Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 September 2009
To have both Nunez and Cojacaru on the stage at Covent Garden at once is so moving. They are at their very best here. Sound, camera work and exceptional performance by both the Royal Ballet and the orchestra make this more than a winner! Alina Cojacaru is an all time world beater in this role. I always thought that this was Tchaikovsky's third ballet but I am astounded by how much it improves when the very best dance it! Brings one to tears! A 21st Century masterfull performance BEATS ALL THE OTHERS. I am watching it now you can feel the audience bursting with emotion I am in tears! Cojacoru's performance! - the sound!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2017
I splashed out and treated myself to the Blu-ray version of this, and boy was it worth it. I am no ballet expert by any stretch of the imagination, but the beauty and skill and lusciousness of this production drew my breath away. For once, I didn't have to have my TV sound full on like I usually do with DVD films, and the orchestral sound was full and wonderful. The dancing of the leading artists, Alina Cojacaru, Marianela Nunez and Federico Bonelli was, to my very untrained eyes (thus never sitting watching and fault finding) stunning and beautiful, and the acting throughout was balanced and understated and not over the top at all. The sets were thoughtfully worked out and didn't disappoint.

There are some 1 & 2 stars awarded by other reviewers which has brought down the overall star rating, but I really don't know what DVD's they were reviewing as this one being sold has nothing to do with Walt Disney, so please ignore them and just buy this DVD (or Blu-ray) and ENJOY!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2016
Got delivered today, Xmas gift, quick delivery would by again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
A good screen version of the Royal Ballet's current production, although I still prefer the earlier design.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2010
I am not sure why I bought this; I think it was an impulse buy because half-term was coming up and I knew my kids would be a bit bored. It is a cheap, inferior product and the animation is rubbish. Avoid!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
With such a large choice of Sleeping Beauty films on Amazon I thought I would buy my little grand-daughter a slightly more expensive version to be sure of getting the right film. This is a complete waste of money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
Wasn't made clear it wasnt Disney dvd and it only lasted 30 minutes granddaughter really disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 2006 performance and recording of the Royal Ballet's Sleeping Beauty has achieved such a level of popular success that it could almost be described as having reached cult status. The only issue to decide is whether it deserves this level of popular support. The short answer, in my opinion, is a resounding 'Yes'!

In greater detail therefore:

Having owned several visual productions of note of this ballet I can truthfully say that this has completely replaced all the others with some ease. The staging is traditionally sumptuous with no expense spared on the glorious costumes. The backdrops and general settings are of the same order. The only similar attention to detail and visual beauty that I have seen previously has been by the Kirov ballet. Perhaps the additions to Petipa's original choreography by such luminaries as Frederick Ashton, Anthony Dowell and Christopher Wheeldon provide part of the answer.

As regards the dancers themselves - this particular recording has the benefit of many outstanding artists who perfectly fit their roles. In particular Alina Cojocaru and Marianela Nunez make a perfect coupling of Princess Aurora and the Lilac Fairy demonstrating limitless grace and charm. Genesia Rosato's enthusiastic portrayal of her role as Carabosse is a delight and Alastair Marriott clearly has a great time in his somewhat extravagant costume with spectacular feathery hat! Federico Bonelli lends appropriate support as Prince Florimund.

The corps de ballet and numerous supporting fairies, members of the Court and the character dancers are all equally excellent in their roles which are too many to itemise here. Suffice it to say that this is a state of the art production of the Royal Ballet at its very best.

The imaging is crisp with fully involving camera work providing excellent colour rendition without a trace of movement blur. The sound is provided in faithful PCM 5.1 surround and stereo formats. Initially this may seem a little dry but the ear quickly adjusts to the correct acoustics of a packed theatre with masses of soft clothing to soak up reverberation which fortunately has not been added artificially to compensate.

The bonuses are limited to an illustrated synopsis and a cast gallery. There are interesting sleeve notes giving some historical perspective to the development of the ballet from its inception to the present.

It all adds up to an unbeatable combination which fully warrants its lasting popularity. This will be the dream recording for a great number of purchasers and as such can only be rated with any seriousness as a clear 5 star issue.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2010
This classic ballet deserves to be in everyone's collection. The music is, of course, gorgeous and on the Blu-ray disc there are 2 audio options to choose - PCM 5.1 and PCM 2.0. Both versions are very satisfactory although my preference is for the former which provided a good dynamic range and excellent clarity. A demonstration quality disc!

The video quality is absolutely superb and the level of detail is amazing - all the better to enjoy the wonderful costumes of this traditional ballet. Much as I enjoy any live performance, after experiencing Blu-ray discs of this quality it is always disappointing to miss all the detail which you get from the most expensive seat in the house - in your own living room! Money cannot buy this unique seat.

It is perhaps unfair to single out any individual for specific praise but Marianela Nunez was especially fabulous in her role as the Lilac Fairy. All the Principal artists are world class.

There are no extras on the disc other than a useful synopsis and cast gallery. The disc comes with a very informative booklet. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2012
I agree with the other reviewers about the performance but the picture is far from being state of the art. I don't know if it is the fault of the lighting or the recording. The sound recording was good but the acoustics doesn't fit. This is the second time with Cojucaro and Nunez that I have such issues. In Giselle, the picture was very good but the sound was awful. Pity
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)