Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
34
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Chief - Series 1 - Complete [DVD] [1990]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 December 2011
I'm always very wary ordering series I loved many years ago. This was as gripping as I remembered I watched the entire series in a a night and I am off to watch the second one tomorrow. It remains my favourite show ever.

The acting was great, the stories gripping and it is as relevant now as it was in 1990.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
The best of all 'The Chief' series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2017
Good series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
The 1st DVD takes you right back to the early 90's. Great theme tune. Solid cast and a script that builds up each episode. Strongly recommend the series. Love the cars, and seeing a world without mobile phones and when the only PC was the one in uniform, and not on your desk.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2010
Excellent portrayal of complicated position of high responsibility (authority and politics) with sympathetic and human protagonists without really 'Hero' status. Audivisual quality of this dvd irreproachable. Glad to have ordered this. Hans Boonen (France)
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
I think this is probably an interesting series. Unfortunately, either the sound quality and/or the enunciation are so bad, I couldn't understand a word. Too bad, because Tim Pigott-Smith looked as if he was good in the role. Why oh why didn't they give this subtitles?
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2010
I was an avid fan of the The Chief when it was first shown by Anglia Television back in the early 1990's. I still have video tapes of the series, and have been eagerly awaiting the arrival of the DVD collection, and will view each episode consecutively when I have them all. The series takes a look at a different aspect of the police service - The Role of a Chief Constable, well-acted by Tim Piggott-Smith and later by Martin Shaw, both of whom were well casted for the role of the Chief Constable of a fictitious police force known as Eastlands. Having come from a police background, and having worked at a similar level in the Metropolitan Police, I can relate to the constant tug of politics between the Chief Constable's Office, the Home Office, Local Police Authority and the community. The series deals very well with the way The Chief Constable and his closest advisors deal with the day-to-day running of a suburban police force, including the trials and tribulations in the domestic lives of his most senior colleagues. This is a first class police drama series, which was obviously well researched and advised by ex-Chief Constable John Anderton. Unlike the Bill and many of the current police dramas, which tend to focus on the frontline hands-on policing, this series looks at the top of tree, and anyone remotely interested in politics in the workplace will enjoy viewing it. 5 Stars right out of the box from series 1.
0Comment| 80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2016
If you had martin Shaw in series 1 and 2, then find out tim piggot smith was taking over in series 3....I would have said ...why?...I'm not watching that anymore...yet I will feel gutted at the end of the second series, because as John Stafford, ...Tim piggot smith is superb...a very good series....lots of politics and dialogue that left me thinking...is that what goes on ?.....a very strange world that left me feeling very uncomfortable....1990 seems like yesterday, yet you wonder about the lines of fact, fiction,...and reality.....6 episodes in series 1, --you can't leave it at that.....the chief.....is so good. Never seen it before....get it while it's a good price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2012
Excellent police drama with a nice line in deep cynicism and a profound concern for the future of policing and of our democracy; this is not your usual "cop-show", instead taking us to the very top of the tree as Chief Constable John Stafford (played with chest-thumping gusto by Tim Pigott-Smith) takes the helm of an ailing police force in East Anglia, and quickly finds himself in conflict not only with those elements within the force that take exception to the new broom sweeping their way, but also the political machinations of his police authority and of the old bureaucratic evil of Whitehall. Stafford is (perhaps to a fault) a man with an absolute dead-set moral compass, his first and foremost duty to "The Law" he is sworn to uphold - no friend does that make him of the local gentry and the Home Office mandarins who see his duty as being to "The State" (a.k.a "them"), not that he cares. The series creators are clearly pitching from a position of disapproval at the workings of the British political system but it is to the credit of "The Chief" that the viewer is given room to make their own judgement as to whether Stafford is a valiant crusader for truth and decency or simply a bombastic liberal nuisance getting in the way of the copper's job of "coppering". Karen Archer is an able sidekick as one of Stafford's lieutenants, ACC Anne Stewart, although on behalf of female viewers I would have preferred it if she didn't go flouncing off in a strop QUITE as much as she does....rather lets the side down, I felt!

A high-quality supporting cast includes Frederick Jaeger, Julian Holloway, a short-but-effective appearance by John Woodvine in Episode 2 and an early TV outing for Ross Kemp as a snot-nosed probationer who provides for one of the confrontations that gives "The Chief" its' strength. An admirable production.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
nothing else to say
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)