Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
20
3.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 December 2013
These 13 tales are accounts of various haunted buildings and areas around Britain and areas associated with occult practices. Some of these accounts are scary, Clapham Wood being one such example. A very good, spine-tingling read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
I've bought two books by this author and really enjoyed reading both. A lot of paranormal authors are either over dramatic or they tend to be too boring lol Peter Drake makes an excellent balance of both and his books are hard to put down. Hope her writes more :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
This book was not particularly scary, but a much more interesting read ,as written by someone who is willing to broach the possibility of the supernatural with an open mind and in doing so, allows the reader to believe that amongst the show men (or show women) who do nothing more than ridicule the possibility of the supernatural, there are those that are trying to find natural explanations to unexplained phenomena and in doing so prove that sometimes, it could actually be real!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
After reading some of the other reviews I was looking forward to some interesting tales. I can't say I was disappointed some if the stories are very interesting. If you are expecting to be terrified of even slide to the edge of your seat I'm afraid you may well be disappointed. I've been more frightened going to the bathroom in the dark. However a reasonable summary if some haunted venues.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2012
These thirteen (now there's an occultish number) really did leave me with a terrible sense of dread and the creepy feeling I was being watched. This type of book is quite rare, although Eerie Britain is in this mould. I love witchcraft and of course, the Pendle Hill witch trials of Lancashire have left a creepy uneasiness in the area where they took place, and I would implore anyone who can to visit Pendle. Denny Abbey is also the subject of one tale, and without spoiling the ending, can I just advise the reader not to read this book with the lights off?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
Having read the author's previous book that I really enjoyed very much, I thought that I would read this follow up. This book focuses more on the occult and darker aspects of the paranormal. These is a good variety of material, from lesser known locations through to larger, more infamous cases. Some of the details are really quite scary, and in some cases a little disturbing. However, despite that, it is a captivating read and I just could not put it down. If you liked the first book, then you will love this one. Definately recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
This book was so badly written that it was not remotely scary. The first story was about some people supposedly terrified by some kind of satanic cult that find one of their sheep mutilated and ends with a totally non-climatic conclusion about no other eerie activity happening at their farm recently and the family in question being fine. The author is connected to some group that investigate paranormal activity called WOLF who seem to rely mainly on speculation and 'feeling scared' to prove paranormal activity. The climax of one tale at a 'haunted castle' had the author suffering from the terrifying sensation of, wait for it, his left ear 'becoming very warm'. Absolute rubbish. Avoid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
As with Peter Drake's previous book 'tales of ghostly horror' this book involves stories mostly from around the British isles.
The book is short but keeps you entertained.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
After purchasing the book it arrived fairly swiftly and in top condition but having other things to do as the time I was forced to put it to one side to read later on. when i finally got around to giving it a read, I only managed to struggle though the intro and 4 pages before dropping it into the bin. It feels as if it has been written by a minor. The poor quality writing offered very little in the way of suspense and seemed to lack even the most basic of literary skills required to ensnare or even hold the concentration of the reader, even the title is a bad contradiction.

Personally i would not recommend this book to anyone.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
an enjoyable book, some heart stopping moments,not one to read before bed.ok for on a sunny day sunbathing, or with the lights on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)