Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 6 September 2000
"The Commitment" is a exceptional and humourous story about real people in Dublin, Ireland. It is written by Roddy Doyle and centers around a young man and the band he is trying to put together to play soul music. His point is that "The Irish brothers wouldn't be shooting ...each other if they had soul". But keeping the band together turns out to be just as big a problem as it was putting it together in the first place...
The casting for the film took place in Dublin where virtually everybody showed up (says Sharon Corr), so the actors are real dubliners, and they do a fantastic job. They were all unknown when the film was made, but some has made it big on the music scene since (Andrew Strong, Andrea Corr).
Bit perhaps the biggest part in the film is played by the soundtrack. Old classics are given a makeover and are performed brilliantly by the band in the film.
This is a film and a soundtrack that belongs on everyones shelf.
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2014
This is a very funny story but not for those who are offended by fowl language. It is also true to life in its portrayal of life and the struggle for recognition in Ireland. Well worth watching, but there's a sad twist near the end of the film. The music in the film is fantastic and will get anyone singing along, this dvd is a gem and i'm keeping my copy for the times i want to watch something funny with good music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2014
After seeing the live show a couple of times we just had to revisit the movie. Just as brilliant as I remember. This is a foreign version of the DVD but that only really is a challenge with the box itself. The first menu that pops up on the DVD when you play it is language selection. From there on you would be none the wiser.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2017
This Australian release is the best version with correct aspect ratio, subtitles, and special features axtras; check out the back cover . Region free.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2017
Watched this film a few times over the last few years. Love the music too. Glad I bought this film at last
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2015
The Van is one of the funniest books I have read...a great film...and the bonus of that eternal favourite The Commitments makes this a perfect set for anyone who enjoys Roddy Doyle
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 November 2017
I had seen this film before and remembered finding it very funny, warm and with great music into the bargain. I'm delighted to have my own copy now and found it just as good as I had remembered . It's the kind of film I will enjoy many times. If you haven't seen it , get yourself a copy and give yourself a treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2017
Excellent film. Glad I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2017
Holding up well, a classic film, great acting, great songs and funny as f.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2017
Super, in all ways!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)