Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
54
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Cardinal of the Kremlin
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 June 2017
As described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
Brilliant book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
Look forward to the read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
My favourite book of all time. What more can i say
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 September 2007
This is in my modest opinion the second best book by Tom Clancy, bested only by the "Hunt for Red October".

This incredibly courageous technothriller is centered around two topics: a Soviet officer who is spying for Americans since the 60s and a new, powerful weapon, developped by USSR - a laser gun able to destroy satelites. This second topic is partly inspired by the true events - such an installation, destined to blind (not destroy) US satelites, was really build in the last years in USSR close to Duchanbe in todays Tadjikistan, but never tried on an American target.

As one of the previous reviewers pointed, this is a very pro-US book, and that is precisely the reason I call it courageous: most spy books usually try not to design one of the blocks (East or West) as being on the good side and another on the bad side. Which is not true in my modest opinion, because let's face it - during the Cold War there was one alliance made of democracies and it faced a totalitarian empire and its unwilling satelites. That alone shows which side was right and which one was wrong. And this book, as its predecessor, takes exactly this position.

The plot itself is also very daring - I do not want to give any spoilers, but towards the end my jaw dropped. Three times in a row. I was like "Oh my God, he dared to write THIS?" And I think that even now, 16 years after the end of Cold War, this books still packs an impressive power to surprise and shock you. And it is also a really good read. I recommend it warmly, as the second best technothriller ever, a perfect second part of the amazing "Hunt for Red October".
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 September 2007
I do not like Tom Clancy as a person. I despise his totalitarian amoral politics and I canNOT stand him slapping his readers with them in his latest oversized and underwritten duds.

However, Tom Clancy was once an EXCELLENT technothriller writer. He might not have invented the genre, yet he launched it into the stratosphere.

This is HIS BEST BOOK and it is actually very good.
The mid-80's Cold-War atmosphere, the paranoia, the double-agents, the clandestine methods and the hardware are all expertly presented.
Now, him being, well...Clancy there still are stereotypes and bigoted characters galore. Deciding to overcome this however, the reader can actually enjoy this one.

Do not judge CARDINAL OF THE KREMLIN based on his deteriorated career.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
There is something magical about Clancy's writing about Cold War. Gives a sort of mysticism of that age, and Jack Ryan is well adjusted in his CIA role, which won't last long. Resolves some plot points from Red October, and has great repercussions in future books, especially Executive Orders.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 November 2002
This was the best Jack Ryan book so far.
Combining four tales, each intertwined with the others until the final climax is reached, the action is unrelenting, and it's edge of the seat stuff throughout.
The main plot involves a longstanding US spy in the higher echilons of Soviet goverment, but there's also the "secret" weapon both sides are developing, the political machinations within the Soviet hierarchy, and the Afghan rebels planning a decisive assault on a Soviet base.
Love it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2016
This is a great spy thriller. Tom Clancy's early works are great reads, and this one is no exception. It is however a little dated now in terms of the technology described in the book but that can't be helped as it was written a couple of decades ago. On rereading it now it still remains a fast page turner with surprises enough to still make it feel like i'm reading it afresh. The usual Clancy frustrations still exist of course, with characters all having the same way of speaking and other small things that bug me but may not annoy other readers. Overall though this is still a great, fun book to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
this is a classic. fast paced, 3 dimensional and gripping.
I lost my book many years ago and was keen to get a replacement...worth the wait...even if I knew the ending.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here