Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
22
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2011
Bought this book as I was interested in Alexander's campaigns and wanted to find out more. Heard this book was perfect for the job and in my opinion it is.

The author has put in a lot of detail about all the important things you need to know and explains things in so much detail. This book is also translated really well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2008
Simply the best! A must for every fan, admirer and ... of Alexander the Great.

Accounts from contemporary historians like Callistenes, Onesicritus, Nearchus and Aristobulus did exist but only bits and pieces have come to us. Arrian was lucky enough to have access to the biography of Alexander written by Ptolemy, one of Alexanders' generals and maybe his half-brother, who became pharaoh of Egypt. What we know today has been recorded by a handful ancient writers (Diodorus of Sicily, Curitus Rufus and Plutarch mainly) who still could consult those old records, and Arrian is one of them.

Lucius Flavius Arrianus, better known as Arrian was a Greek historian from the 2nd century AD, who served as a military commander in the Roman Empire. He had widespread interests in philosophy, topographic-ethnography, history, and military matters, which culminated in his books on Alexander. He writes in a matter-of-fact-tone without being dull or dry. Personally I possess the pocket version of The Campaigns of Alexander which I always carry with me when travelling. Arrian knows how to keep his reader's mind alive, which may or may not have been influenced by the translator, Aubrey de Sélincourt. In any case, it turns out to be very pleasant and fascinating reading material.

Over the years since antiquity up till today, whoever wants to write about Alexander the Great will always have refer to Arrian in the first place. All what the history or science fiction authors tell us, is based on Arrian's accounts. He clearly states the dates and the events, describes the battlefields and positions of the armies involved with nearly analytical precision, and he puts the cities and landscapes in true perspective. Whatever information you need, you can always rely on Arrian to find it, without fringes or inessential details.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2001
Arrian's astute and detailed account of the campaigns of Alexander is the most useful surviving ancient source about his life. Anyone interested in Alexander's life will find the book fascinating, although Arrian's views reflect the politics of his time.
This translation is pretty accurate and comprehensive, better than any other I've read in English. The only thing to watch out for is that Arrian makes political points against Alexander as an indirect attack on Imperial Rome's government.
Because of this, you will find dubious references to some war crime events that probably never occurred. Compare with other sources for a fuller picture of Alexander's life and nature ('The Nature of Alexander' by Mary Renault is an excellent analysis and compilation).
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
Really enjoyed this very accessible translation with informative footnotes and bibliography. Arrian really takes you along with him on the journey. Great for the general reader, not at all stuffy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
I bought the book for my husband and he loved the book as he is very much into the history of the Greeks and the Romans
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
A brilliant translation of Arrian's Anabasis.
The work reads very well, and is made readily accessible for all readers.

My one gripe would be the absence of chapter & line numbers, which makes for difficult referencing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2003
Written some 4 hundred years after the time of Alexander using the diaries of Ptolemy as the main sources of research, not only is Arrian considered the one of the first serious historians, he was also a roman general and later became a senator. A must-read for anyone interested in the life & times of Alexander the Great.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2017
The finest account of Alexanders conquests. No further accounts or commentaries required. If you want the real Alexander then this is as good as it gets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2016
A very good book well-written I would recommend this book to anyone interested in alexander the greats life and ancient Greece
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 December 2009
My personal favourite in terms of source material on Alexander. Required reading for any aspiring arm chair historian
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)