Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
25
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 August 2008
If your a lover of the Taxi films then your gonna love this, Taxi 4 was released in France last year a whole ten years after the first movie hit the screens and their still hitting top gear.

Admittedly my favourite Taxi movie is number two, that one topped the first installment and even though number three was good it didn't beat the second one. Now the gang is back once again for another crazy story involving almost the entire cast. (no lilly at all, even though her parents are in this).

This movie is based a few years on from the last one as we left them in number three with emillien just becoming a father and our speedfreak hero Daniel finding out Lilly is also pregnant, making them focus on having to grow up and take on real responsibility. the former they just couldnt accomplish (men never grow up, I know so... I am one lol)

In Taxi four we find them with their sons aged around five, veritable miniatures of their fathers and the boys do get involved in the story as well although thankfully they dont become focus of the whole plot.

The main story of this movie is that a belgian terrorist (I know, just the thought of it) is being transferred through marseilles and its the police's responisbility to keep him contained within his cage (literally).

Knowing this means automatically somehow their bufoonery lets the terrorist escape and all pandemonium ensues leading to our heroic duo joining forces once more to save the day.

There are one or two changes with this movie compared to the last three, first off as previously mentioned there is no lilly (daniels partner) and personally more importantly the car has changed.

From a Peugeot 406 to.... a 407.

While this makes little difference to the movie they again like Taxi 3 focus less on the car and more on the characters which in some respects is good but in others makes Taxi two still stand out as the best for its action scenes.

The cresendo of the movie seems to be a little bit of a parody of scarface, note the room their in looks alot like the final scenes of scarface and our chief of police does what he does best, create mayhem.

All in all this is a good movie, still personally not the best of them but an inprovement on number three.

A great stand alone movie if your a virgin taxi viewer as its a great action comedy, but for the fans who have followed the movies from one to three this is a great addition to the collection.

Viva le T4xi!!!
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2008
I am a hard core fan of all the Taxi movies because they are funny and all the stunts are real, which makes a difference from the Hollywood American hero crap. T4xi is a very funny movie, the jokes are good and its a good film to sit back and watch. Unfortunately Daniel doesnt really have much to do in this 4th installment as its mainly about Emelien on a mission to catch a crook whom he accidentaly released from the Police station. It is a good film, but there were opportunities they didnt take, such as a scene in Monaco which i thought could have been a great place for a car chase scene round the F1 GP circuit.

Over all, a little disappointing especially if you are a big fan of the Taxi movies like me. But its still a good laugh and an enjoyable film to watch, Daniel has a new car and you get to see the kids. My only complaint is that Lilly is not in this movie, i was very sad she was not part of the story.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
Brilliant movie,

Best of the four. (only in the sense of over kill with the taxi mods in the later movies).

Luc Besson found some great actors and has made some of the best and funniest action scene's possible.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 August 2009
If, like me, you've been waiting an age to get this from the UK, then don't bother, you're best getting the French edition like I did. But really it's not even worth bothering with that, as this is the worst Taxi yet, with the silliest of plots, not much variation, and Emileien getting stupider by the moment, leaving only Sami Narceri to look good in this. Why Gibriel Cisé had to be in this is beyond me, he doesn't really have much of a role either. Oh and the commissioner is just so awful in this one, you'll be screaming in pain.

You don't believe me? Look at the French Amazon site, it averages about 2 stars, and really because the plot is so thin, with the crew supposed to look after a Belgian terrorist, I really don't need to say more, because I bet you can guess what happens next and where it leaves everyone?

The only good thing about this film is the rap - Sniper's lyrics are brilliant at the end, but they're not really about Taxi 4, and the instrumentals inside the film are smashing. There are a few car chases but they're nothing like they were in Taxi 1 or 2; and Daniel only gets to fire up his turbos once in the entire film, what a joke!

Hopefully Optimum will do a good job DVD wise, with some good extras. I suspect this will get a 12 from the BBFC, though it does have some drug usage.

Not really worth waiting, if you are desperate, get it in France, but you'll need to be pretty good with your French, not that it's that hard to understand anyway due to the nature of the movie.

Poor, ca suffit!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2011
Following on from Taxi was always going to be a hard thing to do.A little lack lustre but still good escapism, but if the price is right , still a worthwhile addition to any collection.Sami Naceri looks a little older but manages to pull off the same character with style.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 August 2012
The original Taxi film was an absolute classic. Taxi 2 and Taxi 3, while still enjoyable, were increasingly far-fetched and cartoon-like with the taxi sprouting wings and snow tracks. I was really expecting this to continue the trend, but instead it has dumped all the gimmicks and concentrated on the characters and the humour.

Nearly all the familiar characters are here, with the notable exception of Daniel's wife, and all the old jokes are here too with plenty of new ones to keep them company.

If you enjoyed the original film but were put off by the sequels then you really should give this one a chance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
Wouldn't have paid full price for it, but its definitely worth the £3-£4 Amazon charge for it. It's better than Taxi 3, but not as good as the first one (as so few films are).

If you liked the first one, its enjoyable. More emphasis on the story than just on Daniel driving his taxi fast
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
Arrived on time....throughout the whole movie it froze once for a split second, then played on. i gave it 3 stars because the taxi driver didnt drive at all in this movie except once to get the football player to the game. that was it. No nudity which i was hoping to see again and no Marion Cotillard, who i was dying to see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
I wasn't expecting fireworks for the 4th outing of the Taxi series but this had me laughing all the way through.

This episode is really more about the Chief, who is outstanding and hilarious.

Definitely worth watching.

I know previously this episode was hard to get, so glad its now in stock at Amazon with English subtitles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
I was a little worried after watching Taxi 3 that the series was going down hill. At less than a fiver it was well worth the punt just in case it was an improvement and whilst 1&2 remain the best, T4xi has renewed my faith in the series.

Taxi is never going to challenge you intellectually, unless you are learning French or find it difficult to read subtitles without tracing your finger along the words but if you're in for a couple of hours of silliness with the odd car chase thrown in, then go for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.39

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)