Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
60
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£16.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2009
Wonderful to have a record of these excellent BBC productions of some of Trollope's best work. Donald Pleasance is outstanding as the Warden and contrasts beautifully with his worldly son-in-law, played by Nigel Hawthorne. Geraldine McEwan's Mrs Proudie is a tour de force and Alan Rickman plays the hateful Obadiah Slope (the role which launched his career). Fascinating to see David Tennant shine in a small but telling role as a vacillating clergyman in 'He Knew He Was Right'. The third drama, 'The Way We Live Now' provides a Victorian parallel with our own times. Costumes and settings are all beautiful and the quality of production very high.
0Comment| 93 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2009
Barchester Towers was, of course, a superb production, but for little more money this now comes with 'He Knew he was Right' and the superb 'The way we live Now'with the great David Suchet leading a wonderful team of actors. How little seems to have changed since Trollope was alive! Don't miss this. At Amazon's price, a bargain.
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2009
This entire Trollope DVD set is a winner, but The Way We Live Now is absolutely phenomenal and ranks among the finest of such screen adaptations that I've ever seen in my life. Furthermore, if you thought that David Suchet was a great actor, wait till you see him as Melmotte, a Robert Maxwell of the 19th century. Suchet's performance is stupendous and anticipates his masterful handling of the role of Robert Maxwell in the TV film 'Maxwell' which I'm also desperate to get on DVD. If you value the BBC's tradition of impeccable production standards in period adaptations of novels as much as I do and enjoy a good thriller to boot, then buy this set at the excellent Amazon price!
0Comment| 95 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
This is almost too good to review. You will be so entertained by the richness of characters and aptness of historical social scene that you will forget that it's fiction. Buy it. Trollope's work is a worthy rival to anything that Dickens gave us, yet he remains largely undiscovered and a treat awaiting all who love drama set within the second half of England's 19th century. An absolutely splendid collection from the BBC that offers us the opportunity to appreciate several famous actors and actresses nearer the beginning of their greatness.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
Wonderful, loved every minute, good picture, subtitles which I need, no problem. Excellent value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2010
If you enjoy an absorbing TV drama, beautifully produced with top actors, then this is the set for you! This collection contains 3 dramas produced by the BBC and each one is an absolute joy to watch. David Suchet in " The Way we live Now" is a tour-de-force and brings this love him-hate him character of Mr Melmotte to life so vividly that even though he is a monster you can't help having a sneaking sympathy for him. "The Barchester Chronicles" introduces the incomparable Alan Rickman in a very early role and his on-screen battles with Geraldine McEwan are wonderful. Finally, in "He Knew he was Right" you have a chance to watch a lesser known novel that was Trollope's favourite. This is a heart-breaker of a plot when your sympathies will swing from the husband to the wife throughout the story. All together, this is one of the best value DVD box sets I have ever bought and I can't recommend it highly enough.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2009
Three great novels for anyoone who enjoys English Literature. The one I enjoyed most is "The way we live now" because it shows that in two centuries the human condition has not varied at all and the matters of speculation and corruption that affect our society these days were the same in Anthony Trollope's times. I think that the actors in all the novels make a very good performance and the scene settings are very good.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
This series is excellent from start to finish. The stories by Trollope are interesting and stimulating. The actors are all first rate, though I would say that Donald Pleasence is outstanding. Best of all, to hear the English language spoken in a completely intelligible manner is a pure pleasure.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2011
Three Trollope classics with well-known British character actors, produced by the BBC to a very hight standard. The boxed set is worth the money just for the excellent Barchester Chronicles DVD. Several good night's of entertainment here without a single car chase or gunfight!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)