Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

  • Customer reviews



on 17 November 2015
Pros:
Old, traditional style fairy lights.
Full set of colours red, amber, purple, blue, green (not the cold red, blue and green you'll find in an competing LED set).
Low price, static (no transformer or multi-settings needed).
Currently Pound land is offering a 20 set of the same/compatible lights for £1, so you could buy that to keep and use as spare bulbs when these filament bulbs inevitably fail as looking around for replacement bulb sets can be an expensive hassle.

Cons:
High energy usage compared to LED variants
Indoor use only
On a loop so slightly difficult to wrap round a tree (not impossible though)
Filament bulbs don't last very long
Can get hot in use, so keep away from anything which might cause a problem
Short length of lead to plug

Summary:
This type of fairy light has been around for decades and still hasn't gone away in the face of energy-efficient but harsh looking LEDs. For a traditional looking Christmas, you can't really complain at these low-priced, simple lights. They'll add a touch of traditional class to your festive decorations.
To find a nice looking LED set, you'd need to be looking at 'pine cone' or 'shaded' luxury LED sets (still with a limited range of colours, usually just red, blue, green and amber) and they'll be in the £20-35 price range.

In case you're interested, LED lights appear cooler/more harsh because they operate in a much narrower spectrum than these traditional filament type bulbs and the blue LEDs are the strongest colour so appear more forward than the rest of the colours.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2016
Usual modern fairy lights with the added bonus of pink, not seen in sets since the late 80's. Pleasantly surprised.
review imagereview image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2015
Didn't work. One of the sockets was deformed so the light wouldn't fit and so couldn't complete the circuit. Returning. Good old poundland lights now on the tree, all working and much cheaper. Avoid these lights.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2015
I bought these hoping the colours would be the same as the lights that we had on the Christmas tree when I was a child, and they are. Beautiful colours - red, blue, green, amber and pink. They are a little more subdued than the modern LED lights, which I think makes them more friendly to the eyes. They look great around my window.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2016
I was waiting to put the lights up in a room that was being decorated and didn't realise until now that these aren't the lights that I was sent. They are a different make and are on a loop and only 5cm apart, not 12cm as stated in description. Nowhere near enough space between them and because of the loop, they just won't work in the space that I have, they fall way short. Very disappointed.l
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2017
For the price these were very bright and had the effects you'd expect from a set of Christmas lights. Small box made putting them back a little tricky, but really can't fault them when in use. I will replace another set of lights with these next Christmas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2014
Received these yesterday and put them on my tree. Some coloured lights are quite pale and not very colourful, but these lights are very vivid colours and very striking and make the tree look really pretty. The colours are red, blue, pink green and orange. I would highly recommend them. Will probably get another set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2016
These are fantastic! I've had them on semi-permanently on my wall for 3 months, only one bulb is gone! :) I usually leave them on overnight to give a soft glow to the room and they don't overheat at all. Honestly I'm just really pleased because the price seemed too good to be true, but they're a good length and work so much better than expected!
Do note though that the wire is circular, so you either have to double them up or work it out some other way :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2016
The lights are good, came quickly , apart from the fact they are a little dark, I no you can buy 1,s at christmas in shops , and they are far brighter, so i guess i will have to look elsewhere for some brighter 1,s
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2017
These lights don't get hot and they last a long time, they give off a nice warm light.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse