to enable friends and family to join this curry revolution :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
this book is not nearly as good as the first. The recipe for the curry sauce is exactly the same in both books.In my opinion if you have The Curry Secret you don't need the New curry secret. Also some of the ingredients may be difficult to obtain.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)