Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
110
Tender: Volume II, A cook's guide to the fruit garden
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.31+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 1 March 2017
Got a few Nigel books so this complements my collection perfectly. Fabulous recipes and pictures. Would recommend to all Nigel fans and in particular fruit lovers .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2017
Looks really good and lots of interesting recipes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2017
In fantastic condition. Love the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 21 November 2010
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
If you are familiar with Nigel Slater, you will have a pretty fair idea of what you are going to get here. If you have already seen/ already own Tender Vol 1, you will have an even clearer picture of what to expect. In common with Slater's other books you get infectious enthusiasm, beautiful writing, inspiring recipes, and encouragement to innovate. In common with Tender Vol 1, each chapter is dedicated to an ingredient with a bit about how to grow it, the varieties and Slater's experience of growing it in his own garden, as well, naturally, as the recipes. The difference, of course, is that this time his topic is fruit rather than vegetables.

In addition to the inevitable inclusions - apples, blackcurrants, gooseberries, plums, rhubarb etc, there are some less common fruits, figs, quince, whitecurrants, medlars.

As you might expect there are a lot of puddings in here (in fact you could probably cook a lifetime of puddings from this one book), plus a number of meat recipes, including a significant number of pork and game recipes. Less anticipated, the book also has quite a few salads, and through the inclusion of chestnuts, walnuts, amongst others, the recipes stretch to some interesting vegetarian options as well.

Some example recipes which give an overall feel for the contents of this mighty, 1200 page volume are:-

Pheasant with apples and cider
A deep cake of apples, cinnamon and nutmeg.
Spiced apricot couscous
Roast partridge with blackberry pan juices
Casserole of parsnips, chestnuts and mushrooms
Figs with gorgonzola
Celeriac and grape salad
Goats cheese and thyme scomes to accompany a pear
Mackerel with rhubarb

What else to say? It's a Nigel Slater cookbook, it's excellent, I recommend it.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 9 February 2013
I'll admit to being a fan of Nigel Slater and have most of his books. I love his style of cooking - nothing complicated nor anything too fussy - just fresh ingredients, simply cooked.

Although you might expect a book devoted to fruit to be primarily filled with desserts and sweet dishes, there are plenty of savoury dishes here too, particularly recipes involving game or pork. Examples include gammon with damson gin sauce, roast duck with damson ginger sauce, slow-roasted loin of pork with quinces & marsala, and roast partridge with blackberry juices. There are also accompanying dishes such as a lovely apricot pilaf or celeriac & grape salad.

The sweet stuff though is wonderful. There are several cheesecake recipes such as cherry cheesecake or the fab creamy cheesecake with a sharp damson sauce to temper the richness. There are a number of meringue recipes too - chestnut meringue, another meringue with a warm berry compote or with red berries & cream or a rosewater meringue with blackcurrants & cream. Simple fruit dishes include peaches with lemon verbena, or baked with maple syrup & vanilla, or grilled with mascarpone vanilla cream (easy but delicious). Or perhaps raspberries in elderflower jelly, cassis jelly with blueberries & crème fraiche, slow-baked figs with orange & vin santo, pear & lemon water ice or iced apricot & blackcurrant terrine.

Baked dishes include apricot & pistachio crumble, Jam roly poly, a beautiful cake with apples, blackberries, hazelnuts & cinnamon, pear & pecan tart, little Christmas tartlets of candied peel & nuts and chocolate & chestnut terrine (another rich dish).

This book and its companion vegetable volume are just so useful, even more so if you have an allotment or good kitchen garden.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2012
Lucky me. I was given this as a present. I like Nigel Slater and this does not disappoint. As usual, there's much more to this than the recipes. He really loves his food, and that shines through his writing in the descriptions, the extra detail, the comments.

I haven't actually cooked many recipes directly from this, but I've had inspiration from reading it and even from flicking through ("creamy cheesecake, sharp sauce" -mmmm, gammon with damson gin sauce, and just the simple listings of things that go well with any given fruit). But it's the background info on the fruits that I find most interesting and enjoyable to read. His description of how he used to love the blossom on fruits trees in the spring are a lovely reminder of exactly that. These are life's genuine, if fleeting, pleasures, and he conveys them brilliantly.

The book looks nice, too: good production. The odd detail I found a tad overdesigned (sideways table of contents...), but that's just a tiny complaint given that overall the design is splendid and really looks to have been done with care and attention to detail. Just like Nigel's writing. Like.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 October 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I've been a fan of Nigel Slater for a long time, as much for his writing as his recipes, and the second volume of Tender does not disappoint. Each chapter is based on a particular fruit, from apple to white currants. Although this is a fruit book, don't dismiss it as a rather grander looking Real Fast Puddings - there are lots of savory recipes too, such as roast duck legs with squash and blackberry and apple sauce, and mackerel with rhubarb and sherry vinegar.

My favourite recipe - gooseberry and elderflower fool - sums up his style perfectly. Simple (with only four ingredients) yet mouth-wateringly delicious!

The book is gorgeous (although mine is now covered in raspberry stains, but that just makes it look authentic) with simple, clear and crisp text and brilliantly picked photos. If you are a fan of Nigel Slater, buy it. If you are a fan of food buy it. If you are a fan of, hey, just buy it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2010
I've just been given this as an anniversary present and it is a little slice of heaven. I've not cooked a thing from it yet (only had it a few hours!) but I am inspired. We have inherited some fruit trees, brambles crawl over the fence as does a random grapvine and we've got spaces that beg to be used next year for (low maintenance!) fruit.

The layout of this book is sumptuous but practical, the advice and recipes are typically low key but precise and gently guide you. I have been dipping into Vol 1 Tender: Volume I, A cook and his vegetable patch this year, and it doesnt matter honestly if the produce comes from you own garden, the neighbour's glut, the farmers market or the supermarket. My gardening is haphazard, well-intentioned amateur style and has to fit into a pace of life that doesnt have a lot of space for pottering - but even a clutch of herbs, the occasional courgette and some salad leaves are hugely satisfying and falling off a log easy to achieve. If you can't / won't / don't grow a thing it's ok. You may be inspired to do so, but you'll definitely enjoy the simple flavours and delicious marriages of taste that Nigel creates in his book.

Not only that, it looks so perfect next to volume one on the shelf I am in a heaven of symmetry and feeling-luckiness!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2011
Having been a Nigel fan since his days at Marie Claire, I have, on occassion, strayed. However, I have now bought enough cookbooks to know that, unless you cook to impress your friends with towers of this and that and ingredients sourced from obscure regions of the world, then you really only need one author. Nigel Slater cooks like I want to cook, he eats like I want to eat and he makes the whole process totally enjoyable. This is Nigel Slater at his best,using the ingredients we find in our gardens or at the local market to make divine food. Don't bother with any other author and if you enjoyed volume 1 you will love this....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2010
Five years in the making, and a year after the publication of Voume 1 (A cook and his vegetable patch), this book is a labour of love. Care and affection has gone into every detail of this book. Physically, from the typeface, photography and even the way it feels in your hands, this is a work of art. Then there is the nurturing of the author's small urban garden to produce the fruit itself. This book is not a gardening book and doesn't claim to be, but as each fruit is introduced - from Apples to White Currants - there are a couple of pages of growing advice. Here Nigel Slater highlights the different fruit varities that prosper in different parts of the UK, including the north and Scotland (something many food writers fail to do). However, it is the recpies contained in this volume that bring joy. There's 500 pages of them (I like the fact that Volume 2 starts on page 625 and includes an index to both volumes). Despite the luxurious vibe of this book, the recipies are accessible, comforting and the ingredients lists generally short. The focus is on fruit, and with fruit being creation's way of giving us sweeties before the innovation of Spangles, many of the recpies are aimed towards the pudding end of the menu. However, this is not a book for fruitarians, and there are plenty of savoury combinations, such as lamb and apricot or black pudding and apple. Finally there are the fruits you might not have heard of, like quince and loganberries, which might encourage you to the nearest farmer's market. There's no chapter on any of the citrus fruits, but these acid bombs are thown into the pan in so many of the recpies that they needn't feel left out. This book will make you feel good, and it will make you popular too.
33 Comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse