Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
13
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2005
This book, by the unsung hero behind the incredible rebirth and success of Morecambe and Wise, is not strictly an autobiograhy. It is indeed peppered with insights from the author's background and upbringing, and some of the warm and inspirational people from his early life, not least his mum, the family member that appears to have inspired his gift for comedy, witness cracks like (to her husband), "Come away from the window, people will think it's a petshop". But it is above all a testament to the talent of Morecambe and Wise, and the inevitable success that followed after the three of them teamed up. And the warmth with which he regarded them, and they each other, shines through the wealth of recollections, mostly of their working relationship. There are also diversions into his other work, such as fourteen years writing for Ken Dodd and his work on radio, but essentially he pays homage to the defining relationship of his life (and theirs). And for good measure he throws in new gags he thought of while writing the book, and even some very moving (and very funny) lines that he imagines Morecambe and Wise playing out. The books jumps around between recollections and new gags, and from one time period to another, but it is a moving insight into his own comedy genius and the personal and professional relationship between Eric and Ern (indeed the two aspects of their relationship are inseparable). And he achieves this whilst throwing out great gags and lines, making it a poignant but ultimately hilarious book.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2004
This is not a long in depth book review. All I will say if you are a fan of Eric & Ern then this is an absolute must own. The boy's script/gag writer has finally penned his story and it's a treat from start to finish. With Mr Braben's fantastic humour and gentle manner this is a book to keep you smiling. Such a treat. I read it in one sitting and I have'nt stopped grinning!! Why can't there be more people in this wicked world like the wonderful Eddie Braben. May he live forever!!!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2004
Inspired writer for Ken Dodd, Morecambe & Wise and many others, beloved son of Liverpool and bona fide British comedy legend, Eddie Braben has written a genuinely charming, bright and very, very, funny memoir about the life 'wot' he has lived, and it is a classic of its kind. Full of wonderful anecdotes and insights about the likes of Eric and Ernie, Andre 'Preview' Previn, Glenda Jackson, John Mills, Frankie Howerd, Diane Cilento, Sean Connery, Flora Robson, Hughie Green, Robin Day, John Lennon, Shirley Bassey, Bill Cotton, Cliff Richard, the stage play 'The Play Wot I Wrote' and, of course, the much-mocked Des 'Desperate' O'Connor, the book is a treat - it makes you smile, it makes you laugh (often out loud) and it makes you feel much better for having read it. If you love comedy, if you are a fan of Morecambe & Wise or you just want to find confirmation that, sometimes, nice guys really do get right to the top (and remain kind, decent and unspoilt after they've got there), then this really is a 'must-read'.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
This is a smashing read. An affectionate memoir from the man who gave so many laughs to us, most notably through the wonderful Eric & Ernie. In addition, some nice tales & anecdotes of both his larger showbiz experiences & home life. RIP Eddie - Thank You.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
I bought this or my boyfriend, and he LOVES it! Not is it an excellent read, we got a first edition and it was signed by Eddie himself. The seller was brilliant, great communication. All in all a brilliant buy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2009
This book has made me laugh out loud!! You can almost hear Morecambe & Wise saying a lot of the stuff written! Eddie Braben is a genius! My husband can't wait for me to finish it so he can read it and keeps asking me every day if i've finished yet!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
.... although Eddie's clearly on that line between genius and lunacy. M&W are great comedians however without Eddie it wouldn't have been the same humour so all credit to the man.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
as this book has been out of print for some time i was delighted to find this copy which arrived promptly and in good condition as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2012
An extremely funny book, with lots of extracts from the Morecambe and Wise shows,and what happened behind the scenes- a very funny man
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I loved Morecambe and Wise, and spent a long time searching for this book, but reading it was a frustrating experience. Braben comes across as somebody who never stops trying to entertain, and as a result the book is a frustrating read, where a serious passage suddenly reveals itself to be the set-up for a joke. This, combined with its non-linear structure constantly jumping around, makes is a little annoying, but I gamely struggled through.

If you want a good book about Morecambe and Wise, read Graham McCann's superb biography. This book doesn't quite succeed as a biography of them, or even as an autobiography of Braben himself. A shame, as it could and should have been superb.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)