Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 11 April 2006
Stephen Covey's book "The 8th Habit" contains a lot of very good ideas but is rather padded. This audio CD provides a very useful summary of the key points in the book. Although it is still a bit preachy at times, it does avoid most of the homely self-indulgent anecdotes of the book. The audio CD though, has one major weakness in my view - it doesn't spend enough time on what I feel is the most important feature of the book - the 4 Roles of Leadership. Barely 10 minutes of the CD covers this vital development plan for 21st century leaders(and that coverage is fairly poor). So read the book, reinforce the key points with the CD, and skim the book again focussing on the leadership aspects. That should help you get to grips with the material.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2017
The story goes on...once the 7 Habits have become part of your life, this 8th Habit is a natural consequence!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2017
great to listen to in the car
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2016
Excellent seller item with a great product very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2014
rubbish instrumental music and actually what does it tell us? i will retry but so far no good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2017
Great as ever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2017
good relevant to the course I was doing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2005
It is 15 years since Covey produced the 7 Habits, now he builds on that work with this learned and readable book. His focus now is leadership and for me, the main lessons of the book are the 4 roles of leadership - pathfinding (vision), modelling, aligning and empowering. There is a lot more in this book too and it makes fascinating reading. There are problems with the book - Covey covers so much ground that sometimes it feels like it lacks focus; also it is a little preachy at times (with a few too many stories about loyal wives staying at home to support their husbands). Overall though, this is a fine book and well worth reading for anyone interested in leadership.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2005
The 7 Habits was magnificent. The Power of the 7 Habits was somewhat of a 'cashing in' from a public hungry for more. At first listen I thought the 8th Habit was more of the same.
Certainly Covey uses more sales pitch, repeatedly reassuring people that others have found this stuff useful. The 7 Habits stood on it's own two feet and this initially appeared to flounder. After the second and third listen however I started to be able to get into the material. The message of this book is more complicated and therefore the sort of catchy sound bites of the 7 Habits were harder to generate. A number of the concepts are articulated with such clarity and economical use of words so as to be very impressive in context.
The tone of this is more overtly evangelical than the earlier work. The final sentence has an undisguised religious message which IMHO weakens the non affiliated altruistic humanism that runs through his earlier work.
The message of the 8th Habit deepens (to use a 'Covey' word) the understanding of the 7 Habits concepts but almost by necessity the 8th Habit cannot propel your thinking forward in the way his previous work did.
Most people who might be considering getting this audiobook will be 'knowledge workers' and some will be at a crossroads trying to make sense of their place within their workplace. For those I couldn't recommend this highly enough. As someone who works as an executive coach this offered me insights and new paradigms that I hadn't previously understood as well as I do now.
Impressive as it is though, the brilliance of the 7 Habits makes this excellent audiobook seem ordinary in comparison. Get the 7 Habits first. Get to know it and after several listens get the 8th Habit.
Finally, unless you walk the walk suggested this stuff is just fancy talk.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2013
In brief: lots of academically good sounding words and no real underlying content.

doubtful about effectiveness of author's writing skills - as whatever he wishes to say could be said perhaps in 30 minutes, then why waste 14 hours audiobook!!

returned back under Audible's generous return policy after first few chapters only - thank god only waste of time and not money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)