Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 10 August 2012
I'm a die-hard Tintin fan, from my early days and still am. Therefore, when they began translating the facsimile versions into English, my enthusiasm was reignited.
I bought the black-and-white versions of America and Cigars, and the French 1950 facsimile of Land of Black Gold. When I saw they had The Black Island in English, I went through pains to get it.
And how disappointed I was! There are hardly any differences as there are between the black-and-whites and the real books.
This is no fault of Herge, nor the translators, but of the publishers, since there were no translators! Each page, panel and frame is the same, only the art is older. Nothing is there that is absent in the new version, nothing is missing from the new version. And if that weren't bad enough, Egmont has gone out of their way to kill whatever minor differences there might be, because they didn't translate the facsimile edition, but merely took the text of the new version in English and applied it here. Thus differences that I had expected to see - which I read about in Michael Farr's Tintin: The Complete Companion (Adventures of Tintin), don't exist in the english fax! For example, when Tintin jumps onto a railway car which is "Loch Lomond" in the new version but is "Jonnie Walker" in the old: this fax uses "Loch Lomond!"
The reason I gave 2 stars and not 1 is because, perhaps if you can read French, and buy the french facsimile, you'll find the unknown Tintin that one hopes to find!
Otherwise, this volume is of no value, even to the utmost Tintin enthusiasts: they will find nothing of interest whatsoever in the English facsimile, only perhaps in the french.
55 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2017
A very poor scan of the book, not a real rendering onto Kindle. Don't buy it.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2010
It all starts off innocently enough, as it often does in a Tintin adventure, but before long, our young investigative journalist is embarking on a journey that takes him to the British Isles and ultimately to the mystic Black Island in Scotland. He has good reason to make the journey, having witnessed an unmarked plane landing in a nearby field while out for a walk and, by the end of page one Tintin is shot by the pilot as he goes to investigate. Recovering in hospital, he learns from Thompson and Thomson that the same plane has been reported crash-landing in Sussex, and Tintin accordingly sets out with Snowy to get to the bottom of the mystery.

Like many of Tintin's earliest adventures, the ones initially serialised in the Petit Vingtième in the late 1920s and 1930s, the story takes the form of a linear line, with a rolling series of events taking Tintin from one place to the next, getting involved in mishaps and picking up clues along the way. Reworked for colour album publication, the story in The Black Island still doesn't get any more complex than Tintin following a trail, being hampered by criminals trying to shake him off along the way - permanently if possible - with a bit more slapstick than usual (Tintin even knocking himself out by standing on a rake at one point). The pacing however is excellent, with twists and thrills on every page and lovely clear-line artwork that has a wonderful sense of openness and movement.

Like all of Hergé's Tintin work, the use of locations and the evocation of mood is superb. Although the book followed the usual route of publication for the early Tintin adventures, moving from a 128 page black-and-white strip to a redrawn and coloured 62-page book, Hergé went to the trouble of revising The Black Island again in 1965, prior to the book's first UK publication, sending an assistant to gather reference materials to ensure relevance and correct some basic errors in the previous editions. You could still criticise the sometimes clichéd olde-worlde mysticism and the fact that Tintin dons a kilt to better blend in with the locals, but the drawings in The Black Island are beautiful and they do capture an essence of Scotland in a manner that would fire the imagination of its young readers and still have resonance for some older Tintin fans.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2013
I love how TinTin has lasted over the years - I have fond memories of reading them in the school library on a rainy day. Of course the movie was a great 're-launch' in their popularity and when my 7yo son showed an interest after seeing the movie I bought a few books as part of his Christmas sack. He was hooked! I have since bought a couple more for birthday/easter/Christmas as a bit of a traditional 'treat' and he almost has the set. He has read many of them 3-4 times each and still loves them - as he has gotten older and his reading more advanced he has understood the story and the characters that much more each read.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2002
This is one of Tintin's best known adventures. The adventure begins in the South of England and carries on all across to an island off the North West coast of Scotland. The pictures are stunningly real and capture the greenery of England, the rocky cliffs of South Britain and a pretty fishing village in North of Scotland.
But this book is not just about scenaries the storyline is brilliant. One particular sequence where Tintin is about to be made to jump down at gunpoint from a high cliff is simply unforgettable. The encounter with Ranko is no less remarkable. The only bit that Tintin lovers might miss is the amazing Captain Haddock.
I am sure that readers of all ages will like to read this book over and over again.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2016
Being a fan of Tintin and Herge, I got this comic book having seen the cartoon version of the 'Black Island' on TV ages ago. There are some differences between the TV version and the comic that I got from Amazon. Personally I prefer the comic version reading the incredible adventure and mysteries that Tintin, the main character in the comic goes through, followed by his faithful dog Snowy. There are a few funny bits in this one that always make me laugh, which made me a fan of these comics. The best one for me had to be the clumsy antics of the 2 english detectives, Thomson and Thomson, which is featured in this particular book. I enjoy reading this comic book when I am out and about and relaxing at home. If you like Tintin or like stories of detectives and bumbling characters, then this is certainly a comic book that is worth buying.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2016
I was very disappointed that it was advertised as hard back and when it arrived it was soft back
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2010
The Black Island Tintin story exists in 3 forms. The original 1937 black and white newspaper serial , this 1943 colour album version, and the 1966 redraw that was produced at the insistence of the publishers of the English editions, as they felt the portrayal of Britain was inaccurate and out of date. The 1966 version is the one that will be familiar to most Tintin fans.

This 1943 version of the story works much better. It is very much of it's era, borrowing from Hitchcock's version of the 39 steps and contemporary newspaper stories of forgers. It has more slapstick in it and less sophistication than the later stories.

The 1966 version is a bit clumsy by comparison, marrying a 30's Ripping Yarn with the sophisticated artwork that Studios Herge were producing in the 60s.
It is a real treat to finally be able to look at both editions side by side, page by page.

The excellent book " Tintin-The Complete Companion by Michael Farr" covers all this in great detail as well as info on all the other books and is a must have for anyone who loves these books as much as I do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 September 2003
I do not really like the early Tintin adventures where there is a lot of slapstick and every other page our intrepid reporter hero is either holding a gun or having somebody hold a gun on him, or both. However, "The Black Island" is certainly the epitome of this type of Tintin adventure. Hergé really pours it on pretty much from start to finish in this adventure, which was originally serialized in 1937. This might be slapstick but it is nonstop slapstick from Tintin trying to stop the Thom(p)sons from arresting him to Snowy getting the better of a gorilla (but not a spider). Tintin might end up unconscious more often in this story than all of his other adventures combined. The beginning is simple enough. Tintin sees a plane land with engine trouble. Noticing it is an unregistered plane he offers to help and is immediately shot (do not worry, the bullet only grazes his ribs). Of course Tintin wants to get to the bottom of this mystery but it is hard to collect clues when people are trying to kill you and you have no clue why.
As you can tell from the cover illustration of "The Black Island" Tintin gets to wear a kilt, not to mention a bonnie bonnet as the titular piece of property happens to be in Scotland. This raises a big question for me: How do you do a Scottish accent in French (or Spanish or German or any other language into which the Adventures of Tintin have been translated)? Ye can nae tell me it be an easy bit of business tae do, laddie. This might not be the best Tintin adventure and there are certainly funnier sequences to be found down the road, but all things considered "The Black Island" has got to be the funniest of Hergé stories.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 March 2012
As a grown man I've just finished collecting all the Tintin titles I owned as a kid, plus a few I never had 'back in the day', and I have to say, that while I've changed lot, and that dreamlike state of childhood innocence is hard to recapture, the Tintin books, on the whole, help me get close. They remain enchanting.

Seeing Tintin in the UK is great for those of us here in the UK, and there are some beautiful pictures here that capture aspects of the British and Scottish life and landscape now largely lost, but still discernible here and there. Like Tintin in Tibet The Black Island features a lovable hairy gorilla type creature in a prominent role, allowing Hergé to play with our perceptions of nature vs. nurture, brutality, fear and tenderness. All of which typifies the breadth and depth of enjoyment one can still draw, even as an adult, from these 'picture books for kids'.

I loved them back in the day, and I love them now. Whether you're a child reading them for the first time, or an adult returning to them, they remain enchanting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse