Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
135
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2009
Approached this film with some reservations - child actors and made in the 70s didn't bode well. But my son is an avid Swallows and Amazons enthusiast so there was nothing for it... To my great surprise it is beautifully made, retains the spirit of the book, and somehow the director coaxed a degree of naturalness out of the children that is nothing short of miraculous. Of course there are elements that seem a little slow these days, but overall it's a moving portrayal of childhood happiness and fun on a lake. And my son (aged 11) thinks it's fantastic.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2006
This film is one of the all time best 'book to film' transformations, being so faithfull to the source material. Clarity of both picture and audio cannot be faulted. This film is presented in 4:3 format, but was framed for a widescreen release so press zoom on your TV remote, you wont miss any action.Sadly, this DVD release is badly let down by the mistaken lack of end credits, and 'Swallows and Amazons Forever' logo as the film finishes.(to get a clean print a prefinished neg may have been used). This simple mistake is unforgivable as it is difficult to believe it will be correctly released for many years, and how difficult would it have been to include the BBC reunion of key cast members shown recently? To sum up, great childrens film, very poor effort at a DVD release.
44 comments| 85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2009
I purchased this for my three children as we have just finished reading the book and was quite prepared for the film to stop abruptly having read the other reviews. However all these problems appear to have been solved as I have a perfect copy "swallows and amazons forever" is on there, as are all the closing credits. This is a truly fantastic film for all the family - exactly as I remember it.
22 comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2009
While i definately agree with previous reviewers comments about the lack of effort put into this DVD release, i wouldn't let it put you off buying it. It is a wonderfully evocotive picture of childhood in more innocent times, before playstation and facebook,when children had to rely on their imaginations, it was probably never like that but it's nice to think it was! A joy for both adults and children.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2008
Considering how often book adaptations get everything wrong, I can hardly complain about this film version of one of my favorite books. What is captured so well is the innocence of the story. There is a strong appeal to the easy going nature of the adventures in these books, and the film captures that aspect perfectly. The child actors are very well cast and play their parts as well as probably is possible. It probably could have done with 15 more minutes to fully round out the story, but on the whole I have nothing to really complain about. As others noted, the DVD is very Spartan, but this didn't take away from my enjoyment of this wonderful film.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2008
Despite the acknowledged packaging flaws this is a charming telling of the orginal swallows adventure. More than a simple nostalgia fest for pre-war playtimes, the movie shows the power of Ransome's work which continues with the rest of the series of books. I am surprised that a smart BBC researcher has not spotted the potential for a quality series from these works - perhaps the thinking man's Seven.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2008
Got to agree with an earlier review. This is a wonderful children's film badly let down by this release. There are no extras on the DVD but what really rankles is the fact that someone has seen fit to omit the end credits. It simply beggars belief! It is not as if they don't exist. My old VHS copy had them and someone else, presumably similarly angered, has uploaded them onto Youtube. May something unfortunate happen to the idiot responsible for butchering this film!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2011
Swallows and Amazons isn't my favourite Arthur Ransome book by a long way; and I normally can't stand child actors. But this film is utterly delightful and - wonder of wonders - every single one of the children can truly ACT. The whole thing is very natural, and truly captures both the excitement and vulnerability of childhood. I wasn't expecting this to be my kind of film - but it's a real gem. I loved it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
I waited ages for this to be released as an anniversary edition simply because, like the anniversary edition of The Railway Children, Studio Canal actually bothered to put subtitles on them. Swallows And Amazons is a classic piece of children's literature and the film version is one of my childhood favourites. I never bore of watching it, even now.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2010
This is a fantastic movie. My daughter (6 yr old) loves the adventures that the children put together using their imagination. It is a fabulous childhood, the one we all use to have. Good clean fun for the whole family and the child actors are obviously having a great time as well.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse