Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
35
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2004
Any film featuring Michelle Pfieffer is worth watching, throw in a cast including Mel Gibson, Kurt Russell and Raul Julia and you've got some idea of how good this film is.
The complex love triangle between Pfieffer, Gibson and Russell is further complicated by the fact that Gibson and Russell are long time best friends, one is a drug dealer and the other a narcotics officer. Sure, it may be a little far fetched but it makes for good viewing.
Fans of Michelle Pfieffer will enjoy the steamy love scene with Mel Gibson whilst anyone who enjoys good music will find the soundtrack interesting. There is a wonderful piece of music written by Dave Grusin and featuring David Sanbourn on the saxaphone, a great duet from Nancy Wilson (Heart) and Robin Zander (Cheap Trick) and some other great tunes from bands such as Duran Duran, Crowded House and Ziggy Marley.
A good film for summer time.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
Bit corny in parts but still love to watch a young, fit, handsome Mel Gibson at work. Watched it loadsatimes and gonna watch it manymoretimes yet.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
This is one of those movies I just needed in my collection, I find it very underrated. The acting, script and plot all come together and I definitely recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2000
Dale McKussic / Mac (Mel Gibson) is seen regularly visiting his favourite Italian restaurant run by the beautiful Jo Ann (Michelle Pfeiffer) and cop Nick Frescia (Kurt Russell) wonders if Mac's criminal past is surfacing again especially with the latest news that Carlos, the Mexican druglord is making a trip to revisit his long-time pal, Mac. Could Mac be conducting his illegitimate business in this suave restaurant also frequented by influential people? Could Jo Ann be involved, after all, she is certainly 'slick' enough and has a wonderful rapport with her customers? Only thing is Nick isn't all that keen to bust his high school friend, but he has a job to do. Mac has said he quit the drug business but no one else wants him to. Jo Ann definitely never asked to become a pawn between these 2 buddies as a romantic triangle evolves. What else is there to worry about except that Jo Ann unsuspectingly sets eyes on Carlos, and now he wants to dispose of her since she can identify him. No one knows who he is (bar Mac, of course). [Note. For that reason I am not telling you who plays Carlos.] This movie isn't your 110mins of high brakes, roller-coaster, good-guy, bad-guy story, and I am a Pfeiffer fan but the romance and theme of comaraderie between friends is uplifting. Besides, casting includes Gibson and Russell! A favourite from this movie: " I can't believe what you've done with your life. You think you can do or say what you like, just like Carlos. You try to f*** her, he tries to kill her". I've watched it a few times now and still enjoy it as much as if I were to have a cocktail to relax. Definite place in my personal collection.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
As this item did not arrive, case was empty - hard to give review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2012
This film is an all time classic for me and i can remember the first time i saw it, way back in 1988.They dont make film`s like this anymore, and unlike other film`s from the mid to late eighties, Tequila Sunrise will never become an outdated movie and is a Must for any generation.Tequila Sunrise [DVD] [1988]
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Well here's a fun slice of 80's escapism, a rather ridiculous yet entertaining romantic thriller carried by some slick Movie Star performances from its central trio.

This tall tale finds Kurt Russell and Mel Gibson as a couple of long time friends who now find themselves on opposite sides of the law - Mel as a "retired" drug dealer and Kurt as the cop tasked with bringing him down. Michelle Pfeiffer (looking about as sensational as ever) finds herself in the middle of these two strapping studs as a story of drugs, sex, love and double crosses unfolds. Who are good guys? Who are the bad? Not sure who's got the moral high ground here but in the end it doesn't really matter.

It's enjoyable stuff with the aforementioned assured performances and some sharp scripting from acclaimed screenwriter Robert Towne (who also takes the directors chair on this occasion). There's enough action and intrigue to keep things ticking along nicely to the fiery conclusion and adds up to a quality couple of hours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2007
Mel Gibson is suave, cool and the typical anti hero in his role asadrug dealer. Childhood friend Ken Russel is stoic and on the opposite side of the law. Michelle Pfeiffer is divinely beautiful and really steals the show in an otherwise slow moving film noir.

While the ending may be unsatisfying to the typically cynical noir fan, it does not change the fact that this a far-above-average genre flick with an excellent cast and a superb script.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
Full of nail biting scenes ,coupled with humour and romance of course, good leading stars combination, and for ladies, anything with Mel Gibson, before his "curious" stages recently!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)