Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
579
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2012
I'll explain my review title later, but first, a quick summary:

Animation 10/10:
Possibly the best animation I have ever seen. The facial expressions, character movement, and the motion of clothing to wind, rain / character movement are outstanding. The crisp details of each scene were wonderful, as were the light and shade effects. There are people who are better qualified to make more specific comments relating to rendering and contrast etc. so I will leave that them.

Action 10/10:
Lots of it, really fast and with lots to take in and gasp at, but greatly tempered with the important slower scenes, used to explain plot progression. Certainly this is where the DVD's 'replay' value shows, as there may have been things missed the first time around and, even then, it worth watching the scenes again to marvel at the interactions of the characters, creatures, their vehicles and the environment. To explain the action further might spoil the film for others, so I will leave it there.

Storyline 10/10
Although some reviewers on Amazon are not happy with the storyline, I really enjoyed it. Certainly I had guessed some of it, but certainly not all of it, and it could even be progressed further if a 'Tin Tin 2' is made. It is important to stress some reviewers have read the entire series of Tin Tin books, but my review is purely based on having read the comic strip versions of the series. In that sense, considering the style of the comic strips, the storyline is excellent.

Humour 10/10:
Sadly some negative reviews resort to insulting adults who liked the humour, by claiming 'It's childish and only a 3 / 6/ 12 year old would find it funny.' I for one, will lose no sleep at all at such comments, because they do seem to suggest, 'If I don't like it, then others who do, must be inferior to me.' and I believe you should respect others who don't have your personal tastes. If you don't like it, then is fair enough, score the film as 'low', explain your reasons, but leave it at that. Now, although I wasn't expecting the film to have that many comedic moments in it, I am so glad that it did. When they came, usually interspersed with the action scenes (but not always) I laughed out loud, as did my son. At 52 and 23 respectively, we were in tears and, yes, holding our sides. Again, I cannot specify these moments, as to do so would spoil the film, but if you love watching your family enjoying a film, then you cannot really go far wrong with Tin Tin.

That's my brief take on the film but, if they make a Tin Tin 2, 3 etc. to the same standard as this initial film, I will be in the queues to buy them. As to my review title, 'The worst post-viewing experience ever!', well I laughed so much during the film I had a coughing fit and pulled a couple of muscles around my ribs. I ended up with two days of aches and pains and box of paracetamol as my best friend but, to me, the film was definitely worth it.
99 comments| 131 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn is the first wholly MoCap animated feature where the technology's weird mixture of the photo-realistic and the cartoonish actually works completely, and works rather wonderfully. It's not just that the dead eyes that plagued earlier MoCap films have gone but that, rather than pointlessly inserting unconvincingly animated versions of real people in a fantastic environment, it uses it to faithfully recreate the characters from the comic albums as they would look in a three-dimensional environment. It's not just a case of wearing a blue sweater with a duck tuft hairstyle or putting on a big putty nose, beard and captain's outfit to approximate them, these really are Tintin and Captain Haddock, but with the benefit of fully fleshed out and surprisingly naturalistic performances courtesy of Jamie Bell and Andy Serkis. And it's not only Thomson and Thompson and Red Rackham who get the benefit, the film beginning with a fun cameo from Herge painting Tintin's portrait in the opening scene and wondering if he's painted him before some time.

But the technological leap would be mere window dressing if it was the only thing the film had going for it, but thankfully this is Steven Spielberg rediscovering the real sense of fun and adventure he had back in the heady days of Raiders of the Lost Ark. At times the frequently beautifully lit camerawork overdoes the swirling and swooping to highlight the original 3D as if he's having a bit too much fun with his new toy, but it's grounded by a solid screenplay with plenty of sly humour that only really runs out of steam in the last reel or so once the action leaves Africa (but then endings have often been a problem in many a Spielberg film). But along the way there are enough clever or exciting setpieces, from a chase seen from a dog's eye point-of-view to a rather excellent pirate battle, to forgive the anticlimax. All in all a rather splendid adventure for those proverbial children of all ages.

Plentiful extras in the form of a multi-part documentary on the Blu-ray release, which offers excellent picture and sound, but as usual DVD buyers are less lucky with just two featurettes from the longer documentary.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 18 August 2014
This animated adventure is both produced and directed by Steven Spielberg in his first animated effort, it is in most ways a satisfying watch with some excellent animation, a good voice cast and an exciting storyline

I have quite a few of the Tintin books and enjoyed the exploits brought to life by the Belgian cartoonist Hergé (Georges Prosper Remi)

The film take inspiration from a number of books and mixes in some bits of it's own, The Crab with the Golden Claws and The Secret of the Unicorn are the two main plot lines. Cast do a decent job including Jamie Bell as Tintin, Daniel Craig who voices Ivan Ivanovitch Sakharine and Red Rackham, Nick Frost and Simon Pegg provide the well known detectives Thomson and Thompson, no complaints about the voice acting

The story starts with Tintin and Snowy (his longstanding dog companion) at a market where they buy a model ship "The Unicorn", taking the ship back home it's broken by accident revealing a scroll inside it which is the basis for most of the film story, the attempts by others to steal the scroll and the hidden secrets it contains. It turns out there are other scrolls and when combined will reveal the location of the real Unicorn ship and the treasure it contains.

A fairly simple plot, very much in the style of adventure films both animated or not. The quality of animation is excellent throughout clearly a lot of effort has been put into the production. The film is quite fast paced, and at times a little too much with very little time to ponder or relax (many films get criticised for being too drawn out or slow Tintin probably goes a bit too far the other direction) The ending leaves the door (somewhat predictably open) for other sequels which is a little disappointing that during the 1 hour 47 minutes the story isn't concluded. Plenty of material to work with for future Tintin adventures I'd have liked to see this one wrap up at the end. Still leaving the slightly super fast pace/action (in a few cases a little overboard and going beyond reality a bit too much) this is an enjoyable film which is a slick production with great visuals, and a genuinely fun adventure/storyline.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
bought this DVD after hearing such good reviews and having loved the original cartoons as a kid. Will quite easily say that the animation is stunning - as good as is possible I would hazard a guess. Great story too with loads of tip top action. One of the best films I've seen in years. You don't have to have kids to enjoy this I promise you !
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Having just acquired a 3D home cinema system, I was seeking something to demonstrate the 3D and bought Tintin out of curiosity. From the opening scene in the market place and the wonderful cameo by Hergé sketching Tintin's face, I knew that this was more than just a gimmicky 3D demo and that I would really love this movie! Peter Jackson, who used motion capture techniques in Lord of the Rings to good effect, has truly excelled himself here and produced one of the greatest animated films ever. Every scene is jaw-droppingly gorgeous - from Tintin's cosy little home, the landscapes and cityscapes, the rusting hulk of the tramp steamer, the sea-plane and the wonderful African palace. Watch out for the mirage scene in the desert, where the 3D was so convincing that, at one point, I involuntarily jerked my head back! Surround sound is exceptional too and adds a lot to the atmosphere.

You'll recognise a host of well-known British actors' voices. Andy Serkis probably steals the show as Captain/Sir Francis Haddock. Daniel Craig is well-cast as the boo-hiss villain. Pegg and Frost as the bumbling Thompson and Thomson provide some gentle but effective humour (loved the canary gag!) and young Jamie Bell is a very credible Tintin himself.

If I were being really picky, I could criticise the film for being perhaps a tad overlong with some of the action being a little far fetched and, as a 2CV fan, I am aware that this iconic little French car was not yet on sale in the late 30's/early 40's and should not have been seen in Tintin's time. No big deal though - I'm not enough of a pedant to let things like that ruin my enjoyment.

A couple of extras (on the 2D disk), including a brief history of the project and a making-of the Snowy (or Milou for the purist!) character. Worth watching for the amusing sequence of Jackson improvising as Haddock.

You don't have to be a Tintin fan to enjoy this charming movie, but if you are, I'm sure you'll agree that Jackson and Spielberg have treated the source material with great respect and the result is a definite success. If you're looking for a film that truly show-cases the 3D medium and is the best example you're going to get until the commercial version of Avatar 3D Blu-ray is released, then I can recommend Tintin unreservedly.

(Viewed on a Sony BDVE190 3D Blu-ray player and LG (passive) 3D TV.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
An action packed animated film, I first saw "The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn" in the cinema. As a viewer with no knowledge of the books or the comic strips, I can honestly say that I absolutely loved it! Well suited to the big screen and shot in 3D, it proved to be a fantastic watch on the big screen, making the really dramatic scenes blare out. The same applies even in original 2D, on a HD television; it's that good! The storyline itself moves at a nice pace, with journalist Tintin picking up certain information on the legendary, titular ship prior to buying it in miniature to include in his newspaper report, accompanied by his loveable dog Snowy. The computer generated imagery is incredibly realistic, from the streets of Brussels to the ceaselessly moving ocean, the dusty desert and the domed buildings of the fictional land of Bagghar. Full to bursting with high speed chases, brilliant escapes, top notch fight scenes and with the voice talents of Jamie Bell, Andy Serkis, Daniel Craig, Nick Frost and Simon Pegg, this is one incredibly watchable and fun film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
THE ADVENTURES OF TINTIN: THE SECRET OF THE UNICORN [2012] [Limited 3D Edition] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] From Academy Award® Winning filmmaker Steven Spielberg and Peter Jackson comes the epic adventures of Tintin. Racing to uncover the secrets of a sunken ship that may hold a vast fortune – but also an ancient curse – Tintin and his loyal dog Snowy embark on an action-packed journey around the world that critics are calling "simply magical – an animated Indiana Jones."

FILM FACT: ‘The Adventures of Tintin’ was nominated at the 84th Academy Awards® for Best Original Score for John Williams. It was the first non-PIXAR film to win a Golden Globe® Awards for Best Animated Feature Film. It was nominated for Six Saturn Awards, including Best Animated Film, Best Director for Steven Spielberg and Best Music for John Williams. It also received 2 nominations at the 65th British Academy Film Awards in the categories of Best Animated Film and Best Special Visual Effects.

Voice Cast: Jamie Bell, Andy Serkis, Daniel Craig, Nick Frost, Simon Pegg, Daniel Mays, Gad Elmaleh, Toby Jones, Joe Starr, Enn Reitel, Mackenzie Crook, Tony Curran, Sonje Fortag, Cary Elwes, Phillip Rhys, Ron Bottitta, Mark Ivanir, Nathan Meister, Sebastian Roché, Kim Stengel, Mohamed Ibrahim Elkest, Sana Etoile and Jacquie Barnbrook (uncredited)

Director: Steven Spielberg

Producers: Adam Somner, Carolynne Cunningham, Jason D. McGatlin, Kathleen Kennedy, Ken Kamins, Nick Rodwell, Peter Jackson, Stephane Sperry and Steven Spielberg

Screenplay: Edgar Wright, Joe Cornish, Steven Moffat and Hergé (comic book series)

Composer: John Williams

Cinematography: Janusz Kamiñski

Video Resolution: 1080p [Technicolor]

Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1 [Anamorphic]

Audio: English: 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, English: 5.1 Dolby Digital, English Audio Description, Cantonese: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Mandarin: 5.1 Dolby Digital and Thai: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English, English SDH, Bahasa Indonesia, Bahasa Malaysia, Cantonese, Mandarin, Simplified Chinese and Thai

Running Time: 107 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 3

Studio: Paramount Home Entertainment

Andrew's Blu-ray Review: In a ripping return to the Saturday morning adventure serials that inspired 'Raiders of the Lost Ark', Steven Spielberg brings a beloved European comic to the silver screen using motion capture performances and 3D CGI animation. As creative partners, Mr. Spielberg collaborates with Peter Jackson, who acts as producer on this film and intends to direct the second part of what they hope will be a trilogy, and screenwriters Steven Moffat [Screenwriter for Doctor Who], Edgar Wright and Joe Cornish.

Tintin, as voiced by Jamie Bell, is a young journalist whose inquisitive nature sends him off on countless adventures to recover stolen antiquities...or at least that's what all of the newspaper articles on the walls of Tintin's study tells us. This time around, Tintin purchases a model ship, the Unicorn, from a street vendor moments before the mysterious, and most likely dangerous, Sakharine [Daniel Craig] arrives to buy it. Tintin keeps the Unicorn, which he learns is a model of a ship captained by one Sir Francis Haddock that sank hundreds of years ago with a long, lost treasure. However, legend says only "a true Haddock will be able to uncover the lost treasure of the Unicorn."

Sakharine will stop at nothing to get the model, including murder and kidnapping, but thanks to Tintin's bumbling Interpol agent friends, Thompson and Thomson [the always funny Simon Pegg and Nick Frost], and a local pickpocket, Sakharine snatches Tintin, but doesn't get his hands on the secret scroll hidden within the model ship's mast. Tintin wakes in the cargo hold of a freighter steaming for foreign soil. Sakharine has hijacked the freighter from its captain, the last surviving Haddock [Andy Serkis]. Here it becomes clear: there were three Unicorn models, and Sakharine plans to find three scrolls and use Captain Haddock's family knowledge to find the Unicorn's location. Trouble is Captain Haddock's a drunk, and has forgotten all the old Haddock family stories. It's up to Tintin to pull the truth out of Haddock while racing across oceans and deserts to beat the nefarious and deadly Sakharine to the lost treasure.

As I live in the United Kingdom, I've had little exposure to the original comic books, even though there are great deals of massive fans in the UK, who know more about this cartoon Character. Written by Belgium Hergé [a.k.a. Georges Prosper Remi], save for a few High School French classes and, while there are numerous in-jokes and references to the comic itself (or at least I think there are, based on the reactions others, who claimed to know the comic, when I saw the film theatrically), this is a really strong adaptation for all audiences, whether or not you're a lifetime fan.

So how does it measure up? Well, personally speaking, I really loved the Indiana Jones feeling of it all, and felt the filmmaking, performances, tone, and adventure worked very well. There are some contrivances, and Tintin's lines are a bit convoluted, but this is a real return to the Amblin and Steven Spielberg I love and very impressed with the use of motion capture to build the character performances and the overall improvements in the animation quality succeeded.

'The Adventures of Tintin' is also a lot of fun. The action set pieces are clever, funny, and tense. My jaw hit the floor a number of times, especially during the Unicorn vs. the Pirate ship scene, the single shot motorcycle chase sequence, and the battling harbour cranes fight. The camera work is playful in a way that harkens back to Steven Spielberg's 1970s and 1980s heyday. In fact, the experience is such a throwback to the wonder if the film, which lacks a certain cynicism found in modern blockbusters and works as well for younger audiences.

Overall, I think fans of Steven Spielberg or the Tintin comic books will enjoy this comedic, romping adventure. Tintin fans will no doubt get more of the in-jokes. As for casual viewers, there's a lot of fun to have for the entire family, unless you have a hard time connecting to motion capture performances.

Blu-ray Video Quality – Tintin tackles the 3D world with a subtle but magnificent looking 1080p encoded image that will dazzle and amaze most viewers. Its 2D counterpart is already fantastic enough as it is, and the 3D merely enhances the CGI video by placing emphasis on quality and depth rather than the usual pop-out gimmicks. Granted, a couple scenes do have random items protrude from the screen, mostly for amusement or as a comical device, like when Rackham points his cane at the camera, but by and large, the presentation is on immersing viewers into the third-dimension with a great deal of natural depth, which it does in spades. Buildings on the European streets and long hallways seem elongated and distant, genuinely feeling as if far removed from the foreground. Other objects appear to move independently of each other, such as when Tintin and Captain Haddock meet for the first time inside his cramped quarters. In fact, several of the best moments come while the two run around the Karaboudjan and try to make their escape. Later on, during a wild chase on the confined streets of Bagghar down to the harbour, the rapid camera movements and non-stop action is the film's coolest sequence, arguably making it one of the best uses of the 3D technology yet. On a large enough screen, it quite literally feels like being on a roller coaster ride, weaving and zigzagging between buildings and people. The film comes with several dark scenes, and never does delineation within the deep, murky shadows come into question. The rest of the presentation is equally outstanding with pitch-perfect contrast and superb, crystal-clear clarity, allowing viewers to see far into the distance. Black levels are inky and penetrating with extraordinary gradational steps in the grayscale, adding to the layers of dimensionality already present in the video. Although the photography comes with a slightly antiquated appeal to it, colours are vivid and richly-saturated, leaping off the screen with an energetic pop. The transfer is beautifully detailed from beginning to end, revealing the smallest imperfections on clothing, architecture and the walls of the ship. One can really appreciate the artwork and effort that went into the film's making as the faces of characters have a lifelike texture that almost makes them seem real. Captain Haddock's nose and cheeks are probably the most impressive, sure to leave viewers astonished with this awesome high-definition 3D presentation.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – The audio is the same as its 2D counterpart and makes a wonderful addition to the video's immersive effect. The 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack makes excellent use of the system as it comes natively in a 7.1 soundscape. Directionality and panning is absolutely flawless as bullets and vehicles zoom all around the room, and the debris from explosions flies overhead as well as to the sides. There's not much to speak of in terms of ambience, but a few atmospherics quietly sneak into the rears, generating a decently pleasant sound field. John Williams' animated score also enjoys a strong presence in the surrounds, filling the air with excitement and adventure. Much of the runtime is spent on the front soundstage since a great deal of the narrative is dialogue-driven. Conversations are very well-prioritized and perfectly audible during the movie's several high points. Dynamic range is expansive with room-penetrating clarity, allowing listeners to revel in a variety of sounds and noises which make the action sequences come alive. Again, John Williams music benefits most with clear instrumentation and terrific acoustical detail. Low-frequency effects are a plenty with powerful, full-bodied explosions and punchy gunshots. 'Tintin' makes an awesome debut audio.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras: For this 3D Blu-ray edition of 'Tintin,' Paramount adds several high-definition exclusives to the package, along with the 3D version of the movie, a DVD copy and BD-Live Functionality. Arriving day-and-date as its 2D counterpart, the Blu-ray shares a couple of supplements with the DVD release, along with a code for accessing an Digital Copy or downloading a Digital Copy.

Special Feature: Toasting Tintin: Part 1 [2012] [1080p] [1:00] Filmmakers celebrate the first day of shooting with some champagne.

Special Feature: The Journey to Tintin [2012] [1080p] [9:00] An insightful look at how Steven Spielberg and Peter Jackson discovered Hergé's comics and bringing Tintin's adventures to the big screen.

Special Feature: The World of Tintin [2012] [1080p] [11:00] After a brief history on the comics and the characters, this segment looks at the film adaptations and the differences.

Special Feature: The Who's Who of Tintin [2012] [1080p] [14:00] Background on the characters from the comics mixed with some motion-capture footage of the cast.

Special Feature: Tintin: Conceptual Design [2012] [1080p] [9:00] As the title suggests, this piece looks at the work done by Weta Workshop and their attempts at staying true to Hergé's original design. Weta Workshop is a special effects and prop company based in Miramar, New Zealand, and producing effects for television and film.

Special Feature: Tintin: In the Volume [2012] [1080p] [18:00] With more motion-capture footage about, the piece examines the stage on which actors perform and Steven Spielberg using the technology.

Special Feature: Snowy: From the Beginning to End [2012] [1080p] [10:00] This piece focuses on Tintin's trusted canine companion and the work that went into bringing him to life.

Special Feature: Animating Tintin [2012] [1080p] [11:00] This is a Behind-the-Scene footage shows the actual CGI process of transforming mo-cap scenes into an animated film.

Special Feature: Tintin: The Score [2012] [1080p] [7:00] This special feature gives its attention into looking into the legendary composer John Williams and his approach film scoring.

Special Feature: Collecting Tintin [2012] [1080p] [4:00] Looks at the design of the collectible toys.

Special Feature: Toasting Tintin: Part 2 [2012] [1080p] [3:00] Another toast from by the filmmakers after completing the film.

Finally, Directed by Steven Spielberg and produced by Peter Jackson, 'The Adventures of Tintin' is a fun and thrilling big-screen adaptation of Hergé's beloved classic comic books. The CGI animated action-packed adventure animation film is reminiscent of Steven Spielberg's 'Indiana Jones' franchise films, but stands on its own as an entertaining and rousing motion picture for the whole family. This 3D Blu-ray edition of the film arrives with a first-rate audio and video presentation that's sure to satisfy everyone. Bonus material is fairly extensive, and most of it is exclusive to Blu-ray, making this wild thrill-ride worth the price. Again like a lot of people who are not a fan of this Belgium author Hergé [aka Georges Prosper Remi] and the books of Tintin and `The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn' animation film fills in the gaps for us who are not up on the exploits of Tintin and the film is based on three of Hergé's books entitled: “The Crab with the Golden Claws” [1941], “The Secret of the Unicorn” [1943], and “Red Rackham's Treasure” [1944] and I think Steven Spielberg and Peter Jackson have done a grand job in bringing the pages of the Hergé books to life and I can tell you it is a brilliant animation film that will give you a brilliant rollercoaster ride and the voice artists really bring the characters to life and I can also tell you that you will have an amazing experience, especially in the fantastic 3D image experience and it is such an honour to add this to me ever increasing Steven Spielberg Blu-ray Collection. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
Didn't catch this at the cinema, but recently got a 3D TV so this seemed like a great opportunity to check it out. Brilliant animation, a blistering story, and eye popping 3D. Can't wait for the next installment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 May 2012
HERGÉ'S ADVENTURES OF TINTIN!!!

I just couldn't get enough of them. The books were truly the stuff of legend, so colourful, bold and exciting, with the right mix of cartoon, humanity and realism to make this world and its inhabitants so appealing to generations of fans worldwide. As a child, I loved all those amazing adventures of this young, courageous and intelligent reporter Tintin and his loyal dog Snowy as they travelled all over the world - and into outer space, lest we forget! - solving mysteries, thwarting villains and conquering challenges with so many colourful friends like Professor Calculus, Detectives Thomson & Thompson and of course, the irrepressible Captain Haddock.

I never ever thought about a motion picture based on these timeless stories to be honest with you. Yes, there was the absolute quality animated series from the nineties, and I was happy to leave it at that. I mean, Hergé's style was just so vivid and distinctive that it was easy to translate into a cartoon, but much more difficult for a live-action film, and maybe even a CGI-flick as well.

I suppose I didn't want to run the risk of being disappointed by a feature-length Tintin film (no different than any other lifetime fan of the books, really). Which is why when news of Tintin finally hitting the big screen came around, I really didn't know how to take it. I saw a few images, and then I saw the trailer. It was unlike anything I'd ever seen before, so I decided to reserve judgement a little longer until I'd finally checked out the film.

The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn is essentially an adaptation of the book of the same name, "The Crab With The Golden Claws" and "Red Rackham's Treasure". Here, our Tintin is a most famous reporter (accompanied by best friend, Snowy) who one day buys a model ship of the Unicron, a famous historical ship. But it isn't long before shadowy individuals are after the model for their own purposes. Tintin must uncover the secret of the model before it falls into the wrong hands, and to do that, he will need the help of a certain old sea captain.

So is it any good? YES, and then some. Directed and produced by movie legends Steven Spielberg (Duel, Jaws, Jurassic Park etc) and Peter Jackson (Lord of the Rings & King Kong), this Tintin epic is a true cinematic delight that's worthy of both the name and the creator Hergé. Both Spielberg and Jackson are genuine Tintin fans and it shows throughout. They clearly wanted to remain faithful to the original source material and as such, it is. The setting and characters here are all accurate and true, the story and plot unravels with the grace and intrigue that you would find in any legendary Tintin adventure, and there are so many dollops of wonderful humour, interaction and excitement. Long story cut short, this has the ESSENCE of Tintin.

But the most obvious aspect about The Secret of the Unicorn is unquestionably the animation style. The motion capture technique in completely unlike anything I've ever seen before in cinema or on television. At first, I wasn't sure if I was watching an actual live-action film or a CGI move that easily rivals anything from Pixar! It just blew me away how harmoniously it all blends together. Not only that, the character designs pay true homage to Hergé's original drawings as well! It's pure artistry in how it remains all the more faithful, yet also creates a brand new visioning for this generation.

The voice-cast is inspired, too. Jamie Bell (Tintin) and Andy Serkis (Captain Haddock) are flawless in their roles. You truly believe that they ARE Tintin and Captain Haddock(!), given how distinctive they make their performances. The same can be said for Simon Pegg and Nik Frost who provide the perfect bumbling tones for the incompetent (yet lovable) Thompson twins. Current "James Bond" Daniel Craig also deserves high-marks as well for his sinister & deliciously malevolent role as antagonist Sakharine.

What else is there? The soundtrack is rollicking, the film runs on for just the right length of time (at 102 minutes), the pacing is perfect, and Steven Moffat (of Doctor Who fame!), Edgar Wright (Shaun of the Dead/Hot Fuzz) & Joe Cornish all deserve props for their screenplay, producing a script that flatters the talents of the voice cast, and Spielberg and Jackson's vision for the film. I don't think I can praise this film enough. It's just an artistic masterpiece with virtually no fault whatsoever.

Extras on this DVD consist of two featurettes; a special behind-the-scenes look at the film's making (with great insight from Spielberg, Jackson, the cast and production staff) and an examination of Snowy (called "The Full Tail") which looks at the characters' original conception, various anecdotes and how the wonderful, little terrier was bought to life for the big screen. Delightful special features indeed to finish things off. And there're English subtitles as well for those who require them.

The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn is one of the best family films to emerge in a long time. Like the original books, like the cartoon series, this is a movie that will appeal to children and adults alike. It has all the heart and soul of Hergé's stories and is hopefully the first of several more quality epics to come.
99 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
If the plot matched up to the ingenious animation technique used to produce it, this would surely be a 5 star film.

However, as with many Hollywood film adaptions, much of the charm and nuance of the original book and characters has been lost; all that remains in this film is a series of frantic chase/fight scenes, played out by stripped out characters that are no more than a shadow of their orginal versions. Poor old Captain Haddock, for example, is reduced to little more than a village idiot. Even his foe, Allan, doesn't escape unscathed; he is stripped of his somewhat sadastic sense of humour and just becomes another robotic thug.

To make things even worse, Spielberg has taken two of Herge's books - "Secret of the Unicorn" and "Crab with the Golden Claws" - and merged them into a clunky composite screenplay in which one character is converted from a harmless nautical collector into a master criminal - looking most out of place on board ship! - and other characters from completely different books suddenly pop up.

This could easily have been the best on-screen Tintin yet, but as it is, it must stand with all the previous flawed attempts to bring Herge's characters to life: films that are only fit for kids, and not very sophisticated ones at that.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse