Tchaikovsky: Rare Transcr... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Tchaikovsky: Rare Transcriptions and Paraphrases Volume 1 - Orchestral and Opera

2.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

Price: £13.63 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
21 new from £9.31 1 used from £9.65
£13.63 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Conductor: None
  • Composer: Tchaikovsky
  • Audio CD (23 July 2012)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Divine Art
  • ASIN: B0085U0GUQ
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 2.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 418,676 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Marche Slave, Op. 31
  2. Potpourri On Themes from the Opera 'The Voyevoda'
  3. Theme and Variations
  4. Pezzo in Forma Di Sonatina: Andante Non Troppo - Allegro Moderato
  5. Valse: Moderato - Tempo Di Valse
  6. Élégie: Larghetto Elegiaco
  7. Finale (Tema Russo): Andante - Allegro Con Spirito

Product Description

This recording is the first in a two-volume series of transcriptions and paraphrases for solo piano of music by Tchaikovsky, most of which are receiving their first recordings. Volume one concerns orchestral concert works and operatic music; the second is of his ballets. He himself has long been recognised as a master of piano writing, the most famous example being his Piano Concerto No. 1 in B flat minor, Op. 23, famously pronounced unplayable (and worthless) by the great pianist Nikolai Rubinstein but which has become one of the best loved and most performed of all piano concertos. Tchaikovsky himself made piano versions of his own works, mostly for four hands, and approved paraphrases of his works by an admired piano virtuoso such as Paul Pabst (see volume 2 Divine Art DDA25106 due for release in late 2012). Described by The New York Times as a man whose nature was designed with pianos in mind, Anthony Goldstone is one of Britains most respected pianists. A sixth-generation pupil of Beethoven through his great teacher Maria Curcio, Anthony Goldstone was born in Liverpool. He studied with Derrick Wyndham at the Royal Manchester College of Music (which later honoured him with a Fellowship), later with Curcio in London. He has enjoyed a career encompassing six continents, the Last Night of the Proms (after which Benjamin Britten wrote to him, Thank you most sincerely for that brilliant performance of my Diversions. I wish I could have been at the Royal Albert Hall to join in the cheers), very many broadcasts and seventy CDs (including the BBC issue of his London Promenade Concert performance of Beethovens fourth Piano Concerto). He has an adventurous approach to repertoire and has been praised by Viennas Die Presse for his astonishingly profound spiritual penetration. In the last few years Goldstone has become known for his acclaimed completions and realisations of works for solo piano and piano duet by Schubert, and for two pianos and solo piano by Mozart, all of which he has recorded on Divine Art CDs as part of an astonishingly inventive discography which has attracted acclaim worldwide.

Customer Reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
The Divine Art label is nothing if not adventurous, often casting its repertoire net wider than that of many other labels, and on this new CD, the first of what promises to be a valuable two-CD exploration of Tchaikovsky’s music in versions for solo piano, we have the opportunity of being able to experience the composer’s art through the medium by which such music is hardly ever heard. Nor is this a gimmicky approach—for when this music first appeared, it was through transcriptions, either for one pianist or for two pianists at one instrument, that the majority of music-lovers initially encountered it. It is also fascinating to hear familiar music in this guise because it enables the attentive listener to concentrate upon the inner workings of this music, and thereby acquire a deeper understanding of Tchaikovsky’s genius.

"Thankfully, also, we have the inestimable advantage of having Anthony Goldstone as our guide in this project, and the results are musically outstanding. Not only is this recording quality very good indeed, but also the booklet notes are particularly informative, yet it is the pianist’s committed approach which is the most compelling aspect of this programme, containing as it does, particularly effective transcriptions by Goldstone and Lippold. We are promised that Volume 2 will contain transcriptions by Pavel Pabst, which should be just as valuable as these."

- Alexander Leonard (Musical Opinion)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Most of the transcriptions were not made by the composer but by the pianist himself. I believe there are about fifty transcriptions by Tchaikovsky's own hand,so why make new ones? They are nicely played, but I would rather have the originals.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Unique Tchaikovsky - Repertoire of a By Gone Era 13 April 2013
By Dennis E. Ferrara - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Anthony Goldstone's unique Russian repertoire cd series now offers a uniqueTchaikovsky disc with beautiful performances of repertoire which should be performed by more concert pianists instead of the standard "deadly dozen." The recording sound and engineering iswarm and the playing offers subtley, nuanance and beautiful phrasing. These are welcome additions to any collection especially for those pianists and aficandoes who love unique 19th century piano repertoire.
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

Look for similar items by category