Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 July 2015
This was one of those hidden gems you find, that despite not doing well or not being advertised well when it came out, it is a really good film. Well casted, good storyline, well directed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2009
I bought this on VHS (I know!!), I cant remember why I did, but I was pleasntly surprised and still throw it on now and again. As many have stated at the very least this showcases young talent in early roles. That aside the story is based on paranoia, peer presures, sexual desires and growing up; all in just the right mix. In no place does the film substitute one for another to make up for shortcomings in the plot without aiming to achieve a desired effect (yes theres the katie holmes introduction but in fairness its intentional). It has the typical teen clique issue but enjoyable, I guess the music references help make it a little more relateable and fun, add an extra side to it.

At its heart, the plot feels like an old school sci-fi movie growing up in the '90s. And done well. I guess its a teenage stepford wives of sorts with a small dash of horror. Not as polished or uber cool as the Faculty, but cool all the same.

fun reasons to watch:
1. Cyclops is in it
2. John Conner is in it
3. Flagpole sitta by Harvey Danger
4. Katie holmes

dont write it off, try renting it
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 8 September 2008
Loner Steve Clark (James Marsden) and his family have just moved from Chicago to an idyllic village in the northwest. As he starts school, Steve finds the usual cliques, the strangest being a group called "the Blue Ribbons;" they're the handsomest jocks and most beautiful coeds and seem perfect but have a bad habit of beating people up - and getting away with it. Steve is befriended by a stoner (Nick Stahl) and a punk girl (Katie Holmes) who share his suspicions about the Blue Ribbons. Can they solve the mystery - in time?!

First of all, James Marsden is way too good-looking, charming, and old to play the outsider teen. He's extremely likeable and sincere, however, and was the only reason I kept watching to end, hoping this confusing mess would make sense. I guess it did have a plot, but it was so poorly written that it's pretty laughable. There was nothing in the story that seemed believeable. The teen and adult characters were all stereotypes, the Marsden and Holmes characters suddenly became brilliant detectives and foiled an evil plan to turn the student body into Stepford Teens, and zombies, it seems, are really dumb and apparently no one will notice if they all disappear.

For a so-called "thriller," this movie was not suspenseful at all, just silly and amateurish. (But James Marsden looks good.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
Disturbing Behavior (1998) is a science fiction horror film that was released during the slasher revival period. Other films from this era include Scream (1996), I Know What You Did Last Summer (1997), Campfire Tales (1997), Scream 2 (1997), Urban Legend (1998), and I Still Know What You Did Last Summer (1998). Of all the above teen horror films, however, Disturbing Behavior is probably closer to The Faculty (1998), because of its science fiction element. I thought both shared some similarities with Invasion of the Body Snatchers films (1956, 1978, 1993, & 2007), which are based on the novel by Jack Finney. The critics seemed to prefer The Stepford Wives when making a comparison with Disturbing Behavior.

Steve Clark (James Marsden) is new to Cradle Bay, Seattle. He and his sister, Lindsay (Katharine Isabelle) enrol at the local high school that has a mixtures of tribes including The Blue Ribbons, an outwardly straight laced bunch who wear the high school football colours who are part of a special programme headed by Dr Caldicott (Bruce Greenwood). Steve befriends a trio of outcasts - Gavin Strick (Nick Stahl), UV (Chad E Donella), and Rachel Wagner (Katie Holmes) - and Gavin explains to Steve that there is something evil and odd about The Blue Ribbons. Steve does not believe Gavin at first, but as the Blue Ribbon numbers increase and they try to get to him, he starts to believe. It is when he becomes friends with Dorian (William Sadler), the school janitor, that could just have stumbled upon the very person who could end the Blue Ribbons hold over Cradle Bay.

The film has received a lot of negative reviews and it faired poorly at the box office, taking only $17m compared to its $15m budget. It was, I think, unfairly compared to The Stepford Wives (1975), the science fiction film based on the 1972 novel by Ira Levin. Director, David Nutter, was criticized for not acknowledging The Stepford Wives. I think it shares some similarities, but not that many. Anyway, ever watch Escape from Alcatraz (1979), then read Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption (1982) and watch its subsequent movie adaptation, The Shawshank Redemption (1994)? That's food for thought. Or a myriad other films that share similar themes and plots. Disturbing Behavior has essentially received much unfair criticism for what is a solid science fiction teen horror film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2010
Disturbing Behavior is similar to The Faculty accept it is humans rather than Aliens who are invading the minds of teenagers. It's also obvious that something is wrong when teens go from D students to A graders overnight, except the parents in the movie don't seem to really notice (I guess a movie with dumb parents will appeal more to teenagers).

All the main leads in the movie are fine, Nick Stahl (Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines) and Katie Holmes (Dawson's Creek) are both very good as always though I thought James Marsden (X-Men) looked a bit old to be playing a teenager. William Sadler (The Shawshank Redemption) & Bruce Greenwood (In The Line of Duty: The F.B.I. Murders) are fine but Katherine Isabelle (Ginger Snaps) doesn't even get a name check on the DVD. A.J. Buckley from CSI NY plays one of the Blue Ribbons.

The score by Mark Snow and the original soundtrack are very good, if you like your indie/rock then you would enjoy the soundtrack.

It's directed by David Nutter from The X-Files and I remember Katherine Isabelle also appeared in an episode of The X-Files, not sure if Nutter directed that episode.

Overall, Disturbing Behavior is a good movie but it is not very original nor scary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 May 2016
Disturbing behavior has long been a favourite horror film of mine. It's cheesy but it's awesome fun and easy to watch. Also for a teen movie the acting is not too bad. Reasons I like this film:

1. Ridiculous mind control plot
2. Obligatory creepy janitor
3. Actors you actually recognise
4. Awesome soundtrack
5. Silly ending!

I could go on but really if you like silly teen horror you should check this one out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2000
I don't know what it was about this film but when I heard about it I couldn't wait to lay my hands on a copy. I did cheat and didn't buy the DVD, but hired it on video instead and I'm glad I didn't waste anymore time and money on this film. Disturbing Behavior is one of those films where you can watch the trailer and you don't need to see the rest of it. The select scenes for the trailer ARE the film. These trailer scenes are strung together with nothing that is particularly impressive or special.
I never thought I would say this but I found the lovely Katie Holmes unbelievable as bad-kid Rachel. Whether the film makers were going for a similar thing as "Scream" when Courtney Cox took the unexpected role of Gail Weathers I'm not sure, but it didn't work.
The film just "goes through the motions" and never seems to get very far. There is little that is horrifying about this movie, it's more of a teen drama and you can guess the ending within 20 minutes of the film starting as long as you watched the trailer carefully.
Disturbing Behavior is watchable but has tried to jump on the band-wagon of teen horror with a supposed interesting twist but it just doesn't happen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Andy Effkin (Tobias Mehler) is parked up to make out with his girlfriend when a police patrol car arrives. Andy kills his girl and gets out of the car. He uses one policeman's gun to kill the other. But the horror nature of this film emerges at once since the other policeman, Officer Cox (Steve Railsback) bids Andy goodnight and allows him to drive away, leaving the two bodies behind. It emerghes that the town of Cradle Bay has a psychiatric hospital whose chief psychiatrist, Dr Edgar Caldicott (Bruce Greenwood) is now the school councillor at Cradle Bay High School. With drugs and hypnosis he now has many of the pupils and staff under his control in the pursuit of evil. Among the last to succumb are Gavin Strick (Nick Stahl) and school newcomer from Chicago Steven Clark (James Marsden). Another who is outside the doctor's evil influence is the town's rat-catcher and school caretaker Dorian (William Sadler). He has made himself immune to the doctor's attention by building an ultrasound machine that disorients those who are exposed to it. Good story with a sci-fi plot and acting appropriate for the plot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
Not the greatest Katie Holmes fan here but she's more tolerable in this thriller. Nick Stahl impresses in both versions of his character. James Marsden is gorgeous and fairly decent as the hero. Chad Donella as an albino (?) steals the show. He's got some strong competion in the form(s) of Katharine Isabelle as younger sister of the hero and William Sadler as a crazy(ish) janitor. Not everything is as it seems and as the mystery soon starts to unravel hold on tight for thrills and spills. At only 80 minutes long this film soon flies by. Look out for a brief cameo by Jeffrey Spender himself, Chris Owens. Bruce Greenwood is the head bad guy. And another x files alum, Steve Railsback provides some heavy support as an enforcer. The trailer has scenes that do not appear in the film. The song Flagpole Sitta by Harvey Danger is featured prominently in the trailer and is an ace tune. Directed by a guy who also directed eps of the x files.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2015
So good I jumped up and down on my sofa and worshiped aliens
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)