Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
13
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 April 2013
Bottom line: this is a great little book for those with no real knowledge of finance that wish to have a basic understanding of financial concepts; the ideas are clearly explained and full of examples.

I work in a large company, in a business-orientated role, but have never had any finance-training - so this book is where I started. It is simple, clear and well broken-down into manageable chunks - each chapter dealing with a particular area of finance that one can come across, using examples to illustrate points and with 'test yourself' questions to make sure you understand key points.

Overall, I would say the value of this book is tremendous and would very strongly recommend it. If you read it over a weekend, you'll come in on Monday with a new appreciation of business finance!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2012
As always, Roger has produced a book which is easily digestible, this time in seven chapters, dealing in turn with the profit and loss account, balance sheet, published accounts, investment decisions, cash/working capital, costing and budgets. No prior knowledge is assumed, yet by the end of the book the reader will be able to talk authoritatively about the form and purpose of financial statements. He even manages to explain discounted cash flows and net present values in a manner which will not faze the average reader. I like the way the profit and loss account and balance sheet are built up over a series of transactions, and a liberal sprinkling of cartoons punctuate the text. Roger has a hinterland which shows itself in his writing, for example in the history of the phrase "Cash is king" (attributed to Jim Slater, a "minus millionaire" from Slater Walker), and the speculation as to how depreciation would have been applied to St Paul's Cathedral in the days of Sir Christopher Wren. All in all, highly recommended.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
I have read many of this type of books. I was impressed by how much useful info was packed into this one. The author write in a clear and jargon-free style, which makes it easier to understand the many concepts covered. Now with the negative points: the whole books is roughly 120 pages and, naturally, the author has had to make many compromises to stay within such a small page-count. The lack of detail limits the depth of the discussion and hence the quality of the book itself. Although, the title clearly defines the target audience, i.e. non-financial managers (who normally don't need/want to get a degree in management accounting but rather are satisfied with a general overview of the topic). I also found the daily exercises rather simplistic and sometime just plain silly. That having been said, I have learned something from this book and I would therefore recommend it to others needing to better understand business finance.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
Reading this book was rather painful. If you have a good foundation in finance this may be a good revision tool. It just doesn't explain everything well or in enough detail for you to gain any sort of understanding. Sure you'll learn a bit, but there's much better books out there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
There are so many books written about finance but few are readable by anyone who is not a financial wizard. This book is the exception. It is totally 'user friendly', understandable and useful whatever your level of expertise from none to full blown accountancy. All that's needed now is to find that 'spare week'! Can anyone sell me one of those?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
This is a good way of understanding the basic principles of accounting, however I wouldn't say it was suitable for a person who has absolutely no understanding of the subject at all. If you work in any business where your business unit has to be engaged with finance - it's a good way to gain a very quick understanding of the subject. It is a dirt cheap book and I can't think of a way that you could learn the subject more swiftly...however....the quality of the book (paper quality / cover) is not for the long term. it's a cheaply made paperback...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
I like this book and have bought others from the same company, i will now go on to buy the books on Accounts and Booking.Keeping from the same company.
Very happy with my purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2012
This is a brilliant, informative and easy-to-read book.

I would not hesitate to recommend it to everyone; whether from a financial or non-financial background!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2016
Good clear examples. Not as detailed as other books but nevertheless a good simple introduction for those with no finance background.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
Very basic stuff. Better information is available for free online
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)