+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by ThePolarBear
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Quick despatch from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Tchaikovsky: The Nutcracker (Experience Edition with Hardcover Book) Double CD

4.6 out of 5 stars 7 customer reviews

Price: £12.37 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Double CD, 1 Nov 2010
£8.29 £7.99
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
19 new from £8.29 2 used from £7.99
£12.37 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Product details

  • Orchestra: Berliner Philharmoniker
  • Conductor: Simon Rattle
  • Composer: Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky
  • Audio CD (1 Nov. 2010)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Double CD
  • Label: EMI Classics
  • ASIN: B003XX2OAU
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 7 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 120,143 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Miniature Overture
  2. No. 1 - The Decoration of the Christmas Tree
  3. No. 2 - March
  4. No. 3 - Children's Galop and Entry of the Parents
  5. No. 4 - Arrival of Drosselmeyer
  6. No. 5 - Scene - Grandfather's Dance
  7. No. 6 - Clara and the Nutcracker
  8. No. 7 - The Battle
  9. No. 8 - In the Pine Forest
  10. No. 9 - Waltz of the Snowflakes

Disc: 2

  1. No. 10 - The Kingdom of Sweets
  2. No. 11 - Clara and the Prince
  3. Chocolate: Spanish Dance
  4. Coffee: Arabian Dance
  5. Tea: Chinese Dance
  6. Trepak: Russian Dance
  7. Dance of the Reed Pipes
  8. Mother Gigogne
  9. No. 13 - Waltz of the Flowers
  10. No. 14 - Pas de deux
  11. Variation I: Tarantella
  12. Variation II: Dance of the Sugar-Plum Fairy
  13. Coda
  14. No. 15 - Final Waltz and Apotheosis

Product description

Product Description

Simon Rattle and the Berliner Philharmoniker have recorded the most performed ballet of all time, Tchaikovsky's The Nutcracker. The release marks the conductor's first Tchaikovsky recording. This recording also features an appearance by the boy band Libera.

This special 'Experience Edition' includes a sumptuous hardcover book, with detailed information on The Nutcracker and its history, illustrated with photographs, set and costume sketches and posters from many productions of the ballet. This edition also grants exclusive access to a dedicated Nutcracker web site, including live concert footage and interviews with Rattle and members of the BPO.

The Nutcracker is a two-act ballet, composed by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky in 1891. It has since become a Christmas tradition in many countries around the world.

Simon Rattle is an award-winning conductor, and Chief Conductor and Artistic Director of the Berliner Philharmoniker orchestra.

BBC Review

Simon Rattle has produced a conception-buster of a disc here. As a general rule, The Nutcracker feels like the comfort blanket of the ballet repertoire: a much-loved, known quantity of solid, 19th century sumptous prettiness. However, Rattle has taken his expertise in early 20th century music and brilliantly applied it backwards to Tchaikovsky. The result is enlightening. You clearly hear how Act I inspired Stravinsky when writing Petrushka, and there's also more than a whisper of Ravel in the overall tone of bright, nostalgic modernity.

The Nutcracker's action is set on Christmas Eve, when Clara is given a nutcracker toy by her mysterious godfather. At midnight the toy comes alive. After Clara helps him to conquor the evil Mouse King in battle, he turns into a prince and leads her to the Land of Sweets, where the Sugar Plum Fairy treats them to a series of fantastic dances. These dances make up one of the few balletic divertissements (diversions from the main plot) that is indisputably integral to the evenings enjoyment, rather than the cue for non-hardcore ballet fans to start clock-watching. The reason is that they include many of the most memorable and popular pieces in the whole classical canon, such as Waltz of the Flowers and Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy. It's so infectiously, festively fun that even the Berlin Philharmoniker, famed more for their rich, smooth perfection than for letting their hair down, has fallen into party mode, albeit of the cocktail rather than the student shin-dig variety. The Battle crackles brightly with military tension, half-aware that the most deadly weapon will turn out to be a thrown slipper. Later, in the smouldering coffee dance, the clarinet langourously rises and snakes over the orchestra like an exotic swirl of steam rising up from the dark spiciness of the cup beneath.

The recording is released in three editions. Whilst the single-CD edition contains musical highlights, this performance is worth owning in full. Of the two double-CD, complete-work options, there is a Standard Edition or an Experience Edition, the latter of which includes a larger hardback book, greater online content, and a free 24-hour pass to the Berlin Philharmoniker's online concert hall.

--Charlotte Gardner

Find more music at the BBC This link will take you off Amazon in a new window

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 7 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 March 2011
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
33 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2011
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2011
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: office accessories, stationery pens, stationery holder, stationery organiser, black pencil

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?