Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
36
4.7 out of 5 stars
The Best Of
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 August 2017
A blues master in action. Full tilt blues happening here, is this man underestimated or what? Certainly is, not one of the names that roll off the tongue when you're talking of the known greats such as John Lee Hooker, Muddy Waters etc but, rest assured, this man is up there with the rest of them. Buy and enjoy the blues!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Harmonica playing at its best and this cd does capture the Best of Sonny Boy, very happy with the purchase and the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2008
The music on this compilation is magnificent, I didn't give it 5 stars only because it lacks the listing of musicians on each track (some of which are true blues legends themselves).
In this period he recorded with Otis Spann, Willie Dixon, Muddy Waters and others, so it would be nice to have the correct info on that.

Otherwise, this is classical stuff; both vocally and instrumentally...

BTW, if my ears don't decieve me, the performer of "Like Wolf" (track 18) is Howlin' Wolf , although the authorship of the song is attributed to Williamson.
11 Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Very good indeed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2017
Love this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 28 August 2015
'Down And Out Blues' by Sonny Boy Williamson II aka 'Rice' Miller(1912?- 65) on the distinctive red and yellow PYE R & B label was one of the first blues LPs I bought in the early 1960s.
This CD includes 8 tracks from that album plus a further 12 recorded for CHESS during the 1950s and early '60s.
These 20 vibrant blues tunes feature Sonny Boy's thrilling and expressive harmonica playing and imaginative lyrics along with stellar sidemen such as Muddy Waters, Jimmy Rogers, Robert Jr. Lockwood, Luther Tucker, Willie Dixon, Otis Spann, Lafayette Leake, Buddy Guy, Matt Murphy & Fred Below.
Highlights include 'Help Me', 'Your Funeral And My Trial', 'Fattening Frogs For Snakes' and 'Like Wolf' - Sonny Boy's impressive impersonation of Howlin' Wolf.
Sonny Boy Williamson II had a huge influence on many British blues/rock musicians in the 1960s and this well re-mastered CD is a superb introduction to his work.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 October 2014
When I started to learn blues harmonica in the 1960s Sonny Boy Williamson (II) was a frequent visitor to Britain and one of my early inspirations. Later, critics favoured the original Sonny Boy Williamson and also Little Walter but for me this Sonny Boy Williamson (Alec Miller) has a very original, individual harmonica sound and was also a really good songwriter. This very reasonably-priced CD features many of his best songs "Help me", "Don't start me talking", "Nine below zero" and "One way out" and although there are a few of my favourite songs of his that don't feature it would be churlish to be picky about the selection which offers a great introduction to this truly first division blues musician.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2010
This is good music. We are not all the same, thank goodness. I personally don't like jazz. And I have tried to like it over and over, I just don't get it. But blues I love it and here is some of the best. There are plenty more out there but this one rates among the top.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Down And Out Blues
£3.93
His Best
£14.87
Dirty House Blues
£4.42
Rock Bottom
£5.68

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)