Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 10 December 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2017
Good if you are working with children and young people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2017
Think it will take more then one reading to fully appreciate this book but still enjoyed it and found it useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2017
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2004
This is an enlightening book and a joy to read. In a world where much that passes for self-help seems to be delivered by megaphone and involve plentiful sprinklings of exclamation marks it's wonderful to read such gentle but purposeful prose. I'm not much of a fan of classical music myself but the use of the orchestra as a metaphor for the complexities of human relationships is original, engaging and totally appropriate in ways I could never have imagined. It certainly struck a very clear chord with me. The style is direct and fresh with plenty of captivating stories and vignettes to illustrate key points. The simple rules like 'Giving an A', 'Leading from any Chair', and 'Being the board' make such complete sense in Ros and Ben's hands.
If you are interested in NLP (Neuro Linguistic Programming) you'll get a lot out of this book. It pulls off the trick of writing a handbook that illustrates many of the central NLP principles and beliefs of excellence without using any of the scary jargon or even mentioning 'NLP'. Just loads of common sense without a hint of evangelism.
I don't usually write in books but I found myself reading it with highlighter firmly gripped in hand. I just know I'll be revisiting this one.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2001
'. . . The objective of this book is to provide . . . the means to lift off from . . . struggle and sail into a vast universe of possibility.'
Benjamin Zander is the conductor of The Boston Philharmonic and is well known for his orchestra's passionate performances. Rosamund Stone Zander is an executive coach, family therapist, and private practitioner who brings enormous psychological perspective to enhancing human behavior. They have written a fascinating book in which they alternate as voices in sharing principles and examples in the form of compelling stories.
They have striven to make what they share ' . . . simple, not easy.' The idea is to help you create in yourself and in others 'transformational' improvements.
They share a series of perspectives designed to improve your understanding of what and where the potential is.
First, humans tend to focus on very few things, missing most of what is going on around them. By shifting focus, you will see many opportunities for the first time. Much of this book is designed to do that for you. You will visit our old friend the nine dot square and be reminded that connecting all of the dots in four lines without lifting your writing instrument from the paper requires you to go outside the box that we mentally draw at the circumference of the dots. Be careful about your assumptions! They can fence you in!
Second, measurements can cause us to focus too narrowly on where we are today and encourage scarcity thinking -- the glass is half empty. The Zanders encourage thinking about the glass as half full, citing the well-known perspective of optimism as being empowering. This can help you 'step into a university of possibility.' I like to call this pursuing the ideal practice.
Third, if you assume that people will do well and help them see how they can, they will. Mr. Zander gives every student an A in his class, and simply requests that the student write a paper to tell what they will do to deserve the A. This gets the students focused on excellence, and takes away the tension that harms accomplishment.
Fourth, as a mindset, think of your role as 'being a contributor.' 'You are a gift to others.' How could that change what you do? As someone who thinks that way now, I find it a very useful perspective, and was glad to see it in the book.
Fifth, lead from any chair. This is a reference to involving everyone. Mr. Zander asks his players to write down how he could improve practices and peformances, and pays attention to the suggestions.
Sixth, follow rule number six. That rule is to 'lighten up.'
Seventh, be present to the ways things are. Many of us are disconnected from reality. By re-touching it, we can see more possiblities.
Eighth, give way to passion. Going with your strong feelings allows you to be more authentic, and to go to new heights of accomplishment.
Ninth, light a spark. See you role as creating a spark of possibility to be lit that others can see.
Tenth, be the board of the game you are playing. This makes it easier to see how you can make a difference.
Eleventh, create a vision that generates 'frameworks of possibility' for others. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s famous 'I Have a Dream' speech is cited.
Twelfth, tell the WE story. Focus on being inclusive and considering what is best for all. Move from I to We, as the Coda to the book encourages.
Each section has exercises you can use to deepen your understanding of the principles and to help you practice, in order to create greater skill.
The principles are similar to those in many other books about improving performance and creativity. What is different about the book are the unique ways that the principles are expressed, the exciting examples in beautiful stories from music and business that will be new to you (as they were to me), and the passion with which the Zanders write. I would love to hear them do this book on an audio cassette! Both do public speaking, so you may get a chance to hear them.
Can we ever get too many great inspirational stories and reminders to live up to our potential rather than our pasts? I don't think so. This book will reignite your passion for making a larger and more positive difference. It will make you more human as you do so.
After you have finished the book, consider where your passion, gifts, and influence can combine to all you to most effectively live these principles. Consider that as a calling for at least some of your leisure time. If you are lucky, you can find some way to make that a primary calling for your working hours, as well. But find that place, and spend as much time as you can there!
11 Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2014
The Art of Possibility is a life changing book. The authors challenge traditional thinking and offer radical alternative ways of approaching your personal and professional life. It isn't an easy read and you can expect to review the chapters many times before you fully appreciate their meaning and application.

Ben Zander's background is in music and many of the scenarios in the book have a musical context. The message is always applicable to any situation though.

An open mind is essential if you are to consider where the ideas might take you. It has taken me two months to read it once because I wanted to appreciate each of the practices before moving on. In my case it couldn't be rushed. I'm about to begin reading it again and I expect to find different perspectives.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 April 2006
This book has a super sense of energy throughout and the ideas communicated within are truely fantastic. The Art of Possibility can be as uplifting as you would like it to be, and you can take as much from the title as you feel appropriate.
The best way to explain this title is that each chapter communicates an idea. Each idea is a new way of opening up possibility within your life. The book starts off with stripping away what is invented in your life and truely helps to realise that most of the material things around us are invented. The other ideas in the book follow on to describe plenty of ways to enhance and increase possibility from everyday situations.
The authors describe many of the ideas through examples of their experiences with the method. In fact, some of the examples within the book are the actual reason why they realised the idea in the first place.
The Art of Possibility is a great title for helping to realise how possibility can open up new chapters and be used as an approach to any situation in a positive light and in the hope to get more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2007
There is no change without leadership at all levels. This book is a good introduction into the principles of transformational leadership. Creating Possibilities for others such that they are touched moved and inspired. The leadership theory is based on leading oneself not others and focuses on who you are being not what you are doing. This is not a book about manipulative Machiavellian techniques rather it's about creating free choice for others where they are inspired by the possibility you have created.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)