Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 26 July 2009
The first 14 Chapters went through a good range of applications, but the last two opened it up. Chapter 15 with Happiness made the most sense and Chapter 16 showed that reviews and feedback can be taken and applied to the 80/20 Principle when putting it into action. But review and change are required to make progress and correct any wrong moves or thoughts! Nobody is God and we all make mistakes. Start with Lifestyle (p180) the best way to get Life/Balance right. Liked the Authors style of writing and will look out for him at the Roebuck on Richmond Hill! after cycling through the park. The pragmatic application of the theory in this book is like most books giving an Authors view.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2016
A good read but I found it to be a bit heavy on detail without laying out the facts in a clear concise manner.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
Came with a few pencil marks in the book but expected with a used one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
I picked this up on the daily kindle special. I'm glad I didn't pay full price for it. The book states how you can use the principal to any part of your life. Parts of the book will not be applicable to you if you do a job that is difficult to do as a freelancer, so parts like contract out everything apart from your core business will not be relevant.

The author comes out with some quite amazing claims, Ronald Regan and Warren Buffet have never worked hard for their success and some of the world's most famous political leaders, Churchill, Kennedy, Thatcher could have been actors are just some of the many examples.

More than 80 per cent of the value of this book can be found in 20 per cent or fewer of its pages, and absorbed in less than 20 per cent of the time most people would take to read it through. Thus re-confirming the 80/20 Principle.

The book is over 300 pages but could easily be around 100.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
I must say that this was the most boring book i have ever reviewed, never again will i be tempted with something like this, sorry but thats how i feel about this book, maybe it was just me, i really dont know, try it for yourself eh? remember it was for free.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 April 2017
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )|Verified Purchase
The 20th anniversary of a business classic, brought up to date. It exhaustively lays out the application of the 80/20 principle in your business and private life. I have to say I am a great fan of the book and the principle. It is not exactly intuitive that life does follow that principle, but generally speaking, it is better to do those things which yield greater results than those which do not, and it is worth spending some time just thinking about this in most areas of your life. Some argue against the principle and there is a rather half-hearted attempt at the end of the book to deal with some of the objections. Richard Koch did not invent or discover the principle, the much neglected (sadly) Italian economist Pareto did and Koch pays due homage to the man. There are numerous illustrations of the principle in the book, and some have criticised it for this, but for me, this is what makes the book and the principle well worth reading and studying even if you have the older edition
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 May 2017
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is legendary in its status and has infiltrated thinking in almost every field - for example, in the third sector it is often said that 80% of the work is done by 20% of the people - this is the reach and scope of this book. Now, in 2017, this book is 20 years old and has been thoroughly revised and had the addition of 4 chapters (20% of the total....) This version should now replace your old copy, and if you are wanting to buy, make sure you don't get the old version (even though the author sold 20 million of them!)
This book has endnotes that are also helpful.
The book starts with the history and background of the principle and highlights the imbalance between the total work done and the output achieved, pointing out that about 20% of what we do produces 80% of our output - a rather significant finding (understatement!)
It moves on to educating us to think this way, and discusses why the principle is so effective in business, giving broad examples from the realm of information technology. There are discussions of complexity vs simplicity and how by using this principle we can cut costs and save time. It gives practical illustrations and guidance in how you can identify the 20% that will impact what you are doing the most.
This book is a mind-opener, allowing you to think about things in an out of the box way. If you have never read the original, then this will be a berth f fresh air to you, if you have read the original then this will refresh your thinking and help you take the principle farther then you ever could in the past.
A worthwhile and timely purchase!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 May 2017
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book, and the principle it explains are (I believe), hugely valuable and should be taught in school. The book is well written and wastes no time in explaining the basics. As perhaps you might expect, 80% of the value in the book comes from around 20% of the content, and this is the start of the book which explains what the 80/20 principle is and how it applies.

The book then goes on into two main sections that explain how to use the 80/20 rule in business and in your life. The business section is strong, drawing on the author's experience at high-end consulting firms, and the personal section also works well as he shows his experience in applying the principles to the big-picture life questions.

At the end the book has been updated to show how the 80/20 rule applies to networks. Now in a sense this refreshes the book and brings it up to date with a host of new examples (I did read the original version some time ago), but in my view doesn't really add much to the book, and the author loses some of the clarity of thinking he demonstrates in the first 3/4 of the book. It's as though we have an 80/20 expert dabbling in someone else's theory. The same is true when he begins to talk about behaviour change and using the subconscious - the thinking here seems a bit out of date and doesn't really stack up with what I've read or been taught from neuroscience and behavioural change experts.

Overall however, it remains an excellent book and the it remains the best exposition of a very important principle, so from that standpoint highly recommended. In a similar vein, I'd also recommend Essentialism: The Disciplined Pursuit of Less
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 May 2017
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The 80/20 rule is one the most useful rules in all of life. It takes you past expecting equal reward for equal effort. It takes you past going, "it's so unfair." It takes you into a sphere for action. What it teaches is to put your effort on leverage points. A very few actions by you will yield an awful lot of your results in life. An awful lot of what you do is not helping you towards your life goals. The art is to work our which actions give you strong results and which are misdirected.

Sadly the 80/20 extreme described originally is now gearing up still more, and the more you try to work against it the more it becomes 99/1 distribution. The 80/20 rule isn't entirely fair but it does show you what is actually happening, and how to direct the flows in directions favourable to you. If you don't learn how to do this then the flows will all go against you.

This rule is one it's important to know and understand, and learn how to use. Without it you are lost.

This updated edition brings the implications of the rule into even sharper focus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 July 2017
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have to say that this book could have followed its own central observation, the idea that 80% of your value is generated from 20% of your content is something the author could have thought over, the examples which the author includes are relevant but it proves to be a very repetitive read.

The idea itself is interesting, it is persuasively presented and made me think, about my own relationships with others about how I could have or should have directed my attention before in setting and pursuing goals. This is really worth thinking about and I think its a shame that I came to this idea so late in life, I'd really have appreciated having this sort of advice when I was in my late teens or even twenties when choosing what to study at university. That said, the essential insight could have been imparted in a much condensed read, after a certain point examples feel a little like a sort of exercise in confirmation biased reportage, or those training or business seminars or presentations which labour points more than necessary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)