Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
116
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: HD DVD|Change
Price:£7.87+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 February 2008
This film seemed to slide in and out of the cinema before I had a chance to see it. I'm a fan of Foster's earlier work, but I didn't know what to expect from this film especially after reading the comments made by movie execs that they wanted to stop making films with female leads. I guess it's simple economics to them, but it seemed kind of harsh to me.

This isn't a movie for everyone. It's pretty bleak and contrived in places, but all of the performances are strong and the cinematography and direction are amazing. This isn't the new New York we see in this film, the safest big city in the world. Instead it reveals the ghost of New York, where senseless violence and cruelty dominates. Foster's character is a woman on a mission, and she manages to touch a lot of people along the way. A lesser actress wouldn't have been able to pull this role off, but Foster does it with style and grace.

This film is bracing and thoughtful. If you're in the mood for something different but still Hollywood, the Brave One is a good choice.
11 comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 February 2008
'The Brave One' stars Jodie Foster as radio DJ Erica Bain, who when one night is walking her dog in the park with her fiancé, is attacked and brutally beaten, leaving her unconscious and her fiancé dead. The police don't seem interested in the case and screaming for revenge, Erica buys a gun and takes the law into her own hands, becoming New York's mysterious Vigilante, getting rid of muggers and murders from the streets before finding her fiancé's killers for the ultimate revenge.

I didn't expect much from this as I hadn't really heard a great deal about it and the reviews have all been fairly average but I was pleasantly surprised to see this was an emotional, exciting and extremely tense thriller that had me sitting on the edge of my seat, biting my nails in suspense for the whole 2 hours. The direction was really interesting as they focussed more on the bad points of New York, from the small shop robberys to the subway muggings, keeping to the back street locations rather than glamourising it with the big city hot spots.

The story was very clever and didn't drag at all or become too ridiculous. There's a couple of predictable bits but there's also enough twists to keep you watching to see what happens next. Foster's character came off as arrogant and unlikeable to begin with but really had me rooting for her as the film went on.

Overall this is a hugely enjoyable movie that may be a bit too violent and shocking for some, but is a good emotional revenge thriller that is also one of Foster's best performances I've seen her in since films like Silence of the Lambs, Flightplan and Panic Room. Highly recommended.
11 comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2007
While most people will refer to The Brave One as a revenge/vigilante film, my experience and reading of it remains of a different kind. First of all kudos to the Foster and Jordan teaming, this movie feels fresh, it is clever and original in its telling. When it comes to the heart of the movie, I found myself more moved by the idea that so many on this planet have the luxury of never really having had to deal with the dark reality of life.

In The Brave One, Erica Baine (Foster) and her fiance (Naveen Andrews) are brutally attacked one evening whilst walking their dog. The chemistry between Andrews and Foster is perfect. And this is what makes his death so traumatic and gives some reason for what is to follow. To me there are two levels to this film. The actual situations, and the main character's emotional state. Some will be moved by her actions, others by her emotions (some maybe both). So while there is a sense of revenge in this film, in my opinion it is more about finding out that happiness and the world you have created for yourself can so easily be taken away from you. And when that happens... what can you do?

Take what you will from The Brave One, but watch it! It is definitely up there with Foster's best performances.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 February 2008
'The Brave One' stars Jodie Foster as radio DJ Erica Bain, who when one night is walking her dog in the park with her fiancé, is attacked and brutally beaten, leaving her unconscious and her fiancé dead. The police don't seem interested in the case and screaming for revenge, Erica buys a gun and takes the law into her own hands, becoming New York's mysterious Vigilante, getting rid of muggers and murders from the streets before finding her fiancé's killers for the ultimate revenge.

I didn't expect much from this as I hadn't really heard a great deal about it and the reviews have all been fairly average but I was pleasantly surprised to see this was an emotional, exciting and extremely tense thriller that had me sitting on the edge of my seat, biting my nails in suspense for the whole 2 hours. The direction was really interesting as they focussed more on the bad points of New York, from the small shop robberys to the subway muggings, keeping to the back street locations rather than glamourising it with the big city hot spots.

The story was very clever and didn't drag at all or become too ridiculous. There's a couple of predictable bits but there's also enough twists to keep you watching to see what happens next. Foster's character came off as arrogant and unlikeable to begin with but really had me rooting for her as the film went on.

Overall this is a hugely enjoyable movie that may be a bit too violent and shocking for some, but is a good emotional revenge thriller that is also one of Foster's best performances I've seen her in since films like Silence of the Lambs, Flightplan and Panic Room. Highly recommended.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
The day that DJ Erica Bain selects wedding invitations, her fiancé is murdered and she brutally assaulted while walking their dog in Central Park.

Upon discharge from hospital, she buys a handgun. When she witnesses a shooting in a convenience store and is chased by the killer, she kills in self-defence but flees.

She then walks the night streets as a vigilante, a stranger to herself.

Mercer, a detective, becomes her friend as he hunts for the killer, but also begins to suspect that she is on a vengeance quest.....

Its a weird movie to be directed by Jordan, as it's not anything new or special, especially when you know he made masterpieces like Company Of Wolves, and The Crying Game.

The same can be said for Foster, it's basically an exploitation movie. The writer has just seen Winners Dirty Weekend and Death Wish, took out the comedy from the former and made it more gritty.

Its watchable though, seeing Foster walk the streets and killing people doing the wrong thing, but you'll have a nasty sense of déjà Vu throughout.

Howard adds some acting chops to rival Fosters, but he does just spend the majority of the movie giving Foster suspicious looks and purposely staying one step behind.

A much better revenge film 'Death Sentence' was released around the same time, and ironically the book was a sequel to Death Wish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
Talk about taking life into your own hands. Jodie Foster, a local DJ loses her partner and is severely beaten herself and feels the police are not doing enough to solve the crime. She buys a gun and learns how to use it. I love the way the story pans out and how she goes about dealing with her issues. Thankfully for a Warner Brothers release there is a Dolby TrueHD audio track and that’s why this BD gets 4 starts and not 3 like Firewall that I have written a review for which is also a Warner Brothers release.
Recommended for fans of a good vengeance story and Jodie Foster.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2009
I think that for revenge movies it is between this feature and the actions of "the bride" in Kill Bill for the number one slot, although while Kill Bill is an out and out fantasy adventure this film is full of menace, realism and grit.

The story follows the journey of a radio hosts journey back to life following a mercilessly violent confrontation with a group of thugs who turn her, her dog and lover into prey when they stray into their path beneath a bridge in a darkened, isolated spot in a public park. The gang have been drinking and their emergence from the shadows is instantly menacing and effecting, the confrontation itself and its rapid and inescapable escalation to extreme murderous violence is THE best and most realistic portrayal I have ever seen in film. The scene has been set perfectly, the inability of the victimised couple to retreat was well thought out and the characterisation of the criminals themselves as playing some sort of sadistic game with those at their mercy, right down to and including the recording of the episode on a mobile phone was just exacting.

From this point on with admission and discharge from hospital the film becomes a little more complex, there are fans and critics who have suggested that the rest of the film in its entirity is a dream sequence enacted in the traumatised, possibly dying, mind of the principle character but I dont believe so. The film has been contrasted and compared with The Complete Death Wish Collection (Death Wish 1, Death Wish 2, Death Wish 3, Death Wish 4 and Death Wish 5) Full and Uncut Import. I'm unsure about this too the films are very different.

The Brave One is a good depiction of how a single incident transforms the principle character in a number of ways, there is a great portrayal of very gradual recovery from trauma but the incident has also challenged the very world view of the survivor, formerly liberal and up beat she become more hard hearted and hard headed, challenging the listeners to her radio show when they condemn vigilantism (which she infact is responsible for). Each of the confrontations which result in summary justice are interesting, as they generally (with one or two notable exceptions) portray menacing behaviour which may or may not escalate. Similarly the dynamic which grows up between the police officer investigating the vigilante and the radio hostess, with a seeming game of cat and mouse as each sizes the other up and speculates about their sympathy with vigilante justice, is very well portrayed.

Just shortly before the conclusion of the film I was a little dubious as to the direction it took, not only was I unsure that the gritty realism of the earlier segment really lent itself to the principle character being pretty much dispatched on a mission to dispense summary justice but I felt the ultimate conclusion was a little "happily ever after". That said I really liked it, would not have wanted it to end any other way and movies arent just about being a mirror of the real world but also about entertainment, with the good guys prevailing against the odds.

Jodie Foster was the perfect casting choice for Erica Bain. The film is also littered with quotable quotes and memorable moments, such as the scenes where Bain is admitted to the emergency room in a coma and the medics checking her for spinal injuries and cutting away her clothes and it is cut with intimate scenes between her and her partner or when someone speaks to Bain saying "There's plenty of ways to die, you have to find a way to live". Some of the gritty realism is supplied by too real moments, such as Bains first contact with the police at the station enquiring about the status of her case, there's a lot of law but not much justice or satisfaction.
55 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Looking beyond its more 'controversial' aspects, THE BRAVE ONE emerges as a solid and highly atmospheric thriller with consistently great cinematography. In other words, a natural choice for the Blu-ray treatment. In 1080p high-definition the picture quality is stunning, containing a depth of field almost entirely absent from the standard-definition DVD and, I have to admit, that both the dramatic and technical experience stayed with me for some considerable time afterwards - which in my book is usually a good sign of something a bit out of the ordinary.

Erica Bain is a New York DJ who, along with her fiance, is brutally attacked and left for dead. She survives, and the only way of coping with her ordeal and her grief is to become a vigilante, wandering the lonely streets of the city and wasting the lowlifes that inhabit its nocturnal underbelly. Complications arise when she strikes up a relationship with the cop who's working on the case...

JODIE FOSTER puts in an excellent performance by injecting her character with a real sense of humanity, making the resulting moral ambiguities somewhat easier to accept (unlike, say, Charles Bronson in DEATH WISH, whose one-dimensional expressions gave away practically nothing of the internal struggles that must accompany such behaviour). Yes, there are contrivances in incident and aftermath but the film builds to a powerfully satisfying climax which is largely unexpected, and due in no small part to a tight script and convincing dialogue. Director NEIL JORDAN has painted a rich canvas, mostly without resorting to cliche, and the city at night is both a beautiful and terrifying prospect (someone equally good at this sort of thing is Michael Mann, see COLLATERAL). The onscreen violence, as you might imagine, is gritty but it is also entirely justified - any pulling of punches in that crucial area may have seriously harmed believability from the outset, especially given the petite stature of the main protagonist, so kudos to all concerned for keeping it as real as possible.

Overall then, a film with some substance and meaning, dealing with several issues including revenge, self-awareness and confession/redemption. It may take a mental post-mortem to come to those conclusions but, whatever else you do, don't dismiss THE BRAVE ONE as sensationalist nonsense.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
Version: U.S.A / Warner / Region A, B, C
Aspect ratio: 2.40:1
VC-1 BD-25 / AACS / Advanced Profile 3
Running time: 2:02:18
Movie size: 21,11 GB
Disc size: 24,05 GB
Total bit rate: 23.02 Mbps
Average video bit rate: 17.03 Mbps

Dolby TrueHD Audio English 1414 kbps 5.1 / 48 kHz / 1414 kbps / 16-bit (AC3 Core: 5.1 / 48 kHz / 640 kbps)
Dolby Digital Audio English 640 kbps 5.1 / 48 kHz / 640 kbps
Dolby Digital Audio French 640 kbps 5.1 / 48 kHz / 640 kbps
Dolby Digital Audio Spanish 640 kbps 5.1 / 48 kHz / 640 kbps

Subtitles: English SDH, French, Spanish
Number of chapters: 31

#Deleted Scenes (SD - 6m 45s)
#Featurette: I Walk the City (SD - 21m 41s)

*********************************************************

Version: U.K - E.U / Warner / Region A, B, C
Audio: Dolby TrueHD English, Dolby Digital 5.1 English, French, Dutch, Italian, Spanish
Subtitles: English SDH, Dutch, French, Spanish, Italian SDH, Portuguese, Deen, Finnish, Noors, Swedish, Chinese, Korean
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
This is a great film about a woman who sets out for revenge after getting brutally attacked by some violent youths, with the help of a undercover cop she sets out put to find them and have them put behind bars for good, Its a great film with a good plot and a great performance from Jodie Foster!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)