Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 September 2000
What a change... an actual book written for the complete beginner, that delivers what it promises. Starting a course in computing and having no experience of programming at all, I decided to get a head start, using this book. It has given me a very good basis for programming which is no longer a daunting task. It would have been a 5 star rating had the chapter on looping been more a little more thorough, providing more working examples, but in every other aspect and every other chapter (hour)... this book is THE starting place for beginners, and 5 star in every other respect. A great investment which teaches not only good practice but good program design...
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2001
A no-nonsense guide to beginning programming. You start by learning about the history of programming and how programming is used in the workplace and go on to learn qbasic (which i didnt even know i had). And the fundamentals of many other languages (C, C++, Java, FORTRAN, Cobol) I learned a lot more from this book that just the basics of programming, and I am sure others will too. After reading this you should be well equipped for a programming future.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2002
Why beat about the bush? If you know nothing about programming, you could do no better than begin here. It's lucid, straightforward, but never patronizing or crass. You learn all the essential principles of programming, which are set out in a way that's easy to follow but gradually become challenging. Recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2008
This is a typically bad book to learn from. The author spends a lot of time telling the reader how easy programming is and then gives a few extremely basic examples before jumping to concepts that are incomprehensible, writing sentences such as: "An applet is actually a cubclass -- an inherited version of a predefined class -- that comes with the Java compler." Some of the words were defined earlier but all the same I'm struggling to decipher what the above sentence means... I know there must be a better way to learn programming....
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 1999
I wanted to do Visual Basic,but my programming base was a bit week.But thanks to Greg perry,I feel different now.He has concentrated on QBasic which is easy to understand and it will really give you a firm base to your programming career.It is worth every penny you spend on it.Just do it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2006
I've only received today, but I find this book fantastic because
# it's easy to read
# the approach is for a novice like me
# the lay-out is clear
# what they say you learn is what you really learn
# you are taken step-by-step
# you learn to write your first (simple) programme in the first lesson
# It destroys myths about programming (like you need to be good at maths to do programming - not true!)
# It gives you hope to learn and use programming efficiently
# it gives you hope for a new career
All these reasons will convince you to open the pages of this really wonderful tutor. For a beginner, with no knowledge of programming, this is fascinating. Buy it with confidence!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2000
As everyone else have already stated, this book offers all the basics of early programming skills, putting each comment into context with good use of examples and PLAIN ENGLISH. You do get the feeling however that the author is some what in favour of Microsoft developments with each chapter gradually steering you towards the success of Microsoft products. Not that this is a bad thing however, but just be aware of this when you are reading. For example, if VisualBasic.Net had been around at the time of writing you may not have learnt about Java programming in such detail. A great book however, one that will ensure I will invest in further SAMS series books. 12th Dec 2000. Martin Burton
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 1999
Having not programmed since I was in college, 14 years ago, I was looking for a way to get back up to speed on my programming skills. This book refreshed me on the basics and brought me up to speed on the new languages of today. I would highly recommend it as the FIRST book to read for anyone interested in programming. (It taught me some programming trivia that even the people in our MIS department did not know.) A Great Book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2000
I am a business analyst who wanted to understand more about what our programmers do. This book provided the perfect introduction. From having known nothing whatsoever about programming before, I now understand the fundamentals of QBasic, Visual Basic, C, C++, Java and HTML - and (more importantly for me) what they are all capable of. Buy it for the perfect non-techie's intro to programming.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2010
This book was published 12 years ago but still provides a comprehensive beginner`s course for someone not knowing anything about programming.

Greg Perry has the easy and informative style of a good tutor, providing the actual knowledge you require in manageable, understandable step-by-step stages.It includes simple explanations throughout with working examples in each chapter ( or "Hour" as they are called ) finishing off with a set of test questions...with answers in the back.

After reading and understanding all this beginner`s knowledge , it gives sufficient foundation to go down any path of your choice using the more modern programming systems currently in use.

How many "Beginners Teach Yourself" books have you tried in the past on a whole range of subjects ...only to have been lost and disappointed after a couple of chapters? This book is definitely NOT one of that type as it is one of those books that you just wanted to keep reading..

The best bit was that my used copy only cost [...] INCLUDING the p+p.

This is definitely the best and most informative book I`ve ever bought off Amazon..

An absolute bargain gem !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)