Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
17
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£28.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2010
Having heard the good news Soundgarden were reforming I was equally happy when I heard they were releasing a new album. Of course being a compilation of their work isnt as good as a whole new album, but the inclusion of a DVD with video's from some of their singles made this a must have purchase. There is also a previously unreleased track on the second CD from their Badmotorfinger days called Black Rain which is a stonking tune.
While the other tracks can be found on their old albums, quite a few of them are actually live versions and this is the first SG album to contain Birth Ritual which was previously released on the Singles film soundtrack.
If you are a Soundgarden fan like me, and even though you may have all their albums, this is still an essential purchase. For Soundgarden newbies who like grunge music or similar then again, you cant go wrong with this album.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2010
Great quality pressing of 24 tunes from the 'Garden. As a retrospective collection, there are several tracks from their back catalogue which I'd have included at the expense of some on here. Somewhere, Head Down, Drawing Flies, Mind Riot, Nothing To Say, Let Me Drown, Ugly Truth...but who cares...if you're a fan you'll have them all.

Out-take 'Black Rain' sounds lime it was recorded circa 1990 and is impressive. Early stuff is well represented and Hunted Down is great indeed. Things peak without a doubt on Side three with the first three tracks from Badmotorfinger making up that side of the platter.

Also worth noting that nobody has remastered these tracks...they're as they were originally recorded. Which is exactly the way it should be.

Enjoy!
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2010
I'll be quick:
I have the whole Soundgarden discography,and I bought this "collection" just for one reason:
The DVD with the videos. Black rain is excellent but it does not justify the buy by itself.

The DVD is recognized as region 1 by a PC but is played without problems on sn European PS3.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
mix of soundgarden before chris cornell took up lead vocals and after; great all the way through. Includes classic tracks like Black Hole Sun; sounds particularly good on vinyl and even better that you get a rip of the vinyl so you have an MP3 version as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
This has to be the ultimate package for not just Soundgarden fans, but any fan of 90's grunge. Although spearheaded by Nirvana, the Seattle grunge movement (in particular those on the Sub Pop label) produced many fine bands - Alice In Chains, Stone Temple Pilots, Mudhoney etc, but the finest of whom (in my opinion) were Soundgarden..sounding very reminiscent of Black Sabbath but with a contemporary twist. This collection includes 24 superb tracks and 20 videos.
Watching these videos again, some of which I've not seen in 20 years (!) , almost brought a wee nostalgic tear to my eyes - these songs and videos really were a soundtrack to my youth (I'm 39) . Highly recommended to all you old school fans out there, and if you're a youngling? Buy this!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2010
The BBC review reckons the tracks are "sharper than Pearl Jam and Alice in Chains cuts from the same era"?!

Nonsense. Badmotorfinger sounds really, really dated now and is crying out for a remaster. It's a great record, Soundgarden's best in my opinion, and not remastering the tracks for this retrospective is an opportunity missed.

That said, this retrospective is decent. Im not sure it'll win new fans, and existing fans may see it is a bit of a cop-out. Some new material (ie. not offcuts from old sessions) or some remastering would've been preferrable.
55 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
This is a fantastic greatest hits collection by my favourite band. The Grunge Gods who are Soundgarden!!! Chris Cornell is the greatest rock vocalist since Robert Plant!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2011
Back in the Grunge days everything you heard was Nirvana. But there were some other bands from the same scene that were certainly as good.
Soundgarden was and is for my concern the greatest band from that era. The musicians played with hearth and soul, and Chris Cornell's
incredible voice just made this entire package complete: a band who was justified to call themselves Soundgarden.
Those guys had a patent on creating moments where you could feel the earth bursting open and sending us all back to the stone age,
with dinosaurs.

This retrospective is all I expected from it.
24 tracks made in Earth's core spanning their entire career plus a DVD with 20 video's. All of this presented with some very nice artwork,
which, perfectly suits the atmosphere Soundgarden's music creates.
The sound is as good as it gets, sending your ears to some kind of rock nirvana (pun not intended).

The only complaints I have is that "Jesus Christ Pose" is a live version on the album. Luckily the original version is on the DVD.
But still, if you know how incredibly orgastic the original version sounds, that live version just never gets ten miles near that
original geniality. The other complaint is the cardboard design which you can fold open in four sleeves. Although that's good for the environment,
it also is a labour to get the CD's, DVD and booklet out of their respective sleeves without tearing those open.

Even if you already have some Soundgarden albums, this is worth the purchase. The sound is perfect and the inclusion of the video's is very nice.
Just be carefull when you handle it and forget the live version of "Jesus Chirst Pose", it's not bad but the version on the DVD is what this
stellar song is all about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2010
the video collection complied gives a great insite into the band that has sometimes been overlooked, with extended and unscene videos. The three disc collection with 2 cds and dvd is a brilliant introduction for anyone. I would only recommend this deluxe collection if you really into the band and enjoy playing LP's. Soundgarden it is good to have you back!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2012
I was a huge Soundgarden fan having seen them perform three times and Chris Cornell once for the Euphoria morning tour.

I had an SG like Kim and they were heavily influencial in my songwriting. So when I heard they were reforming I had mixed feelings. Will they be a watered down version of what they were? Certainly the case in Chris Cornell's musical adventures post Soundgarden.

Telephantasm includes videos of most of the bands singles and for that it is worth buying alone. However, I was terribly disapointed that it didn't include the fantastic video for the previously unreleased 'Black Rain' which I happen to think is one of the bands best songs and their best video.

Everything from the 'Superunknown' and 'Down On The Upside' albums are essential inclusions. ( Should include personal fav's 'Fresh Tendrils' 'Limo Wreck''Head Down''Rhinosaur' 'Never the Machine Forever' and the acoustic version of 'Just Like Suicide' which was originally a B side on the 'Black Hole Sun' single.)

Instead of including these amazing songs they decided to start from the beginning and in Soundgarden's case, not a good place to start. Almost anything pre-Ben Shepherd should be forgotten, because quite frankly most of the stuff on the E.P's and 'Ultra Mega Ok' are pretty awful. The recording quality is terrible, especially the guitar sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here