Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
28
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.59


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 September 2008
Most of the photos in the book i have seen before ie Bob Gruen/Pennie Smith etc but it's great to have a good quality ones all in one book there are some black and white previously unseen ones.
The book also has some adverts/pic sleeves/album covers bits from the two clash songbooks,music paper front covers and articles, gig posters,postcards sent to family members while on tour etc,etc.
Its a beutiful coffee table type book and THE CLASH themselves are credited as authors as embodied in this compilation work. All interviews are by Mal Peachey

Best 15 quid i have spent in a long long time
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2008
If you were ever looking for a coffee table story of The Clash, look no more. The stories and many of the photographs will be familiar to Clash fans but the book is none the worse for that.

The book is beautifully produced for the price, I think even at non Amazon prices the book would be a bargain.

A little naughty to say that this is an autobiography created by all four band members seeing as Joe has not been around for some time, however it is a book that any Clash/punk aficionado will love.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 April 2010
I hate giving anything clash anything but five stars...but this is a bit of a disappointment.
If you have the big version of this... The "Clash": Strummer, Jones, Simonon, Headon then this small paperback version is a bit of a let down. This version only has a few of the many pictures and illustrations found in the full size version...so this is mainly the text/quotes/tour dates/discography that appeared in the large format.
As with big book..it goes in chronological order from '76 to '83
So I guess you keep the big pink book on the coffee table...and this one in your bag to read through....maybe I'm being unkind...I guess this is much easier to
take around with you...and it was published for that reason... so if I could do three and a half stars I would.
Considering you can pick up the hardback version for nearly the same price in some places..it might pay to shop around

But hell..it's the clash...it's bright pink and you can read it on the bus or train without looking like Bernard Cribbins as guest reader on Jackanory.

I hope the small version of the Bob Gruen book doesn't disappoint...hell that's all photos!!!!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 September 2008
The second you see the dayglo pink cover..you know you are in for something a bit special. This is about the same size as the "Punk" hardback that came out a few years ago. In some ways layout is similar..but it's 100% clash!
For the photospotters...there are some well known pictures gathered here...but a lot of cracking b/w and colour shots I've never seen before.There are also record sleeves and posters, singles adverts lovingly reproduced. I haven't had time to read all the way through yet..but I'm like a kid on Christmas day with this!
There are also some pages from the first Clash Songbooks- biogs and the like.
The book works through in chronological order 1976 -1983 with a mix of pictures text, tour dates, albums etc...Joe,Mick, Paul and Topper all have their say..
It's the "Must Have Toy...(well book) for Christmas" as my son keeps reminding me..how am I expected to wait two months!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2009
For us who "was there" during the prime years of the punk era it might not be very punk to drool over the infinite number of fancy looking punk coffee table books. But this book is a smashing experience, so forget about that! Featuring photos,sleeves,posters etc from the first and best period of the band ,it is a study in COOLNESS! You can almost hear the music while going through the pages. And smell the fume of tobacco,beer and sweaty leather pants! BUY NOW!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
A treasure chest- full of great photos, comments from the band members and lots of stuff I didn't know or remember (like the actual dates of the 10 occasions when I was lucky enough to see them). Lovingly produced. If you like The Clash get it. If you know somebody who likes them, get it for them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
My husband loved reading this book and it has some good photography shots of the band in there too! Really pleased with it and he's just finished reading it after buying it for him for Christmas!:) Would definitely recommend this book to all die hard Clash fans!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2009
This is a great introduction to The Clash for those who weren't around, and triggers so many memories for those who were. It's not boringly academic but it is pretty comprehensive. They seem to have got the balance just right.

There's a one-star review of this thing which rips it apart for being inaccurate and revisionist. Maybe that's true. But in the end there are some great pictures and it's funny to see all the punk xerox and glue marketing stuff sitting on the coffee table in a big fat glossy book.

And I don't resent The Clash making a few bob from their history - they can't reform like everyone else does - and we don't have to buy this stuff if we don't want it.

BUT WHO IS THAT BLOKE ON PAGE 64?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
Highly recommended. Bought for the guitarist of SO 77 as a birthday present and was absolutely loved .Bigger and better with more unpublished stuff than previous versions also done in conjuction with band members (i believe)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)