Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
61
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 27 November 2006
Just what the world needs, another Neil Diamond Greatest Hits/Best Of package. Well actually we could do with one .Unfortunately it's not this one. Don't get me wrong there is nothing wrong with the music. Anyone familiar with Mr Diamond will already know and no doubt love the material on here but any compilation of his best moments that leaves off tracks like "Brooklyn Roads" , "Done Too Soon" , "Love On the Rocks" , "Forever In Blue Jeans " and "Beautiful Noise" to name five songs off the top of my head is seriously deficient .

Doing a bit of research it's actually difficult to find an album that encapsulates all the juicy stuff from the early Bang singles through his classic MCA/ Universal period to the more middle of the road but still very fine indeed Columbia output. There is a Greatest Hits CD covering from 1966-1992 but half the material on that is actually recorded live.

So for my money there is a definite gap to be filled , one that would truly represent all of the sumptuous music this under appreciated performer ( Catching footage of him in his pomp is quite a revelation ).A great singer, a gifted song writer Neil Diamond deserves better than the paucity of vision shown here. A box set maybe? And if it's a case of various record companies getting their mendacious heads together than someone get the cattle prods out and get them round a table.

Like I mentioned earlier the music here is terrific but a true best of ....nahhhh. Twenty one songs, and twenty one songs open to vigorous debate just doesn't do the man justice.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2006
If I could make one wish this Christmas it would be as follows: Uni / MCA (whatever you're called these days) and Sony / Columbia - please, please, please stop bringing out endless 'best of' and 'greatest hits of' Neil Diamond. These wretched compilations are absolutely useless for the simply reason that it's just not possible to squeeze the best of Neil Diamond onto a single CD. The 'best of' list is just too long. If either of these two record labels wanted to do something really useful they could remaster and reissue Neil Diamond's original albums. If you really want 'the best of' you need to get hold of the following CDs: I'm a Believer (a reissue of Classics: The Early Years, which contains most of the hits from the 'Bang' era); Play Me (a triple CD set containing all the Uni / MCA albums); Hot August Night (extended version with three additional tracks); Jonathan Livingston Seagull (film soundtrack); Serenade; Beautiful Noise and last, but very definitely not least, 12 Songs. Avoid all compilations like the plague and just go back to the original albums!
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
This is something of an oddity. 'The Best of Neil Diamond' offers 21 tracks conspicuously NOT featuring 'Forever in Blue Jeans', 'Beautiful Noise', 'Love on the Rocks' and the duet with Barbara Streisand 'You Don't Bring Me Flowers'. It's true to say that a man like Diamond, a consummate song-writer and an unmistakeable voice for more than 40 years, turns pretty much everything he touches to quality; but his interpretations of other people's songs eg The Hollies' 'He Ain't Heavy ...' are surely unnecessary additions to this album when so many of the man's own classics are missing from it. It's good and it's worth having but it is not the definitive 'Best Of ...' that the title boasts. Neil remains a diamond but this record is a silver medal at best.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
I love this CD The Best of Neil Diamond its my second one for the car, All the songs on Cd are favourites we love to here, In FACT MY MUM LOVED HIM SO MUCH I PLAYED THE SONG " HELLO AGAIN"AT HER FUNERAL SHE WOULD'VE LOVED THAT. Great value for money from zoverstocks. you'll never get bored of listening to this CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"The Best of Neil Diamond" is just that. The CD contains a collection of 21 of this singer songwriter's earlier works and is delightful. Neil has no specific genre which is what makes him such a great performer. The collections are a great mix of music and are never boring.
It should be noted that all the tracks on this CD are also on "Gold" so don't make my mistake and buy them both unless you are intending to treat a friend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
I love Neil Diamond's voice so really enjoy this CD.

I have played it frequently and am still enjoying it.

I would recommend it to Neil Diamond fans and those who haven't yet discovered him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
The Best Of Neil Diamond on Universal records is an excellent album of the earlier hits of Neil Diamond.However the "Ultimate Collection" 2CD Album contains practically all the hits that the singer had in the UK and in America and is highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2011
I was almost put off trying to get a Neil Diamond "Greatest Hits" type of collection. Other reviews by the purists seemed to say it was impossible due to the number of songs, changes in record labels etc.
I went ahead with this one anyway and am more than happy with it. It is easy listenibg music which gives me a good enough insight into the artist
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2010
A purchase for a die hard neil diamond fan who is a friend, and I must say I'm sick to death of hearing it, but nevertheless, I have never seen my friend happier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Fantastic album, one of my favourite artists for many years, its nice to have this perfectly sounding collection of songs on my mp3 player.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here