Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
65
4.9 out of 5 stars
The Art of The Last of Us
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£13.29


on 13 June 2017
Great book. I love the art. It's great to flick through for a fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
Amazing book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
It's exactly what I was expecting it to be, great piece about the designs of the game and great quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
Love, Love, Love this book. So detailed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
Fantastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
The artwork is amazing. 10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 22 October 2014
The Art of Last of Us is a wonderful art book to Naughty Dog's latest game. I also have the Uncharted 2 art book and I love that book. I love this one too.

This book is packed with character designs and environment art. The concept art is top notch.

All the characters and infected are drawn out in detail and colour. There are various designs for each character. Lots to see. The infected, if you have not played the game, are not traditional zombies. They have been infected by some deadly fungus that grows and consumes the human body. You get to see some interesting and scary designs that you would not get from typical zombies.

The environment art are painted with astonishing amount of detail that makes everything seem so real. There are the devastated towns, rundown buildings, deserted streets and ransacked rooms. Most scenes depicted will make you wonder what the hell happened there. The level of realism you see here is unmatched even by big budget movie sets.

Spoilers appear in the book either as text or pictures. So definitely play the game first before going through the book. Other than that, there's not much text except the occasional comments on the art and game.

This is a fantastic video game art book. Highly recommended.

Oh, play the game first if you can.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
The title says it all really, the character artwork and the scenery is absolutely stunning. Its brilliant to see how the characters were developed into their final guises for the game itself. Loads of pictures of the whole cast including the various stages of the infection. Inspiring stuff and a perfect addition to what I think will be the game of the year.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
There can be no denying the intricate, delicate and amazingly crafted world The Last Of Us created. It is one of the most powerful concepts in gaming to this date, and for that reason alone I was almost compelled to purchase this book, and it can straightforwardly say that this only extends the love I have for the Art & Design team at Naughty Dog.

Firstly, the contents are as follows:

Large matte-style hardback book with an Introduction by Neil Druckmann and Bruce Straley, then chapters consisting of:

- Joel And Ellie
- The Journey
- The Infected
- The World
- Marketing
- American Dreams

Each chapter showcases some form of design evolution for either characters or environments, from the first ideas to, for example, different looks and outfits for the finalised characters which you are familiar with, all set out as a pure showcase of art, with minimal annotation. For those who are familiar with these kinds of art books, this is pretty expected and normal stuff.

However, what really sets this book apart from others, and what makes it one of the very best in my opinion, is the standard of art and design shown. All art books are impressive, but there is something really quite fascinating and special about the content in this one. Some of the design concepts and mood drawings are some of the very best that I've ever seen for, well, anything really. They are so evocative and moving i'm not surprised that the final game has such a well pulled off vision, as it would be hard not to be inspired.

Really, it is hard for me to emphasise that enough - Although the character design sections, though interesting, are not exactly something to write home about, they are placed between amazing, powerfully evocative and very talented pieces of art and design conceptualisations. the vast majority of which are some of the best I've ever come across.

Certainly, I'd be hard pressed to mention another art book that is as emotionally drawing as this one. It is very involving, incredibly powerful and endlessly impressive in its scope and talent.

Beautiful, evocative art & design from a beautiful, evocative game.
I would recommend to all fans of the game with no hesitation at all. Again, it one of the finest art books (in terms of the quality of content) that there is.

(And just a small point to note, for those who haven't yet completed the game, this will contain spoilers)
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2016
Wonderful package, very fast delivery. It just arrived and the art book is great!
Excellent quality and as a fan of The Last of Us I'm full of joy for this fan service.
review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)