Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 24 July 2017
What a book! A loving, affectionate memoir of the glory days of popular music and national radio. I've never been a fan of Mark Radcliffe, but this book did change my opinion of him. This is exactly what I was looking for and I enjoyed it thoroughly. He knows his stuff and he loves music deeply. The stories of his misadventures as a music fan and DJ are a delight to take in Cheers, Mark!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Now, I love Mark Radcliffe I've enjoyed his broadcasting style for years - after first discovering him before John Peel's Classic Radio 1 show. I was and still am an avid listener of his Radio 2 and Radio 6 Music shows.

This book, very much like his shows, is written in that ever so slight self-deprecating style, is funny and deep and meaningful at the same time. If you haven't come across Mark before then this is a great insight in to his work as a Radio DJ, occasional TV Presenter and general Northern Tosspot.

Brilliant read, thanks Mark Radcliffe I throughly enjoyed this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2009
Having always found Radcliife a very engaging presenter and as a forty something ex drummer with all manner of punk & post punk bands myself I was looking forward to this - especially aftyer enjoying his earlier book Showbusiness: The Diary of a Rock 'n' Roll Nobody.

This is neither fish nor fowl. Its not an autobiograpgy so you end up jumping around points in his career without any real context as to how he got there at times - as a collection of "amusing" anectdoes they just aren't amusing enough to stand up on the basis of this alone - his writing style here is still touchingly self deprecating but the attempt to squeeze a witticism in every 2 lines becomes tiring.

I'll still be tuning in to the Radcliffe & Maconie Show obn Radio 2 - this is what he does best playing decent muisc & talking about it with insight humour & intelligence - which should be enough for anyone. These anecdotes would have made good radio - they don't make a very good book.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 23 August 2010
I am a fan of Radcliffe's radio work, and seemingly one of the only people in the country who was delighted that Mark and Lard did the Radio 1 breakfast show after Chris Evans left. Mark is entertaining, dry and erudite, and a joy to listen to on radio. This book, based on some of the favourite days in his life, transposed all the things I like about his radio presenting onto the page. I loved the mix of famous anecdotes, like the time he met Mick Jagger, with the reminiscences of childhood, like the time his mother hit him with a golf club, and thought this worked very well. I enjoyed the fact that unlike most biographical material I didn't have to wade through a hundred pages of his probably fairly unremarkable childhood before I got to the more entertaining material. It was all entertaining.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2010
I mean, what an absolutely bloody lovely bloke. Mark Radcliffe is modest and self deprecating to a fault, and his primary interests include music, beer and music. What's not to like?

Thank You For The Days is far from an indie outsider's cynical take on the music industry. There are no revelations of rock and roll debauchery, or revenge swipes at old foes. It is the story of a genuine music fan who constantly feels privileged to have been lucky enough to make a career out of playing records he likes and interviewing people. The affable Radcliffe would never be so presumptuous as to impose anything too alternative or niche on the reader, so he keeps the name-dropping anecdotes to mainstream stars - Bowie, Jagger, McCartney, Minogue all get politely complimented, as do Chris Evans and Tony Blair. When he does have an (oh so slight) pop at people, the targets are such obvious villains - Jeffrey Archer, Noel Edmunds, American sports etc. - that it seems almost as if he's contractually obliged to include a quota of digs, even if he doesn't really want to.

Radcliffe is incredibly magnanimous about the low point of his career - he sees his sacking from the Radio 1 breakfast show from his superiors' point of view, and is modest about his successes throughout. He says that in however many years of working in radio he has only ever had 2 or 3 heated discussions with people (or something like that, I can't remember exactly) and it is easy to see why. A more laid back and easy-going bloke you could not wish to come across.

The comparison with the books of Stuart Maconie is so obvious that it has to be made. Mark Radcliffe's book doesn't quite have the wit and observation of his co-presenter, nor does he have the same skill at infecting the reader with his passion for music, but that doesn't mean this book isn't a good read. It makes you smile rather than laugh, and it can be a little obvious. It's not a book that's going to change your life or get studied in schools for generations, but it does leave you with a great fondness for Radcliffe and a real desire to sink a few pints of ale with him. Cheers.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2011
Not being a great one for autobiographies, I was extremely surprised just what a good "holiday" read this book was. Genuine laugh-out-loud moments and passages of real interest combine with a beautifully crafted writing style. If you are familiar with Mark's broadcasts, then when you read this book you can really hear him saying the words. It is an audio book in print - and a damn good one at that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 December 2014
This is a neatly written auto-biography that tries very hard not to be one. The setup is that Mark Radcliffe guides you through a selection of days in his life, that neatly dissect his personal and professional lives. They give you enough insight into his career, family, ambitions and personality, and they also spin a good yarn in the process. You can sense where the real passions lie by the depth of the story of each day - so much time given to rambling, John Peel and football, less time given to the ill-fated Radio 1 fall out.

He's still a BBC guy at heart, so don't expect much dirt to be dished, and the sections about 70s DJs habits could probably do with an edit, given recent events. I don't mind the putting-myself-down attitude of the writing. I've seen enough of Mark Radcliffe on TV, and heard enough on the radio, to know that this is how he talks and thinks.

I've really enjoyed reading this, and I am looking forward to getting to the next one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 September 2010
Mark Radcliffe, it has to be said, is a thoroughly nice bloke - interesting, witty, experienced in everything that the music industry and life can offer and a reasonable DJ in a maverick, John Peel kind of way. Thank You For The Days is a memoir of sorts using individual days to recount anecdotal episodes from his life and career. So far, so good except that some of the chapters or days in this book are merely precursors to later episodes. For example the chapter entitled 'The Day I Met The Band That Changed My Life' starts with an early gig by Dr Feelgood in the mid 70s and ends with a sort of reunion on Canvey Island thirty years later. The problem here is that Mr Radcliffe tries to fit too much into a relatively small chapter - it's a bit like the holiday maker packing half a wardrobe's worth of clothes into an overnight bag! Much better are the shorter chapters (The Day... I Was The Pied Piper, ...I Swore On Radio, ...I Turned Fifty) which perfectly encapture the moment without wasting a single word.
Disappointingly this isn't a laugh-out-loud type of book although it does make one smile periodically throughout and even bring a lump to the throat occasionally (The Day I Heard That John Peel Had Died). It is a book written with gusto and a sense of self satisfaction, almost as if Mr Radcliffe has decided that he is happy with his lot on Radio 2 and the occasional festive appearance on BBC3 or 4. A disturbing trend throughout the book is his apparent obsession with size - Mick Jagger is thinner than he imagined, Kylie is described as "absolutely tiny" and Kate Bush "a bit smaller than I was expecting". He even gets a bit uppity when Jagger stands on tiptoes to have his photo taken with the author! The late, great Dr Anthony Clare would have had a field day with that.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
The start of Mark's journey could have led him anywhere. That journey, and all the fantastic tales he can now tell as a result, are here for your wonderment. He feels very lucky, blessed and honoured, never once straying into smugness. Told in a manner that beggars his belief that all these good things came his way - you can't help but feel the emotions that he went through and the magical joy encapsulated in his many episodes. Look up humility in the dictionary and you should see - "See also Mark Radcliffe".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
Love Mark but.... On the radio, with his various co presenters he is entertaining and irreverent. However, the book didn't engage me in the same way. Can be read in bite sized chunks as each chapter is different. I wanted to love it, however, it hasn't put me off. He is very knowledgeable about music and comes across as a decent bloke.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)