Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 August 2017
one of the best Beatle books I've read due simply to the fact that Igor was actually there himself. Couldn't put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
So interesting and informative. Enjoyed reading Ivor's story. Will read again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
Even if one reads only one of the 300 - or is it 5,000? - books on the Beatles, this has to be the one. The Beatles and Me On Tour by veteran Fleet Street show-business journo Ivor Davis is a superb page-turner.

Ostensibly produced to mark the 50th anniversary of the Beatles' iconic 1964 tour of America, this book is in fact far more than a gripping, first-hand account of that stunning and spectacular event.

As one of the few journalists to cover that tour from start to finish - always on the same hotel floor and in the same set of limos as the Fab Four - Ivor Davis conveys well the hysteria, the high jinks and Hollywood hospitality that greeted the Beatles' conquest of America.

There are also some acute character sketches not just of the individual Beatles but of manager Brian Epstein and the other principals involved in the band's meteoric progress across the Rock Firmament.

There are some delicious anecdotes - most of them completely unknown to a non-rock obsessive like myself.

This book is fabulously readable and deserves to do very well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book was written by Ivor Davis, who accompanied the Beatles on their 1964 tour of the States, as well as being involved with them at other points of their careers – both Beatles and solo. However, the bulk of this memoir does involve the 1964 US tour, which followed the band’s three appearances on the Ed Sullivan Show and the advent of Beatlemania, six months earlier. In 1964, Ivor Davis was twenty six and was the West Coast correspondent for the Daily Express.

During the Beatles first US tour, Ivor Davis became part of the band’s entourage; invited to travel with them everywhere, as well as ghost-writing a column for George Harrison. There are many, many books about the Beatles, of course, but it is interesting to read one from someone who was there throughout that early US tour, before things became too wearisome and success in America was exciting. However, you can sense, even this early, that cracks were starting to appear and that the endless, relentless, touring was telling on the band. Brian Epstein’s caving in to a huge financial offer to have the Beatles appear in Kansas may have been financially worthwhile, and accepted without argument by the band, but in retrospect you can feel how tired they were of performing when they could not be heard and, perhaps more importantly, were often trapped throughout the duration of a tour.

So, what do we learn from this book? Not much perhaps. Ringo didn’t have much to say for himself, George was often grumpy, Paul slept with every woman he crossed paths with and John cheated at monopoly and often upset those around him with caustic, unpleasant remarks. Nothing, really, that fans have not read before. There is some information on meeting Dylan and Elvis, but, again, this has been covered. Still, this is an interesting memoir and I particularly liked reading about others in the entourage – Brian Epstein, of course, Neil and Mal and also Derek Taylor. A worthwhile read, but nothing that I had not read elsewhere. Rated 3.5.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
Given that the main selling point of this book is that the author was actually present for the tour which supposedly 'broke the Beatles' in America, this effort was on the whole uninspiring and disjointed. No worthwhile insights of the Beatles 'behind closed doors', nor of their true behaviour behind their carefully cultivated clean-cut image were offered, besides a few whimsical and clichéd anecdotes of John's acerbic witticisms to reporters, Paul's natural PR 'charm', George's surly distatste of Beatlemania, and Ringo's amiable indifference. Nothing we didn't already know.

Similarly the accounts of the legendary meetings between The Fab Four and their musical idols Elvis and Dylan, are far too vague to be of any real significance or relevance, offering little other than a 'playlist' of songs the Beatles jammed with Elvis at their 1965 meeting, and smoking weed with Dylan in '64. Not worth reading through 300 pages for.

The lack of substance and scant information the author has to justify a book of even this meagre depth he audaciously and vainly attempts to remedy by adding completely non-relevant chapters about the artwork of The Sgt. Pepper Album, and a clumsy effort to add closure to a thread going nowhere after 200 pages, throwing in four extra chapters about his reunions with each of the Beatles at various points after their breakup. Suffice it to say that these chapters contain the most tenuous retrospective of the Beatles' association with the author during the 1964 tour, revealed by either the scant memory or vaguest of comments from each of the Fab Four about that time, shrouded by a sparse resumé of the intervening years, again nothing of which we haven't heard before.

Just another author with a loose and fleeting association to The Beatles cashing in on a tenuous personal connection and a rehash of everyone else's.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
Whilst not a fan of the Beatles I've always had a fascination with the 50's/60's and the whole rock n roll thing which saw young girls literally throwing themselves at their musical heroes, these very heroes trashing hotel rooms - though (and I hope I'm not giving too much away here) for the record the worst thing Ivor Davis records is them 'ritualistically' urinating on a pile of used hotel towels and even this only after hearing rumours of one enterprising hotel employee helping himself to their sheets in order to sell them as souvenirs.

Very much a 'fly on the wall' account. The Beatles And Me On Tour recounts events of the twenty-four-city/thirty-four days 1964 tour which saw Beatlemania reach the US in a very much unembellished (dare I say almost clinical?) way - the sharp, 'straight to the point' sentences perhaps a sign of Davis' background as a journalist. A style you were either going to like or not. Alas whilst effective I'm afraid it just wasn't a style I particularly enjoyed.

A 'warts and all' account. Whilst some of what the author chronicles is common knowledge (yes, even to someone who isn't a fan) much of it was new to me and I must say came as a bit of a surprise, the Fab Four not being anywhere near as clean-cut as I had always thought them to be. However for me it wasn't so much the insight into Paul, Ringo, John and George, their meetings with celebs such as Elvis and Cassius Clay, that I found so compelling and poignant as the man behind the legend, their then manager, Brian Epstein.

Interesting not only for fans of The Beatles but I believe as a piece of 'pop history'.

Copyright: Tracy Terry @ Pen and Paper.
Disclaimer: Reviewed on behalf of a publicity company, no financial compensation was asked for nor given.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
A rollicking first-person account of being present with the "sweaty stallion" of a band around whom hysterical girls, the "flies", swarmed in 1964. Fifty years on, it is still astonishing to read about how four Englishmen were taken into American celebrity, and the author uses his closeness to the band to illuminate their own astonishment. Not just another book about the Beatles, but also a celebration of journalism as it used to be.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
A really terrific read penned by an excellent writer whose coverage of the Beatles whilst accompanying them on their first major tour in the USA gives the reader a unique insight not only into the four very different Beatle characters but also a real flavour of the swinging Sixties. Brilliant !!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
Just finished reading this fascinating insight to The Beatles' time on tour in America, when Davis had access to the public and private moments of the Fab Four and their encounters with fans and celebrities including Bob Dylan and Elvis Presley. Brilliant ... a must-read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2017
This title was published to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Beatles 1964 tour of North America. In 1964 I was a young Beatles fan so was delighted to be given the opportunity to read and review this account by Ivor Davis of his experiences whilst on tour with them. As he was with them the entire time during the tour, which was over a month, so he became quite close to them. The tales he tells and the many photos that are included give us another insight into The Beatles. This was a very special era in musical history and I urge all fans of any age to pick up this book as it is well written and interesting either to dip into or read from cover cover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)