Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
12
The Art of Neil Gaiman
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£25.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 15 November 2014
Superb, in depth study of the greatest living fantasy author. Its all here, from Black Orchid and Signal to Noise right up to Sandman Overture. I have followed
Gaiman from the very beginning, including his Duran Duran biography! Yet I still found out things I didn't know, including his early days writing for soft porn magazines. It' s a thorough and engaging read, and I can recommend it unreservedly.
Its also very well written by Hayley Campbell, daughter of comics genius Eddie Campbell,who I'd also recommend unreservedly. Her relationship with Gaiman through her father gives her unprecedented access to Gaiman, but I have to say, this book will thrive on its quality and merit. If you have any interest in Gaiman at all( and you should!)this is an essential purchase.Hayley Campbell is a writer to watch- her prose is lucid, coherent and passionate. I look forward to her next project with interest.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2015
I'm a big fan of Sandman and a few other Gaiman titles. I like him and find him interesting. But unlerss you are a Gaiman OMFG MEGAFAN AAARGH you don't really need this book.

It's an attractive coffee table book that's nice to dip into but too regularly arse-licking to read solidly... just my opinion.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2015
Beautiful book well illustrated fans of Neil Gaiman will love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2016
Beautifully done. If you love Neil Gaiman you need to see this book. You'll love him even more. It's great to watch work of is imagination in progress.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2015
If you are interested in Mr Gaiman. Buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2014
This is a sumptuous book, gorgeously put together and illustrated and containing lots of previously unseen photos, scribbles and sketches by Neil (nice to see his handwriting is even worse than mine!).There's lots of information about things that happened that made him well-known (and made him pots of money), things that happened that sank with out trace due to one reason or another, things that never happened (usually because of Hollywood) and things that may happen one day in the future if we're all really lucky. He seems to have interviewed/ met/ collaborated with/ become friends with just about everybody I've ever really admired and he's worked his storytelling magic for the Henson company, Marvel, Studio Ghibli, Doctor Who and many others . He's a man who always seemed to have been in about three places at once but this book is an attempt to pin him down in one place and organise his life and works into handy chapters. It'll sit pride of place on your shelf beside your dog-eared copies of Neverwhere and Good Omens and it'll make you want to go back and re-read everything all over again.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2014
Excellent book, brilliantly illustrated and fantastically well researched and written. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2017
It is very inspiring to see the thought process that goes into creating works of fiction of any kind. Especially when it is Neil Gaiman himself, who has dabbled in every form of writing there is. He's done graphic novels, films, TV series, novels, children's books, middle-grade books, novellas and everything in between. I've always been a huge Neil Gaiman fan, and I honestly can't remember when or how it started, but I do know it began with his novels - American Gods, Neverwhere - the classics. Later, I started reading books targeted at younger readers, like Coraline and The Graveyard Book, and I found that I really enjoyed those as well. Then I started reading his illustrated books like A Cave in the Black Mountain and The Sleeper and the Spindle, then his children's books like Crazy Hair and Blueberry Girl, and finally...I picked up his famous graphic novels - The Sandman series.

There were things I felt 'meh' about, but the good always outweighed the bad, and soon, my bookshelf was filled with Gaiman's works. Reading this book was enlightening, because I realized that on top of all this stuff, there was a ton more stuff that Neil Gaiman worked on that I was familiar with, but had no idea he was involved in! Things like films and TV series to be specific.

He's a very talented person, very gifted writer, with a mind that baffles. The characters he produces, the stories he comes up with - his muses and inspirations are all revealed in this biography. I really enjoyed reading about him and his work, and it only made me respect him more as a writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2015
Lovely book, my husband adores it. Thanks x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2015
Never arrived. Bad customer service. Awful.

DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)