Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
26
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 November 2008
I fantastic read, covers lots of aspects of different ancient civilisations and possible technology that they had. Brings up lots of questions as to how the pyramids were really constructed right through to the discovery of large portions of desert covered in a sheet of glass, possibly created from atomic blasts thousands of years ago.
Overall a very well written book and keeps the reader interested throughout. Definitely recommend to anyone interested in ancient history
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2000
This book is a good summary of many researches done before Mr Childress wrote the book. In particular, the chapter on Giza power plant was a good summary of Mr Dunn's book.
As a whole, the book is refreshing and proves that technology of high sophistication existed before, or rather have been in existence for longer than our conventional views of history permit us.
Depends on how you look at it, this book can be taken as support for theory of Atlantis, Sitchin's idea of the Annunakis or even Daniken's Chariots of the Gods.
On the whole, great stuff, and an eye opener!
0Comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2009
I was on holiday in Egypt and saw another holidaymaker reading this book and on or return decided to find out more. This book contains a wide variety of examples of evidence from differing cultures and civilisations demonstrating the existence of technology in ages past. Unfortunately many written records have been destroyed as new rulers take over, but definitive evidence together with some conjecture make the examples credible and amzing at the same time. How about the discovery of a working ancient slot machine!
I found this both an enjoyable and interesting read and it has prompted me to research more into Egyptian and Chinese history in particular.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
Arrived ahead of projected delivery date.excellent condition(as advertised).brilliant.recommend service to all and sundray.the book itself is excellent and does give to seriously deep thought about ghe distant past.overall a truly great experience i will most certainly repeat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2009
I found this book a huge disappointment. It was chaotically laid out and very difficult to follow as the same typeface was used for the author's own words and the (very extensive) quotations from other authors. Many of the illustrations were repeated at least twice throughout the text, and the photos/ illustrations were of poor quality.

The author cannot be accused of plagiarism since he gave correct attribution whenever he quoted from another author, but as I had just finished reading Christopher Dunn's book The Giza Power Plant, I was well placed to realise what huge chunks of Mr Dunn's book had been quoted in this book. I would think at least a third of this book consists of quoting the work of other authors.

Lastly, the references were very poor. Nearly every time I thought "What? That can't be right, where's the reference?", there was no reference.

Don't waste your money on this derivative dross.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2015
This book is a really interesting read, there are now some more up to date books on the same subject but the David's perceptions on the subject and the amount of not very known books, some of them really obscure gives a very good flavor to this research and to the reading. So if you are interested in the subject and research it, then you going to love, it opens new doors, if you are the kind of reader that want only hard facts, and is interested in knots and bolts then perhaps this one is not for you. David compares the mythology and old tales, he got an interesting collection of them, and compares with the technology of today and if you are familiar with the UFO lore, you will recognize some of the trends that David includes in the book. I must say a lot of the material is taken from Andrew Thomas's "We are not the first". Other book you should read if you are interested on this sort of research.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
He's the dude from Ancient Aliens - need I say more? Well, yes I do as I have a min word count... Purchase if you'd like a low-brow presentation of potential ancient archaeology sites/objects that is of interest to the ancient astronaut theory world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
I thought this book was going to be another along the lines of alien visitation.
It is refreshing that it give man more credit for his achievements, even as it can not be understood how this was achieved.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
I enjoyed this title by a well known author in this area and I look forward to reading more by him. His writing style takes a bit of getting used to but actually he is very readable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
I love a good read, and this is just that. Nothing is like opening a new book - e-readers eat your heart out! Will be added to my bookcase to be read again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)