Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
70
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2013
I read and have read very many books on warfare, mainly the two world wars and Vietnam both fiction and non fiction and found this book to be so rewarding as the reader gets to know about the individuals before during and after the conflict whereas many of the non fiction autobiographies are based only on the wartime experience. Very moving, I may be UK but the story of those in Charlie Company won't be forgotten in a long while.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
Excellent book follows brand new recruits through their training & introduction to the infantry. They are sent to Vietnam full of confidence at their superior firepower only to find the enemy is often wily enough to get too close for the heavy support weapons to be used. Real eye opener to what the troops on the ground went through. As good a read as CHICKENHAWK !
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
Most books on Vietnam are written from a single person perspective. This is unusual in that it follows a unit rather than an individual. Books on a single Company are are mostly due to the American policy of rotating individual men in and out of formations.
This is a great book to read particularly because it follows up the particpant's after the war.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2012
book came up on my recommended,
usually i pay no interest but really glad i downloaded it!
what a great insight into day to day life of draftee's in what is an overly "hollywooded" genre....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2015
This book was a slog but it was also quite rewarding. Because the author spends a great deal of time describing the protagonists before and after Vietnam - as well their time in-country - you really get a sense of Charlie Company. As most know, the vast majority of war books focus on "the action" and after reading the Boys of '67 you understand just how much that you're missing. My main complaint about this book is really about technology and what could be done better with e-reads. The Boys of '67 is chock full of real life characters that are hard to keep track of. It's a bit like a Russian novel. It would be great if every time a name appeared, it could be in blue and could be linked to a set of pictures. The same applies to place names and related maps. This is obviously not the author's fault but Amazon and the publisher could do a lot more to make this book really come alive. Overall this was a good read and I do recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
A very emotional story of conscripts dealing with the hardships of warfare. I shed a few tears reading this book and I am grateful to how the stories were written. Loyalty, compassion and a sense of comedy during training blended the men to a cohesive fighting unit. Great sadness at the losses make you think how futile war his especially to men so young and the family's at home.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
A great read.
Up there with "Dispatches" by Michael Herr & "Nam" by Mark Baker in my opinion.
You can't fail to be moved by the experiences of Charlie Company.
On occasions made me laugh, but mostly brought tears to my eyes.
In response to another review on here, I'd say this publication isn't about the wider issues of the conflict. It concerns C company's
experiences and is not intended to be an historical account of the Vietnam war.
Also, as to what the troops motivations were for being there etc, I believe it states that only one member of the company was a volunteer and the rest conscripts so it would seem to me that they had little choice in the matter i.e. they were drafted into the army then sent to Vietnam on the orders of the U.S. government.
In my opinion you don't need to be concerned with any of the above issues, just take this book for what it is and enjoy it.

Maximum respect to all the Charlie Company veterans.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
Wanted to give this book higher marks however at times it was slow going as i think a few others have also said there's a lot of focus on the backgrounds of the (brave) men in this book such as there families etc. And while i think the work that went into that part is excellent it is often a bit too much information. Others might really like that however.
But a good read and i know i won't be forgetting the boys of charlie company.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
I have read many books on Vietnam and this really is one of the outstanding ones.

He details the lives of not just the combat soldiers but their families and loved ones too, thus bringing the whole story to life and not just history on a page.

The description of both mundane, day to day service in Vietnam and the sudden intensity of combat are well written and graphic, sometimes shocking.

The chapters detailing the lives of those who made it back are no less shocking, even those who dodged bombs and bullets did not emerge from the Rung Sat unscathed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
I enjoy military detail books, and this counts among them. It is a fast paced book, but with perhaps a little excess of biographical detail of the combatants, but that was probably the intention of the author. It takes Company C from the days before their draft papers into their war. I am still reading it, so cannot spoil the ending for you. I am reading the basic kindle edition on a basic kindle, and the pictures loose a lot, so may work better on an ipad or similar.
I note the book was published in 2012, as far as I can ascertain, and it seems that a lot of what is in the book is deja vu of the Vietnam section of the film Forest Gump. Some of the names are similar, and some of the phrases, but it may just be that this was the words and names of the time. I even thought at one moment before I checked the publication date that the film might have been based around this book.

One of the most distressing things is reading the accounts of the demise of some of the young men, and how pointless it all was. Many of them seemed to know that going into war was potentially lethal, and compared to readings about, say, the battle of Britain, none of the immortality of youth existed.

If you like military reads, then you will probably enjoy this. I found the book on a 99p day, and consider it was money well spent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)