Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
56
The Complete Machine Quilting Manual
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 March 2013
I have number of quilting books so I was a little dubious as to whether this book would be any use to me. I have found it interesting and although it goes over much basic patchwork method, the sewing machine slant is very good . I have already leaned a couple good tips after just scanning through the book.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2016
Fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2017
Brilliant book am slowly working my way through it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2012
I needed a book to refresh my memory on machine quilting, when you don't do that type of needlework all the time, it's easy to forget some of the basics.
This book delivers what it promises with examples from professional world recognised quilters, Sheena Norquay (who I have had the privilege of being taught by), Ellin Larimer, Marijke De Boer Boon, Elizabeth Barton, C. June Barnes, Sally Bramald, Jeri Riggs, Joanie Zeier Poole, Laura Glass, Loris Bogue and Jeanette Meyer.
I am impressed as this book covers machine quilting for those who are interested in contemporary and traditional quilting.
This book covers everything from the bottom upwards, leaving nothing out, i.e.,
The basics of a very modern sewing machine in detail.
The outlines about the differences with domestic machines without a frame, long arm quilting machines, domestic machines with a frame and a mid arm machine.
Accessories and attachments needed.
Setting up your work space (in an ideal world if you have the space or spare room to do so!!!)
Posture to protect your back, neck and shoulders!
How to make your own portable ironing board.
Planning your machine quilting on paper for your finished quilt!!! (It's better to make design mistakes on paper than on your finished quilt top!!!) Plus choosing boarder designs.
Making and using templates.
Planning for appliqué quilts, whole cloth quilts and your stitching order ( first time I have seen the latter mentioned before, specially for whole cloth quilts which is excellent, even though its brief).
Choosing suitable fabrics and understanding the colour wheel (most important!!)
Preparing fabrics
Backing fabrics
Different types of fabric markers, pros and cons.
Different methods of transferring designs onto fabric.
Wadding (or as our US friends would say, "Batting").... I was very impressed with this, Sheena Norquay teaches in her classes the basics of wadding, and how important it is to get the right one!!! Wadding for a bed quilt is not the same wadding you need for a quilted wall hanging!!! Some stretch, others are ridged, there are so many on the market, it's so important to get this right!!!! This is the first book I have seen go into detail.
Tacking/basting the quilt.
Different needles to sew with!!! (Basic important information)
Then you get into the different methods and techniques, straight line, free motion, echo quilting, background fillers/negative space fillers, trapunto etc.
Finishing the quilt, binding, laundering, drying, squaring up the quilt and most importantly putting a label on the back with details.

At the end of the book there are 4 projects to try:-
1. Sewing tool caddy/pouch
2.Polka dot quilt
3.Toile bed quilt
4.keepsake baby bib

Final chapter contains excellent templates, quilting designs

The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5, is the fact I did not like the typography inside.
It makes the book feel dated like it was produced back in the '70s. I also didn't like several of the photographs of the work, again it gave a dated feel to the book. I checked the published date and its 2012!!!
Please please can publishers stick to plain fabrics, and more modern type fonts.
When I pay a lot for a sewing book, I really want a modern cutting edge feel to my books. The charity shops and library's are full with dated sewing books!!! If you can make the front cover feel modern, please do the same for the inside too!!!!! It's not much to ask for!!!!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2012
Joanie Zeier Poole's book on machine quilting teaches you what you need to know to start free motion quilting. FMQ can be so scary - where do you start? How much do you do? What designs work best? This manual will definitely help you find your bearings.

Chapter 1 is full of lots of tips regarding different types of quilting machines - long arm, domestic machine with frame (my dream is to own one of these!), and even a domestic machine. And don't worry that you don't have a long arm - Joanie explains that she prefers to work on a domestic machine and is quite happy with her results. She also discusses essential and useful attachments, accessories, and even setting up your working space.

Chapter 2 is all about planning and preparations. It helps you choose and plan quilting techniques for different types of quilts along with techniques for transferring them to your quilt. Joanie discusses fabric preperation and even when to starch (answer: lightly and often!) as well as thread and needle types and how to choose wadding.

Chapter 3 discusses the varieties of machine quilting - channel, stippling, background and echo as well as others. You'll learn about moving from shape to shape on the quilt. You'll also learn how to plan and quilt designs based on straight lines - there are more than you think! She also discusses how to practice designs before sewing them.

Finally there is a small library of quilting designs for making your own. I think this is a book which would appeal to the beginner and intermediate quilter - many quilters are terrified at the thought of free motion quilting, but a little knowledge and practice will get you a long way. There are also 4 projects that aren't very difficult and offer the opportunity to practice your free motion skills.

This review was also published on [...]
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2012
this is an excellent book with very clear photographs and text to guide you through all aspects of machine quilting, whether you are a beginner or a more experienced quilter.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2014
I choose this rating as I felt although the book was very well written, it didn't cover machine quilting in as much detail as I wanted. It concentrated on how to make a quilt. I wouldn't have brought it if I had quick flipped through the pages. I expected this book to contain hints, tips, and detailed discription on how to achieve straight machine, and free style quilting. Disappointing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2012
As this book was specifically about machine quilting rather than a general introduction to making quilts much of the first half was wasted on how to make a quilt. The pages actually on machine quilting were good but I felt a little cheated by the title
22 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2013
This is better than I had expected, having a lot of books on machine quilting, and I really love it
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2012
Loved this book, very helpful hints & well laid out format. Price was about as good as it gets. All in All very happy.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)