Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
28
4.8 out of 5 stars
The Batman Superman Movie [VHS]
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£7.99+ £2.80 shipping


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 April 2016
This is a great animated film, depicting the first meeting between Batman and Superman. In its own way, this is superior to the live-action 'Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice' (2016) movie. This film consists of several episodes - blended together - from the 'Batman: The Animated Series' (season 4) and 'Superman: The Animated Series' (season 3) shows. Both of these shows are amazing.

The plot: the Joker is down on his luck in Gotham City, so he and Harley Quinn break in to an antique's shop and steal an odd looking ornament ... Batman arrives shortly after, and finds a shard of the stolen object. He tests it, and realises it's Kryptonite. Meanwhile the Joker meets up with Lex Luthor, and offers his services - in exchange for big bucks - to kill Superman.

Batman goes to Metropolis, looking for the Joker. In his effort to gain information, Batman beats up various thugs ... and this gets Superman's attention. It's now that the two heroes meet (I won't spoil the surprise).

Anyway, the Joker uses the Kryptonite on Superman ... Batman has to save him. Then the two heroes team up to stop Luthor and the Joker.

It's a lot of fun! Great animation, wonderful voice acting, and a fantastic musical score. This came out in the late 1990's, and I bought it on DVD in 2006. I've watched it several times.

If you own the 3rd season of S:TAS (or intend to buy it) then don't purchase this film, as it's included in the series. Otherwise, I fully recommend this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2017
Big success, my grandson' thinks its the best dvd ever !!. Sarah. Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
Got this for my son birthday present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2017
Great film came extremly quick aswell ☆☆☆☆☆
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2017
A fun film. Worth watching if you are a fan of Batman: the animated series, it has the same voice actors and animation style as season 4. Arrived on time and good quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2017
Better than BVsS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
It's better than the live action one and that's for sure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2010
I bought this for my son, a JLA fan, and was pleasantly surprised at how good this is. Decent story, amusing and great voice actors! Worth buying for any "young" fans!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2011
I've given this DVD a high score because of its association with several old comic books published well over twenty years ago.

Older comic book fans will know that this particular story, based on a two issue prestige format mini-series written by Dave (Watchmen artist) Gibbons and Steve "The Dude" Rude, most well known for Nexus, a First/Dark Horse comic book series co-created with writer Mike Baron, also owes a debt to the works of Frank (Sin City/300)Miller, whose magnum opus, the legendary graphic novel, The Dark Knight Returns, featured a Dark Knight Detective unusually antagonistic to the Man of Steel and it's this dynamic that is represented here in the conflict between Bruce Wayne and Superman as he find himself in Metropolis, working in tandem with the Kryptonite Kid's ultimate enemy, Lex Luthor...

What impressed me about this (and almost 99.99% of the Warner Brothers animated super hero fare) story is the ocassional and much appreciated moments of interpersonal conflict between heroes and villains or here, hero and hero. In using the words 'adult' and 'mature', I don't mean to imply that there is nudity or bad language in any such scenes, rather that the writers are clever enough and respectful enough of their viewers to not write down to their audience and are able to treat them with intelligence, hence dialogue between the Joker and Lex Luthor along the lines of, "There'e nothing MERE about that mortal, I can assure you!" or writing dramatic visuals into certain situations to highlight the two heroes different approaches to investigating the same case:

For example, Batman tossing Superman over his shoulder using Judo for interrupting his interogation of a suspect or Batman surreptitiously working out who Superman is in real life, something that takes Clark Kent by surprise, when Batman calls him Kent in his Superman identity and so on. If I was nine or ten years old, I'd be highly impressed by this and I think, so you will you too, as will any offspring or nieces and nephews, etc. I've noticed that this DVD is not easy to come by here in Blighty (Great Britain) therefore, ordering it from here on Amazon is your best bet.

Excellent work by producer Bruce Timm and co., once more. Highly recommended!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2008
Getting on a bit now but still a great film. The interaction between Superman and Batman is fantastic although Superman comes off as a bit of a... which is OK as I am more a Batman fan.
Joker is great but I've never thought much of Lex Luthor but this film does show why he might be dangerous.
The story is straightforward. Batman follows a lead on the Joker to Metropolis where Bruce Wayne meets Lois Lane which upsets Clark Kent and Batman roughs up the local criminal faternity which upsets Superman. In fact, once they come to an 'understanding' the film gets a bit more formulaic but by then I was too gripped to care.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here