Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 5 September 2015
A strange and unbalanced blockbuster where rethoric, patriottism and its opposite live together and create a short cicuit between a mainstream approach to classic storytelling (big scenes, evil vs good, etc...) and all the unspoken aspects of war and "civilization", embodied by the ambiguity of Alec Guinness role. Maybe Lean's best "big film", where his sense of entertainment (the film is also funny and has a classic and reassuring dramatization) and the intimate and unresolved dramas of his early films meet almost perfectly and leave you with a sense of bitterness. Maybe his most controversial film on a very good blu ray
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2017
A real good classic of a well known Japanese Prisoner of War Camp in the Jungle during World War II. A very true story and well worth watching on this DVD. Whether or not you have seen it before, it is a film that you can not resist seeing yet again. Brilliant well known British actors and brilliant acting. A very gripping film from which you would not want to be distracted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2017
The classic war film about POWs building a bridge over the River Kwai for their Japanese captors as part of the building of the Burma railway during WW2.
The film stars Alec Guinness, Jack Hawkins and William Holden.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2016
Pure tosh, of course, but it has to be THE Japanese POW film nevertheless. There can hardly be a genuine war memoir post Bridge on the River Kwai written by a Far East Prisoner of War veteran that does not mention this film and how far from what really happened it is. At the same time, the war memoirs do mention it, which says it all, really. Excellent entertainment. Just don't take it as being historically accurate. Not even a little bit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 March 2014
Jolly spiffing film.
An absorbing study in obsession where any notion of right and wrong seems to be entirely predicated on subjective notions of duty, regardless of consequence. A remarkable eye opener.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2013
I realised that this film was not in my collection - which was an oversight! It is a winner of 7 Academy Awards in 1957 (including Best Picture, Best Actor and Best Director); it has tour de force perrfomances from (particularly) Alec Guinness, Jack Hawkins, William Holden and Sessue Hayakawa and is wonderfully filmed. It is at once a stirring and moving film and one that I am very happy to have (finally!) in my collection of WWII films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2014
I hadn't watched this movie for decades, so decided to watch it again, as I remembered the original fondly, but I found it slightly underwhelming viewing through middle-aged adult rather than youthful eyes.

It is a good story of the British troops and their unbreakable spirit, and what can be achieved with teamwork and determination even as POWs.

A good watch - better if you've never seen the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2017
a gripping film
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2018
Guiness at his best. Tremendous film. How accurate? Not sure. Have heard many P.O.W reports that suggest this may not depict true events. But very easy to be drawn in to this classic from an early age...and I still LOVE it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2016
I watched this film on its original release, at the time I thought It was great as a child. On watching it again I still found it a great film, and has stood the test of time in my opinion. Great cast & location helps.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)