Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2014
Moving true story of life in the Japanese camps for Dutch and European women and their children in WW2. There are not many books written about this aspect of the war, so it provides another thoughtful insight into another shameful period of history. What's equally poignant is Lise's afterword which charts her family life once grown up and the lasting damage the experience had on all her family. Reminded me of the "Flamboya Tree" by Clara Olink Kelly
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2012
Just when you think you've read everything there is to read about World War II along comes a true account that quite simply takes your breath away. Lise Kristensen was a small child in Indonesia when one by one her friends started to disappear. It wasn't long after Pearl Harbor, when the Japanese invaded Java and were slowly but surely rounding up all the Dutch, Norwegian, French and English residents who had settled to enjoy the idyllic lifestyle on the other side of the world in a pleasant tropical climate. Young Lise's father was the first to be taken and soon after the rest of the family were marched up the garden path at the point of a bayonet to be taken away on a truck and interned into the brutal regime of Japanese POW camps.
Nearly seventy years on Lise has painstakingly retold her horrific tale from the viewpoint of that small confused, terrified, hungry child.
Yes, quite rightly Lise has been compared to a Norwegian Anne Frank because the book captures perfectly the torment of a child made to suffer at the hands of adults and the decisions they make, inflicting so much pain and suffering on those who can do least about it. The book is heart-wrenching in its innocence, a personal triumph for the author who eventually has a little closure on memories that have surely invaded her dreams night after night right up to the present day. Lise it was a pleasure to work with you, your story is sensational.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
Grim reading but it is necessary to be aware of the conditions that women and children experienced as well as the obscene brutality of the Japanese in the Far East. The Javanese people were equally brutal towards the Dutch and other non-Asians as the camps were liberated....and there were instances when both British and Japanese troops joined forces to prevent a slaughter of the innocents. Such was the urgency of the need to safeguard the internees that many were transferred to Sri Lanka to await(in camps again)before finally reaching Europe One can well understand why Japanese car manufacturers were given the cold shoulder at war end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
i was in majorca when i saw this boolk, travelling up through the mountains i was such a beautiful day
we stopped at a lovely hotel for a coffee and this is where i spied the book, on reading the back of the book
i then down loaded it to my kindle
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
The rating is because it is so very well written and the story is unique. I like the way it is presentet from the eyes of a 9 year old.Should be recommended to schools for its educational value with information only very few have heard of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2012
Lise's story of her survival as a young girl for several years as an internee of the Japanese forces in Indonesia during WW2 is astounding. The reality strikes home along with the love for her family and the inhumanity of the Japanese forces. This was a book that I could not put down as the urge to turn the next page was overwhelming.
Thoroughly recommended as a compelling read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
This is a book that certainly opens it eyes of how bad thing really were, utterly breathtakingly beautiful and devastating at the same time xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
A really amazing story of the survival of a family in war time and the brutality of the Japanese army, Unbelievably cruel at times
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
IT WAS GRIPPING FROM START TO FINISH. THE FACT IS WRITTEN BY A REAL SURVIVOR GIVES IT THE BELIEVABILITY IT DESERVES
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)