Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now



on 11 November 2008
Richard Hill is possibly the best England rugby player ever, (Jonno might also make a claim for the title), yet he got on 'with the job' without fuss or seeking glory and as a result little is written about him and this is what makes this book so good.

It is a rare insight into a very private but fiercly competitive man, who saw the extreme highs of winning the RWC to a succession of crippling injuries, only to return again and again and show his understated value for both England and Sarries.

Easily the best autobiography I have read...worth every penny!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2011
If you're interested in rugby and English rugby in particular it's a thoroughly ok read. I read it over the weekend and by today (Tuesday) I'm struggling to remember anything about it other than Martin Johnson's a good captain, Jonny Wilkinson is a bit OCD and is a friend, Richard Hill had injuries at the end of his career, is known as moaner and isn't very outgoing.

No amusing or interesting anecdotes to tell people about.

An excellent player, apparently a nice bloke and very discreet - the ingredients for an average sporting "autobiography".

I found Brian Moore's 2010 autobiography much more interesting, insightful and, obviously, opinionated...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2009
I have read many many rugby player autobiography's, and i can count the ones where you feel you know the player a little better on one hand and this is one of them. Honest, funny and if you want to find out the differance between amateur and professional rugby this is a must buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
Bearing in mind Richard Hill is fairly reserved from what people say, I thought his book would fail to keep me entertained. In all honestly, when I start reading it before bed, I struggle to put it down. Many thanks Mr Hill for telling your story magnificently
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
Ok this was a used book so I didn't expect mint condition but it was advertised as good condition and not as received, with worn spine and pages and a written dedication on the inside sleeve
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
Excellent book from a true rugby legend. Like his playing days, the book has no frills just an open and honest account of an amazing rugby career. I would recommend to all rugby lovers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2011
Great book, great rugby player. Shame about his injuries. We could certainly do with him now, even on the sidelines coaching etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2016
pages started to fall out as i was readingit
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2008
Great insight into the life and times of a truly remarkable rugby player. If you are in any way interested in rugby treat yourself to this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2008
Unlike the man this book is quite under stated1 Its a great read, giving you an insight into the quite man of the World Cup winning team. Hill talks you through the highs and the lows and gives a good insight to his close friendship with Jonny Wilkinson. A good read for all true rugby fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)