Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 28 August 2013
I tried to keep reading this after the first few chapters but feel that a) the writing is clichéd and unengaging, and b) the characters are not believable. The main character's purity of thought and action, and desire to escape her circumstances, are flagged up so often, and so unsubtly, that the writer might as well stand by with a mallet beating the reader over the head at regular intervals so that the point is not lost. It's easy to be critical when I'm not a writer myself, but still I failed to engage with this novel and have, most unusually, given up in the attempt.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2017
Loved reading this!! I waited 10 years to visit Prague and came back desperate to read of the history and legends surrounding Prague. I couldn't put it down. I lived every page with Marketa. It was exactly how I imagined how brutal and beautiful these times must have been. I can't wait to read more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed this captivating read. A great mix of history brought to life with passion and intrigue. Would definitely recommend reading this!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2017
An atmospheric read,at times very uncomfortable. A very very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2014
Very interesting novel, a great read and made me want to find out more on the history of the time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2015
A good 'holiday' read- not too taxing, but keeps you turning the pages. The ending is not hard to guess, but still nice when you get there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2014
couldn't get into it................................................................................................................................................
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2013
Okay...This book passes the time. I have lost interest and not finished it yet. I may go back to it later
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2017
Different, well written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2014
I did not enjoy this book I did not think it was anything like my previous choices of reading from you, I will admit it is good to be taken from the usual reading areas, but I did not think this flowed or interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

I Am Livia
£2.99
Inamorata
£1.98

Need customer service? Click here