Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £0.99

Save £13.57 (93%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.
kindle unlimited logo
Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for £0.00
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Sword and the Dragon: 2016 Modernized Format Edition (The Wardstone Trilogy) by [Mathias, M. R.]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Sword and the Dragon: 2016 Modernized Format Edition (The Wardstone Trilogy) Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 51 customer reviews
Book 1 of 3 in The Wardstone Trilogy

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£0.99

Length: 613 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £3.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

40 Kindle Books for £1
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to £1 each. Learn more

Complete Series
Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply

Product description

Review

Overall The Sword and the Dragon (A+) is an impressive debut - a traditional fantasy that manages to be fresh. It succeeds in offering a complete reading experience. I was pleasantly surprised to see a high level of editing for a quite long independent novel. See the full review here: fantasybookcritic.blogspot.com --Fantasy Book Critic Fans of Tolkien and CS Lewis will find much to enjoy to enjoy in M.R. Mathias' debut fantasy novel. This is a big book, with a steady flow throughout. Read this book. Take up your sword and get ready for a hugely enjoyable adventure. --Book Smart UK After reading all three of the Wardstone novels I find myself wanting more. I love Hyden, Mikahl, and Phen. This is a great fantasy trilogy. Well written and worth every penny. The characters may never leave me -- Review of The Wizard and the Warlord - The Wardstone Trilogy Book Three -- Liz Cornwell, Amazon Review "You've (Mathias) already achieved much, much more than so many people who liketo think of themselves as writers." -- @Gollancz TheDeputy Publishing Director of SF, Fantasy & Horror list of the OrionPublishing Group. I bought and read this wonderful story. It has so much action and interaction in it, and it never lost my interest. This story will go far and I am really looking forward to the next book in the trilogy. Sep. 04, 2010 --T. Ellis Smashwords Review I was captivated with this book from the first page. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to support a new author and who likes fantasy novels with lots of graphic action. Full review at: books-treasureortrash.com/ --Books-Treasure or Trash

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2344 KB
  • Print Length: 613 pages
  • Publisher: Michael Robb Mathias Junior (24 July 2010)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003X9775Q
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars 51 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #173,372 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
I have always been a sucker for a good fantasy novel, ever since I read JRR Tolkien’s ‘The Hobbit’ as a child. It has been a few years since I read a fantasy novel, after having devoured Stephen Donaldson’s ‘Thomas Covenant’ series, so I thought that I would be nostalgic and give this a go. I am glad I did. This book is really the story of one all-powerful evil wizard. The book opens with the suspicion that he has poisoned the King of Westland, rather like King Joffrey Baratheon from Games of Thrones, in order to put his young protege, the Prince, on the throne. Unfortunately, this is not the full extent of his ambition as he intends to defeat all neighbouring rulers and become all-powerful. He sends his daughter to get hold of a dragon’s egg. This will enable him to control the mother wizard and bend her to his will, making her a formidable weapon against his enemies. Two young human brothers get caught up in this plot; one falls in love with the wizard’s daughter and goes to steal the dragon’s egg for her, the other finds himself assisting a young squire to fight against the new evil in Westland.

The characters in the story are very well-realised and we really care what will happen to the three young men at the centre of the story. Gerard risks all for love, Hyden develops as he bonds with his hawkling to be able to see through the bird’s eyes and Mikahl learns that he can wield the magic sword Ironspike, and must do so, against the evil wizard and his minions. Alongside these three main characters are wizards and witches, sorcerers and seductresses, mythical creatures and noble men. There is a lot of action to keep you turning the pages and you are left with a desire to get straight on to the second part of this trilogy. I for one would thoroughly recommend this book, especially if you are into dragons, sword and sorcery.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
M.R. Mathias has a way of putting you right there where the action is taking place. I held my breath while Gerard scaled the cliffs for hawk eggs, but disregards his own life as he jumps ledges to secure a magical ring. But this was just a foretaste of a more dangerous climb he would partake.

I sympathized with Mikahl over the loss of his beloved king and his secret mission that would forever label him an outlaw and prevent him from returning home. He knew he must succeed at getting Ironspike to a secure location and away from the weak prince.

Mathias slowly builds the pressure and responsibility that Hyden is under as he was first chosen as the archer who will represent his people in a prestige competition, then onto the baby hawk that legends say will determine their future. Every step he takes seems to escalate the danger he is about to encounter.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
The beginning of this book is very nice-lots of action, decent characters, even interesting POV character shifts, which are hard for me to get involved in. However, the author doesn't keep it up; once you get past the first 100 pages in this 500+-page book, the action shifts to a lot of summaries of action-instead of getting to see what the characters see and feel what the characters feel, we get a summary of all but a few things, which isn't nearly as satisfying. I felt like the author should have written more, shorter books with unrelenting action rather than trying to stuff everything into three books. If he had had the same excellent pacing and action from the beginning, I would have been able to overlook a lot of other nitnoids, but as it was, I just got annoyed.

For example, I didn't care for the villains; they didn't seem to be fully developed and I couldn't find them terribly threatening, but that may have been because they didn't really get much action in the book until after the author had started summing things up. They get a few scenes here and there, but the main villain comes across as mostly a lite, overly melodramatic version of Flagg from Stephen King's books. Another thing-there are a couple of token women and other races, but really, this book is about seeing things from the perspective of the male, human characters. If the character is female or non-human, expect an early death, a supporting role for the male, human chosen ones, or a lot of sobbing over a lover. But like I said-if the whole book had been as immediate and fun as the beginning, I probably wouldn't have noticed or cared.

3/5
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The Sword and the Dragon is an exciting fantasy fiction following multiple characters and their individual problems and quests. The one thing that really captivated me was how well written the characters are, each of them being unique and well developed. This book is very much fantasy, which is personally my favourite genre, I guess you could compare M R Mathias to George R R Martin or maybe J R R Tolkien yet he's created a very individual story which is a whole new world of fantasy. I was really impressed by this book and I can't wait to read the next in the series, I would highly recommend this book.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
This book is a monster and not just in size. M. R. Mathias has managed to do something extremely difficult in the fantasy genre - create something new and unique. Well written and compelling it literally turns the pages itself. I would compare this to Lord of the Rings except that LOTR couldn't hold my interest like this book. Mathias' characters are rich and well developed, the story flows easily and the reader is lost in the incredible world that's been created.

I will confess that I really wasn't expecting this novel to be as engaging as it was, a lot of hype can sometimes just be a lot of hype. In this case it is well deserved.
Congratulations M.R. Mathias.

If you like fantasy then you will absolutely love this book. I cannot wait for the sequel.
1 Comment 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

click to open popover