Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Playlist - Acoustic Christmas Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 4 August 2017
Excellent product and service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2017
Superb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2017
Best animation book ever. It covers only traditional animation, as it have some years now, but it does it like no other. Hands down the best book on the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2017
Bought as a gift and I haven't heard any complaints.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 January 2003
As a keen hobbyist looking to turn pro I thought it about time I started learning from the best, and one of my first stops was this highly recommended manual of esoteric knowledge; ancient secrets noted down by the man who knew the masters of animation personally. As a computer 3D animator, I wasn't terribly sure if it would be of significant use to me, but most of my fears were unfounded, and the info here is helpful whatever your chosen medium.
I have to say that the most fascinating part is the historical info provided by Richard, of both his own exploits and those of the master animators he learned from. These guys drew the cartoons we all grew up with and love, the Tom & Jerrys, the Road Runners, the golden age Disney films, and they discovered not only the best ways to bring inanimate oblects to life, but to give them wieght and character at the same time. Richard has distilled their pearls of wisdom so that anyone who wants to can learn the ins and outs of animation.
The drawings are nice and clear, the explanations easy to understand and you can practically animate the figures just by moving your eye across the page, they're so well done. While it undoubtedly concentrates on the 'classical' animator using pen and ink to make his mark, his character animation tips, timing sheet info and action design hints are invaluable for computer character animation. The man says himself that you have to be good enough with your chosen tool (pen or computer) to be able to stop worrying about how you're doing something and concentrate on the performance itself, what you're making your character do. Thus, most of his theory concentrates on performance and not drawing technique, a boon for the computer artists among us.
Overall I'd say this book was a damn good buy. It's well made, clear, concise, interesting and full of hints, tips and ideas that are obviously gleaned from many years experience in the trade. He himself learned from the masters and applied what they taught him, might we not do the same?
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2017
Good buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2003
As an animation student, I can't recommend this book highly enough if you seriously want to improve your character animation skills. It really opened my eyes as to how much I still have to learn. This book should be on the top of every animators book list, and have a permenant home on their desk.
Focusing entirely on traditional animation techniques, the advice it offers translates perfectly to all mediums from hand drawn animation to 3D computer animation to whatever else you do.
Entirely hand written in a very light hearted and very funny style and obviously brilliantly illustrated (What else would you expect from Richard Williams), you can't help but become infected with his love for animation.
This book is just overflowing with useful information. It's certainly not like most other animation books I've seen which provide you with a few useful techniques, and then become assigned to gather dust on your bookshelf. After owning this book for many months I'm still returning to it again and again and again, and gaining new thing from it each time. With all the examples and techniques to try out, I've not even got half way through yet.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2017
Difinative book for the budding animator.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2014
Great book! Love the brief insight into the animation industry it gives, along with a ton of different exercises for you to try out. Would recommend to anyone who wants to become an animator!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2017
Bellissima!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)