Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
The 36-Hour Day
Format: Unknown Binding|Change


on 27 May 2011
My mum recommended this book to me as my Dad has Alzheimers. It was a great help in enabling me to understand what the sufferer is experiencing and how best to live alongside and support them. Everyhting is written in easy to understand terms with practical examples and I would recommend it 100%
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2002
When our family first learned that our Mother had Alzheimer disease, we were devastated. After we all read "The 36-Hour Day", there was a great deal of relief. Although Alzhemier and other dementing illnesses can seem catastrophic, this book reads like a freindly family doctor givng you straight forward, no-nonsense advice. It covers all aspects of dealing with the family member, from explaining just what dementia is and how it can appear, to how you can deal with it appropriately without losing your patience or embarrasing your family member. Medical help, daily care, medical problems, behavior, mood, legal issues, common compassion and basic 'rules of thumb' are thoroughly covered. Several "examples" of previous family incidents are mentioned with thoughts on how to address each and every one. Great care has been crafted into this book and I highly recommend it. You will feel better, thus making the family member you are helping feel better.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 1997
This book, the 36 Hour Day, not only tells you ABOUT Alzheimer's, but it EXPLAINS how it affects the person with the disease, but also the family and the caregiver. If anyone you know is dealing with the terrible truths of this disease, recommend that they READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!! Nicole
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2001
This book was recommended to me and I have loaned it to others so there are at least five including me who would recommend this book to others. One lady I know said she had read several books after her husband was diagnosed with AD. Thus far this one was the most useful to her in learning to cope with what she faced today and in the future.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
This was recommended for a friend whose husband is suffering from dementia & who was exhausted trying to persuade him to take a shower, change his shirt, let her watch/listen to a programme without continual interruptions etc and this covers so much it's a real lifeline - I don't know where else she'd find such comprehensive information and help. Every doctor's surgery should have one for patients who are carers and at the end of their tether.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 1999
The print is too small! I ordered this book, sight unseen, for my elderly sister, who is the care-giver for her blind, Alzheimer-ish husband. Who would have thought that the publishers would have selected an inappropriate font size? Carol Clivio
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
This book is written in clear language - its an ideal reference book for anyone dealing with caring for someone with dementia - it may not have all the answers but it helps to read the experiences of others - highly recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2011
I bought this book to give to a friend who is a carer for a relative with Alzheimer's disease, hopefully to educate all the family as to the mammoth commitment required and hopefully to make them realize that the carer needs some TLC and relief from caring duties once in a while. I'm told that the book hit the mark in meeting these expectations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2016
Just read bits so far but really helpful the bits I have read. Went straight to the sections I needed advice on and makes sense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
This was very helpful when my mum was living ,I then passed it on to a friend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)