Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2012
I purchased this book for a friend that has recently taken up surfing and was thinking of taking his first surf trip. The book is very inspirational with superb photography. It gives a great insight into what the world has to offer the surfer. There are some great additional chapters on everything from beers of the world to learning the lingo - remember all these spots are someone's local break! A good reason to welcome curious travels to our own shores.
A great book to inspire any surfer to explore and discover...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
I have to say, I was a little sceptical of another surf travel guide - there seem to be so many out there, and there's so much available online. However, I quickly found myself eating my words with this one, and reassessing just how much useful info you can pack into just over 200 pages. It covers all the usual global locations, but with enough breadth and insight to make a clearly informed choice. It also covers a whole bunch of 'not so well known' places that will suit all kinds of surfing style and ability, and gets you off the beaten track. Each section gives an overview on flights, best time to travel, where to stay, gear you'll need, key things to be aware of, nightlife and so on. What's particularly helpful is the longer introduction to each location, which gives a huge range of breaks depending on conditions or ability, together with subtle local knowledge regarding winds and tides that will make sure you end up in the right place at the right time. There's also a big intro section on planning your trip, and a follow-up section on further resources, language and making the most of your experience. Whilst a book like this can never replace the serious planning that will need to go in once you know where you're headed, it will definitely get you hungry to travel, and give you a way-over-the-odds advantage in picking the right corner of the globe. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
This book is packed with pictures that just make me wanna pack my boardbag and go off adventuring!!! Nice little synopsis of each area....a description of the most famous waves, when to go, swell size, water temp, night life etc......enough info to wet the appetite but not hand it to you on a plate. I like the pro top tips and pics of beers of the world, and thought that the fitness recomendations were sport specific and high level enough to be useful. Theres also a useful little surf lingo section at the back.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
This book not only offers a great insight into different spots across the world, but it also helps you right from the beginning of planning a trip, which is a great hand to people who are going on their first travels or people that aren't so clued up on what to take and how to go about planning a surf adventure. The book includes write ups on fitness, what to do when you're at the airport and a super helpful list of useful websites. If you're into photography, there's a great section on how to shoot your trip, with top tips on what angles to go from and what to shoot on. The book also has some awesome shots in it which makes it great to flick through even if your not reading the text. I'd say its a really cool guide for anyone interested in travelling or getting away from the cold, it sure makes me want to escape!

Oh, and the note section at the back is pretty handy for spare of the moment thoughts and random notes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
used this book all the time even if i was only fantasy travelling. It's got all the stats that you need; best tides, best beaches and other such useful things but it also has a personal touch about areas and specific adventures. This combined with a wealth of beautiful pictures makes an amazing book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
I found this guide so easy and enjoyable to read and use. I loved the surf shots and just want to wax up the board and take off to one of the more remote destinations.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
Surf guidebook with a difference. Not only points you in the right direction but gives you loads of advice about actually getting there e.g. buying a second-hand van for your road trip, surviving in the far North, making the most of limited time on your boat trip, etc. Euro locations like Portugal, France, Ireland and Spain appeal to intermediate surfers like me, but the more exotic locations certainly wet the appetite for future travels. Superb photos, info about travel gadgets, festival dates, useful lingo...its all good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
A lovely book that is very inspirational to any surfer, traveller or individual who is after an adventure.
A great read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
My Boyfriend loves this book - really makes him want to go on his travels now! So many places to surf, so little time...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
An essential bit of kit for the surf traveller. Detailed explanation of world famous breaks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)