Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2017
Excellent book. Although it deals with extremes of abuse there is much in there to support people parenting 'less' damaged children. Particularly useful for foster / adoptive parents whose children's histories are unknown and they are presenting with challenging behaviour.Easy reading without too much technical language.It is written by an American but dont let that put you off. The issues it deals with are cross cultural
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
Amazing book. I really enjoyed reading this although there was some very sad stories of people's lives in it. I recommend this book to anyone that can handle reading the harsh reality of some people's existence. The book's insightful and provides some examples of how some people's lives can be turned around with the heart, dedication and support of others!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
A fascinating read – very humane, well-informed and beautifully written. This is relevant to anybody interested in child psychology or trauma, but also an invaluable guide for parents and carers. I learnt a great deal from this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2016
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
Everything was as expected!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
A lovely and very interesting book, I was hooked throughout.
The messages that Bruce Perry gives out are both though provoking and heartwarming!
Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
This is a great book for those interested in a career in psychology/psychiatry or just if you have an interest in the true stories of peoples lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
Highly informative thought provoking. This confirms what many of us knew intuitively. Now we know why. A very readable book that conveys complex neuroscience in an understandable way and in the context of children's behaviour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2010
I had the good fortune to hear Dr Perry speak at a conference about trauma in childhood on his recent UK 'tour'. It was utterly fascinating and I just had to read his new book. This book is a must for anyone interested in child development and dealing with damaged children. It is useful for professionals, but also accessible and fascinating for parents and others. Although he deals with the most damaged children, their stories, beautifully written, leave you feeling uplifted. The entire book is a joy and well worth a read. Well done, Dr Perry.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
An absolutely fascinating insight into the developing brain. A must-read for anyone who has or who works with young children. Perry should be compulsory reading!
Only one slight gripe I have. The title of this book is quite misleading. I know of a few people who have heard of this book but felt disinclined to read it as they thought it was yet another of those books about children being abused in childhood. This book is not a novel but extracts from a psychiatrist's notes. The boy who was raised as a dog takes up Only one small section of this book. I guess the publishers thought a headline-grabbing title would sell more copies. Whenever I have Recommended this book to friends, they have expressed shock & are unwilling to read, 'that kind of thing'.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)