Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
53
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 19 September 2017
takes me back to fun times in my life - just love the dog!
Brilliant fun & to be honest not aged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2017
a blast from the past !!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2009
In 80's tv dominated by mega bucks and shoulder pad soaps, this pulp inspired series was like a breath of fresh air. It was set in the South Pacific in the late thirties on a fictional chain of islands split between the French and the Japanese. The "Gold Monkey" was a bar run by the sophisticated and well dodgy "Bon Chance" Louie. Played by Roddy McDowall (apart from pilot episode), he was a former member of the French Foreign Legion and inmate of Devil's Island. Other colourful characters included Jake Cutter, pilot of the Goose flying boat, and his alcoholic co-pilot Corky. His other side-kick was a one-eyed dog who appeared to understand several languages. Love interest was provided for Jake in the form of Sarah - torch singer and American spy. Another spy was Rev. Tenboom who worked for the Nazis, but had more interest in the local maidens than his German masters. The Eurasian Princess Koji was a villain in the classic "Dragon Lady" mode who had an army that appeared to be from another century, including a samurai called Todo.

If unashamed escapism is your thing, you could do a lot worse than check out this excellent piece of tongue in cheek adventure.
Messin' About Fan.
33 Comments| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
This is a bit dated now, but I still love it. There is some genuinely amusing comedy still, and the melting pot of different nationalities and their different aims reflects the situation in the far east before WWII. Years since I saw this on telly and I was not disappointed with it when I watched it again. Some effects a bit naff by today's standards, but some of the plotlines still pretty good. I'd say the plots are a bit like of the writers of Blakes 7 tried to write Indiana Jones...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2011
I expected to be disappointed by very B quality viewing. I have often got old DVDs or films only to think...uh...why did I like this the first time round?
NOT the case here. The quality is great. They may well be "B" film stories and the fight scenes are definitely "theatrical" as someone else wrote, but it's GREAT. Really Great stuff. If you are a fan of "pulp" type novels and fiction or even the modern equivalent like say Hellboy graphic novels, then get this DVD. It has it all. Evil Nazis up to no good, a "goodish" nazi, a cruel and super sexy evil princess, the various "good girl" hotties and interviews with the cast presently, many years later.
Don Bellisario still makes the best stuff, like NCIS and this shows why. Oh and yeah...this Gold Monkey stuff PRE_dated Indiana Jones, so THERE Steven Spielberg!
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Just as I remember the series
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
a memory revisited, a bit more corny than I remember, but good fun none the less
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2010
I absolutely adored this series when I was a kid and was so excited when I saw it was finally out on DVD and it didn't disappoint. It is pure escapism, very much in the Indianna Jones mode. Other reviewers have given brilliant synopses of the series so I won't bother with that, I'll just say although this box set appears to have a hefty price tag it's got good detail, good quality, lots of nice extras and a kind of souvenir booklet with more depth on each episode. Good buy.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
A much more innocent age of action adventure. No lurid violence, no swearing, no explicit sex, no extreme horror. Just good old fashioned daring-do and near scrapes with the good guys getting the upper hand in the end.

Likeable cast, especially the dog, not too daft storylines - good easy watching to settle down to. Don't expect great special effects - there weren't any in those days. You're expected to not mind the low-tech effects and engage a little imagination to make it come alive.

For a likeable adventure series and for buck per hour of watching its a good buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2009
I have fond memories of watching this cool show on BBC1 in 1982, so I'm fanatically impressed with the wonderful Fabulous Films for acquiring the DVD rights to Tales Of The Gold Monkey. They have produced a beautiful DVD box set for this show, the menus alone are amazing even before you actually watch an episode. Also included is a detailed booklet with information about each episode. Disk six has some extra bonus material including a documentary with key people on the show talking about their experiences during the production. Excellent purchase.
11 Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)