Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 December 2013
It has to be said that this book is an easy read. However it's all just the authors opinions. It's very repetitive and bits seem like angry rants. It's seems if the opinion of another author or historian differs from the author it must be wrong.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
"The Real Truth....." but only as the author sees it; and that does not make her opinion a factual account of Anne Boleyn's life and times. As the author says, often, we may never know etc etc.

The book is quite simply a collection of blogposts from her website, and quotes from other, more academic, reasoning books by, e.g. Eric Ives and Alison Weir.

One more thing. An awful lot of print is dedicated to tearing apart a work of historical fiction, The Other Boleyn Girl" by Phillipa Gregory. That there are questionable actions in the story is well known...but surely to spend forever repeating "it's not so" followed by "!!!!!!!!" lends "The Real Truth" an air of footstamping tirade.

I obtained this book through Kindle for free. Had I paid £8 for it, I, too, would have had a footstamping tirade-but not about Phillipa Gregory!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
Absolute rubbish. The person who wrote this (she does not deserve the title 'author') should not be proud, as she has clearly done little research herself. I was anticipating some new information regarding this subject but found a badly written collection of very short articles, some of which pick apart the works of others. I find this both unnacceptable and unnecessary. A huge disappointment.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
Like most people,I would like to know what really happened ........... this book spends more time castigating other authors than in telling it like it was!
It is repetitive , repetitive, repetitive with no genuine structure until it comes to the resume of other people involved in her story.
One keeps reading in hope of getting really new information. None is forthcoming in my view.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
I feel too much time is taken up denigrating another author, who, actually does have a phd so, is not an enthusiastic amauter, which I feel possibly Miss Ridgeway is. Nevertheless, this does not detract from her research and obvious passion for the subject, however, I certainly would not use her work as a reference in an academic essay. People who use the writers of historical fiction as a basis for historical fact are just lazy and do not understand their subject. Whilst a lot of historical fiction has its roots in historical fact, sources should always be checked.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
This book is like all the other books about Anne Boleyn, filled with facts from many sources trying to piece together the life of a woman who has been dragged through history. I would have enjoyed the book and its views, that Anne was not the evil woman we have been made to believe but actually a victim of her surroundings had it not felt like the author was attacking the works of Phillipa Gregoryand other authors who viewed Anne unfavourably.
All historical novels are fact mixed with the own authors interpretation ,they would not sell many books if they simply said we don't know what happened. The books are based on research and the author had to decide whether to follow the evidence (of which there is plenty) that Anne was not a good person or, to follow the evidence (of which there is also plenty) that she was a victim.
Attacking an author and blameing the books for making everyone view Anne Boleyn as awful woman is just ridiculous and ruined any credibility it had.
The views put forward in this book are very interesting and shows a side that is not often shown of who Anne Boleyn might have been. However if you enjoyed " the other Boleyn girl" don't bother with this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
I don't normally leave feedback but having read the book I am amazed how this can be called "the real truth". It reads like a teenagers essay on a beloved pop star. Everyone who dares to criticize Anne is wrong. To constantly refer to The Tudors and the writings of Phillips Gregory is ridiculous-they are works of fiction. Yes my history teacher also told me to write essays using facts to prove any theory no matter how ridiculous but I wouldn't' call them the "the real truth". If you want facts to read buy a book by a real historian.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2012
I really enjoyed reading the facts as seen through the eyes of many renowned historians as well as allowing the reader to make up their own mind about various perceptions of historical novelists. Claire has obviously spent many many hours on her own research and presents the facts without insistence that she is right. I like being treated as an intelligent person able to assimilate information to enable me to make up my own mind about the real truth. Hooray for authors like Claire who make history a subject to be enjoyed. Thank you
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Very amateurish book. I was disappointed as a lot of it is speculations,rubbishing other published writers and historians. It feels like a student wrote it as an essay, with very simple argumentative points.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
This book has lots of !!!!! these!!!!
Claire Ridgway spends a lot of time slatting other authors such as Phillipa Gregory in an unkind and offensive manor.
She tries to give the impression that she knows so much about the Tudors, yet a lot of her research is based on other people's work.
She is biased towards Anne Boleyn and therefore this affects her writing and stops her being objective.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)